Free S3-compatible storage, no card
Usable storage offers with a stated free allowance, in the storage topic or in egress, with an S3 interface whose identity requirement was read and does not include a card. A paid plan with no free allowance is not listed. Sorted by USD per TB-month where a price parsed.
Ranked byUSD per TB-month, cheapest first, then the evidence · 4 hosted ranked · 11 with no parsed number · 29 with the card or phone not stated · 4 self-hosted, listed last
Key
- ★ qualifies
- usable as stated; the read path was probed
- caveat
- usable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- trial
- a time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
- paid
- no free allowance; listed for its price
- fails: identity
- the identity required is not reachable without it
- fails: egress
- data cannot be read back out at a usable rate or price
- fails: quota
- the free allowance is too small to matter
- dead
- the offer or the service no longer exists
- self-hosted, last resort
- software or a node that the user installs, runs and maintains. Self-hosted options are listed last, because this site is for users who have no hardware.
- free tier, no free tier
- the record states a free allowance, or states that it has none
- identity email
- what a signup asks for. A question mark after it: a placeholder, not read from a source
- no card, card, card?
- a payment card is not asked, is asked, or the record does not say
- limit
- the limit that runs out first, for example request-rate or volume-quota
- evidence
- how the record is backed, strongest first: measured, documented, reported, inferred, unverified
- fresh until, stale since
- the check is inside its window, or past it, on today's date
- inherited, checked live
- inherited: the record was carried from an earlier source, and its check date is an upper bound. Checked live: the record was checked against the service. The chip filters on it
- verdict
- a judgement of the whole offer for the need of its topic. The data holds no number as a cut-off. Read the free allowance and the limits of the record, and decide for your own need
- duplicate, disagrees
- another record holds the same offer, or a sibling record states another value
- caveatSia Storage App (sia.storage)USD 2/TB-month
Free plan 50 GB, 3 apps, 500 Mbps.
free tieridentity emailno cardevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-21
- caveatBackblaze B2USD 6.95/TB-month
First 10GB storage is always free; storage above it is billed per byte-hour at USD 6.95/TB/30-days
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit volume-quotaevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-04
- caveatHugging Face Storage Buckets via S3 gateway (s3.hf.co) — as an annex/DVC backendUSD 12/TB-month
Free user or organisation: public storage 'Best-effort' with no published figure, private storage 100 GB; the storage plans and policies apply to every...
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit volume-quotaevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-21
- caveatTigrisUSD 18.63/TB-month
5 GB of Standard-tier storage, 10,000 Class A requests (PUT, COPY, POST, LIST) and 100,000 Class B requests (GET, SELECT and all other) a month on every...
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit volume-quotaevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-21
No parsed number 11
These match the filter, but no price or quantity parsed from their text yet. They are listed, not dropped.
- ★ qualifiesInternet Archive (IAS3 / petabox item upload)
1 TB hard limit per item page, with a recommendation of 1,000 files or 500 GB per item, and a single file should not exceed about 500 GB.
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit per-object-capevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-21
- ★ qualifiesHarvard Dataverse Repository - per-collection quota
1 TB per Dataverse Collection allocation (2.5 TB for Harvard affiliates).
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatZenodo (CERN)
Each record comes with a default quota of 50 GB and an unlimited number of records may be uploaded under 50 GB; a further 150 GB additional allowance is...
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit write-gatedevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-02
- caveatNebula Block — Standard object storage tier (storage free, egress billed)
No storage quota on the Standard tier — it is priced at $0/GB/month by design: 'Standard — Stored data: Free — Durable, high-capacity storage.
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit write-gatedevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-21
- caveatBaidu AI Studio 星河社区 (aistudio.baidu.com) — dataset + notebook storage
Two separate pools, which is the interesting part: (1) Notebook persistent workspace — verbatim 'Notebook每个用户提供 100G 的云端持久化存储空间作为个人工作区,访问路径为...
free tieridentity country-phoneno cardlimit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatDigital Research Alliance of Canada — 1 TB default object storage per project, up to 40 TB project / 100 TB nearline via Rapid Access Service
'All Arbutus projects are allocated a default 1TB of object storage.
free tieridentity institutionno cardlimit write-gatedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatMozilla Data Collective (MDC)
150 GB per uploaded file — raised from a lower value in the Python SDK on 2026-03-24 ('Increase upload file size limit to 150GB').
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatScience Data Bank (ScienceDB, Chinese Academy of Sciences / CNIC)
1 TB per dataset and 2,000 files per dataset, with no per-user or per-account cap; the 1 TB/2,000-file line is a soft gate (contact [address removed] for...
free tieridentity emailno cardlimit write-gatedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatSource Cooperative (source.coop / data.source.coop)
No published byte quota; the org states it 'hosts over 5 petabytes of data' across 330+ products from 130+ organisations and serves ~700 TB/month, and...
free tieridentity emailno cardevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatSource Cooperative - uncapped public publishing, beta-gated
No published byte cap: 'allowing trusted organizations and individuals to publish data of any kind at any scale'.
free tieridentity emailno cardevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatOpenDataLab (opendatalab.com / opendatalab.org.cn)
Not published. What is documented is capability rather than quota: the dataset center accepts file, folder, or archive uploads and auto-extracts archives...
free tieridentity emailno cardphonelimit per-object-capevidence inferredstale on 2026-11-21
Card or phone requirement not stated 29
The data does not state whether a payment card is needed, or the identity is a placeholder that no source states. These records are listed, not dropped, and none of them is counted as no.
