fshy

Home / Storage

Sia Storage

sia.storage · 2 records in Storage · JSON

Records 2

sia.storage/Contributed storage hosted indexer over third party hostsstorage/sia-storage-appJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Free plan 50 GB, 3 apps, 500 Mbps.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tierpaid plans from USD 2/TB-month
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
documented24 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-21checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-21
Free tierFree plan 50 GB, 3 apps, 500 Mbps. Plus USD 7.99/mo: 500 GB, 10 apps, 500 Mbps. Pro USD 14.99/mo: 5 TB, 25 apps, 1 Gbps. Unlimited USD 19.99/mo: 10 TB, 100 apps, 5 Gbps, plus USD 4.99/TB-month for each TB stored above 10 TB. Plan volumes are decimal GB and TB as the plan table states them, not binary.
unit GB; metered on unstated; the plan table read on 2026-11-01; the included volumes are decimal GB and TB, and the tier above 10 TB bills USD 4.99/TB-month
PriceUSD 2.00 per TB-month on the Unlimited plan (USD 19.99/mo for 10 TB); USD 4.99 per TB-month for each TB above 10 TB. 20 TiB of storage is 21.99 TB, which is 11.99 TB above the included 10 TB, so USD 79.82/mo.
Identityemail email: the Sia Storage Company login page asks for an Email address and links a Sign up page, and the free plan is documented as needing no Siacoin to buy and no server to run; what the signup form asks beyond the email is unverified
EgressEach plan states a transfer speed cap (500 Mbps on Free and Plus, 1 Gbps on Pro, 5 Gbps on Unlimited) and the pricing page lists no per-GB egress price and no egress allowance.
Per-object capThrough s3d the largest single object is built from multipart uploads of parts of up to 5 GiB and up to 10,000 parts per upload; the resulting ceiling is far above every plan volume the offer sells. No page states a cap for the SDK upload path.
RetentionTrashed files are deleted permanently 30 days after they are trashed, and the storage they used is freed the next time the app runs and syncs. No page states a deletion clock for live objects: they are stored until trashed, until the account is deleted, or until the account is signed out with local data cleared, which keeps the account and the uploaded files. (30 days)
Interfaces3-compatible, rclone, cli The S3 route is s3d, a gateway the user installs and runs on their own machine (macOS, Linux, Windows or Docker) and points at a Sia Storage account; the s3d page calls it 's3d is a self-hosted gateway that speaks the S3 API'. The Sia Storage app for iOS and Android is the other client, and SDKs exist for Rust, Go, Python and JavaScript.
Toolingrclone, Cyberduck, Nextcloud, Synology Hyper Backup, Arq, AWS CLI - all named on the s3d page
Composes withs3d on a $3 VPS + rclone = an S3 endpoint whose bytes live on 530 independent hosts; put Cloudflare in front and egress becomes CF's problem
ReliabilityData is erasure-coded across many independent storage providers and repaired when redundancy drops, so the offer depends on those providers staying online. Siascan reported 2.26 PB of storage utilisation against 7.51 PB of provider capacity across 522 active hosts.
NotesFree 50 GB; Plus USD 7.99/mo for 500 GB; Pro USD 14.99/mo for 5 TB; Unlimited USD 19.99/mo for 10 TB, then USD 4.99 per TB-month above 10 TB. 20 TiB of storage is 21.99 TB, which is 11.99 TB above the included 10 TB and costs USD 19.99 + USD 59.83 = USD 79.82/mo.
Evidence notedocumented the plan table and its speed caps, the S3 route through s3d and siascan's network figures are quoted from captured pages read on 2026-11-01, each page carrying its own evidence row
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • price-per-tb USD 2 TB / month
Evidence 24
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21sia.storage/pricing table: Free 50 GB / Plus $7.99 500 GB / Pro $14.99 5 TB / Unlimited $19.99 10 TB; '+$4.99/TB-mo over'; speed 500 Mbps / 500 Mbps / 1 Gbps / 5 Gbps
2026-10-21sia.storage/s3d's3d is a self-hosted gateway that speaks the S3 API'; lists rclone, Cyberduck, Nextcloud, Synology Hyper Backup, Arq, AWS CLI
2026-10-21docs.sia.tech/store-your-data/about-renting.md'Sia Storage ... gives you 50 GB free with nothing to install or maintain'; 'Network pricing averages around $3 per terabyte per month, including 3x redundancy'
2026-10-21siascan.com/storage utilization 2.19 PB of 7.12 PB; 530 active hosts
2026-11-01sia.storage/the four plans and their prices, storage volumes, app counts and speed caps
2026-11-01sia.storage/Unlimited includes 10 TB and bills USD 4.99 per TB-month above it
2026-11-01sia.storage/each plan states a transfer speed cap and no egress price
2026-11-01sia.storage/s3dthe S3 route is s3d, which the user installs and runs on their own machine
2026-11-01siascan.com/the network reported 2.26 PB of 7.51 PB and 522 active hosts
2026-11-01sia.storage/s3ds3d runs on macOS, Linux, Windows or Docker
2026-11-01sia.storage/the Sia Storage app is the iOS and Android client
2026-11-01docs.sia.tech/store-your-data/using-sia-storage.mdthe Sia Storage app and s3d are the clients of the hosted indexer
2026-11-02sia.storage/appthe app FAQ states the 30-day trash clock; it states no deletion clock for live objects
2026-11-02sia.storage/apptrashed objects survive 30 days
2026-11-02sia.storage/appthe retention statement is on the app FAQ, not on the pricing page the field named
2026-11-02sia.storage/appaccount deletion removes every stored object; the 30-day clock is the trash path
2026-11-02sia.storage/s3dthe S3 route caps a part at 5 GiB and an upload at 10,000 parts
2026-11-02sia.storage/s3dthe per-object statement is on the s3d page, not on the pricing page the field named
2026-11-02sia.storage/s3dthe stated cap is the multipart ceiling of the S3 gateway
2026-11-02sia.storage/auth/loginthe login gate is an email field with a sign-up link; no card, phone or identity document is asked for before the account
2026-11-02sia.storage/auth/loginthe email login page links a first-party sign-up page
2026-11-02sia.storage/appthe app FAQ restates the 50 GB free allowance
2026-11-02docs.sia.tech/store-your-data/about-renting.mdthe network documentation lists a separate bandwidth charge for transfer on the Sia network
2026-11-02sia.storage/appthe free allowance is 50 GB per account, restated on the app FAQ
More fields 1
price verbatimPrice - $7.99/mo $14.99/mo $19.99/mo

