fshy

Home

INCITE

doeleadershipcomputing.org · 2 records in Compute, Storage · JSON

Records 2

doeleadershipcomputing.org/incite-faqs/Academicstorage/inciteJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
100 trillion bytes (~100 TB) of data storage awarded across the programme each year; per-project archival quota at OLCF is 200 TB (shared across Project/World/User Archive on Kronos).
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
institution?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported4 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier100 trillion bytes (~100 TB) of data storage awarded across the programme each year; per-project archival quota at OLCF is 200 TB (shared across Project/World/User Archive on Kronos).
unit TB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated reviewed annual renewal request source
Annual call only (mid-April to mid/late June), awards 1-3 years with a peer-reviewed annual renewal request. Post-project archival storage is explicitly at the facility's discretion ('The facilities reserve the right to limit the amount and duration of archival storage once a project has been completed'). Data must be research data.
Bindingnone 100 TB is awarded to projects by a review panel; there is no route from an unaffiliated individual to an allocation.
Identityinstitution (placeholder) inferred from the category 'academic'; the source record states no identity cost, so this is a class assumption, not evidence
EgressGlobus/GridFTP and SSH transfer free to allocation holders; no egress meter. Data is not a public HTTP origin.
Per-object capnot stated
RetentionTenured infrastructure; data survives, but the allocation expires and the archival quota can be clawed back after project end - treat as renewable-while-funded, not permanent.
Interfaces3, sftp, scp, ssh posix
ToolingSSH/scp/sftp, Globus, Lustre + HPSS/Kronos nearline mounts; no S3.
Composes withOne allocation = one project directory on a 100+ PB Lustre (Eagle/Orion) plus up to 200 TB nearline archive. Storage is not separately metered, so a storage-heavy proposal can request a large quota against a small compute request - but the proposal must still justify compute.
ReliabilityTenured infrastructure; data survives, but the allocation expires and the archival quota can be clawed back after project end - treat as renewable-while-funded, not permanent.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21doeleadershipcomputing.org/incite-faqs/'100 trillion bytes of data storage space'; '1-3 years (renewable)'; 'Multiyear awards must submit annual renewal requests'
2026-10-21doeleadershipcomputing.org/incite-faqs/Q10: 'Are foreign researchers and teams eligible to apply? Yes... U.S. collaborations are encouraged, but not required.' Q11: 'the solicitation is open to individual researchers'
2026-10-21doeleadershipcomputing.org/wp-content/uploads/sites/123/2025'open to US- and non-US-based researchers and research organizations'; 'Citizenship and specific funding sources are not qualifiers'
2026-10-21docs.olcf.ornl.gov/data/index.htmlProject Archive 200 TB, no purge flag
Unknown values 3
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read

INCITE

Compute

doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/National HPC allocationcompute/inciteJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Up to 60% of the allocatable time on Frontier (OLCF) and Aurora (ALCF) is allocated through INCITE for calendar year 2027; for each resource, allocations are anticipated to be between 500K and 2M node-hours on Aurora and Frontier, and individual awards may be higher.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedThe PI may be foreign and unaffiliated on paper, but the award is conditional on each participating institution signing the ANL/ORNL user agreement, and the applicant must already hold all funding and resources needed to execute the...
Evidence
documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierUp to 60% of the allocatable time on Frontier (OLCF) and Aurora (ALCF) is allocated through INCITE for calendar year 2027; for each resource, allocations are anticipated to be between 500K and 2M node-hours on Aurora and Frontier, and individual awards may be higher. Non-proprietary research projects are not charged for access.
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; merit-reviewed allocation
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) The PI may be foreign and unaffiliated on paper, but the award is conditional on each participating institution signing the ANL/ORNL user agreement, and the applicant must already hold all funding and resources needed to execute the campaign at application time. source
Identityinstitution not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe awarded resource is time plus 100 trillion bytes of storage across the programme; it does not include labour, travel or postdoc funding, so it composes only with a grant the applicant already holds.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesTwo review phases: an international peer-review panel on scientific merit, then a technical assessment of computational readiness by LCF staff. Requests under 20% of the average award are redirected to Director's Discretionary or ALCC. Early Career Track reserves 10% of allocatable time for PIs within 10 years of a PhD who have not previously been INCITE PI. Polaris is no longer available; Aurora and Frontier are the only INCITE resources for 2027.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 5
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/allocations anticipated between 500K and 2M node-hours on Aurora and Frontier, up to 60% of allocatable time, CY2027, quoted
2026-10-22doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/'US and non-US based Individuals and/or teams of researchers from academia, national laboratories, industry, and federal agencies are eligible to apply', quoted
2026-10-22doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/application window Wednesday April 8, 2026 through 8:00 pm EDT Monday June 15, 2026; awards announced November 2026, quoted
2026-10-22doeleadershipcomputing.org/call-for-proposals/'each participating institution on the awarded proposal must accept or already have signed the user agreement; otherwise, access by the institution's researcher(s) to the LCF system will be delayed', quoted
2026-10-22doeleadershipcomputing.org/incite-faqs/FAQ 8: 'researchers are expected to have all funding and any other elements necessary to ensure the success of their research project in place at the time of their application'; FAQ 26 repeats it as an eligibility condition
More fields 1
facets{"class": "national-hpc","free_tier_kind": "merit-reviewed allocation","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": "AMD MI300A (Frontier) / Intel Data Center GPU Max (Aurora)","gpu_count": null}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field