- ★ qualifiesAWS Open Data Sponsorship Program
free tieridentity card?card?limit write-gatedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05disagrees
- ★ qualifiesModal (Storage)
free tieridentity card?card?limit retention-clampedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- ★ qualifiesModal Volumes
free tieridentity card?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- ★ qualifiesNCBI SRA — with anonymous read via AWS Open Data
free tieridentity anonymous?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- ★ qualifiesOpen Storage Network (OSN) via NSF ACCESS — 1 to 50 TB of S3 per allocation, 10 TB minimum
free tieridentity institution?card?limit write-gatedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- ★ qualifiesOpenNeuro
free tieridentity institution?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatHarvard Dataverse
free tieridentity institution?card?limit per-object-capevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-21
- caveatAWS Activate (Founders / Portfolio)
free tieridentity institution?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatAzure for Students (and Azure for Students Starter)
free tieridentity card?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05disagrees
- caveatCloudflare for Startups — nonprofit / civil-society track
free tieridentity institution?card?limit write-gatedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatDagsHub (DagsHub Storage + DVC remote)
free tieridentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatGitHub Gist
free tieridentity institution?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatGoogle for Startups Cloud Program (Start / Scale tiers)
free tieridentity institution?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatIAS3 old-version retention (x-archive-keep-old-version)
free tieridentity institution?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatICPSR Consortium Archive (curated deposit path)
free tieridentity institution?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatINCITE (ALCF + OLCF, US DOE)
free tieridentity institution?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatMEGA
free tieridentity email?card?limit retention-clampedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatMicrosoft Azure grant for nonprofits ($2,000/yr, renews)
free tieridentity card?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatNAISS Arrhenius Disk / SENS Storage (Sweden) — 25 PB and 10 PB project storage, applied in GiB
free tieridentity institution?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatNational Research Platform (NRP / Nautilus, US) — free Ceph S3 to any namespace holder, multi-site
free tieridentity institution?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatNSF ACCESS / Jetstream2 object store (OpenStack Swift, S3-compatible) — 1 TB default storage per allocation
free tieridentity institution?card?limit write-gatedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatopenICPSR (ICPSR, University of Michigan) — self-publishing repository
free tieridentity anonymous?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatOracle for Research (Project Award / Cloud Starter)
free tieridentity institution?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatProject Alexandria - Cloudflare's recurring OSS credit programme
free tieridentity card?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatPublic Datasets hosting programme (Google Cloud)
free tieridentity card?card?limit write-gatedevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatSURF Research Drive (Netherlands) — up to 5 TB free via NWO-funded Small Compute applications
free tieridentity institution?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatttl.sh (anonymous ephemeral OCI registry)
free tieridentity anonymous?card?limit per-ip-shapingevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatZeroFS
free tieridentity anonymous?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- caveatSynapse (Sage Bionetworks)
free tieridentity anonymous?card?limit per-ip-shapingevidence inferredstale on 2026-11-21
Self-hosted, the last resort 4
Software or a node that the user installs, runs and maintains. Self-hosted options are listed last, because this site is for users who have no hardware. They follow the same order: ranked, then with no parsed number, then, under their own heading, with the card or phone not stated.
- self-hosted, last resortDataLad + git-annex workflow (orchestration layer)
N/A — DataLad is a wrapper over git-annex; quota is the special remote's.
verdict qualifies-with-caveatfree tieridentity anonymousno cardevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
Card or phone requirement not stated 3
The data does not state whether a payment card is needed, or the identity is a placeholder that no source states. These records are listed, not dropped, and none of them is counted as no.
- self-hosted, last resortgit-annex S3 special remote (backend-agnostic)
verdict qualifiesfree tieridentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- self-hosted, last resortDVC remotes (S3 / WebDAV / SSH / HTTP / Drive) pointed at free backends
verdict qualifies-with-caveatfree tieridentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- self-hosted, last resortGitea / Forgejo self-hosted with any S3 LFS backend
verdict qualifies-with-caveatfree tieridentity email?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
The query
SELECT rid, usd_per_tb_month FROM record WHERE (topic='storage' OR (topic='egress' AND interfaces LIKE '%s3%')) AND grp='usable' AND (interfaces LIKE '%s3%') AND needs_card=0 AND identity_basis='stated' AND duplicate_of IS NULL AND rid IN (SELECT rid FROM claim WHERE kind='has-free-tier' AND num=1) ORDER BY self_hosted, usd_per_tb_month ASC NULLS LAST
Run it yourself: /api/v1/need/s3-storage-no-card, or the MCP tool need.