sia.storageP2Pstorage/sia-storageJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
50 GB free — 'The free plan includes 50 GB of storage, up to 3 connected apps, and transfer speeds up to 524 Mbps — with no Siacoin to buy and no server to run.'
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tier
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
per-ip-shaping524 Mbps
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier50 GB free — 'The free plan includes 50 GB of storage, up to 3 connected apps, and transfer speeds up to 524 Mbps — with no Siacoin to buy and no server to run.'
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • per-ip-shaping (binding) 524 Mbps source
per-object-cap: not stated on the pages read. request-rate / per-ip-shaping: 'transfer speeds up to 524 Mbps' is the explicit Free-plan throttle. retention: not stated; storage is contract-based, so retention is paid-for duration, not decaying.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressunmetered but rate-shaped by plan: 'transfer speeds up to 524 Mbps' on Free. No per-GB egress line item exists in Sia's model.
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfaces3-compatible, rclone s3
Toolings3d gateway (github.com/SiaFoundation/s3d) exposes an S3-compatible API; docs name Rclone and Cyberduck explicitly. Python/Go/Rust/JS SDKs also exist. rclone has a native 'sia' backend (rclone.org/sia/).
Composes with50 GB x unlimited accounts (signup is free, no Siacoin required). The plan gate is '3 connected apps' per account, and an app is a token — the same wrapper pattern as Google service accounts. 400 accounts = 20 TB, but each is a separate signup.
ReliabilityNew hosted product (app launched 2026); only paths offered on the free page are the iOS/Android app and the s3d gateway, so scripting depends entirely on s3d working.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.sia.tech/store-your-data/using-sia-storage.md'The free plan includes 50 GB of storage, up to 3 connected apps, and transfer speeds up to 524 Mbps'
2026-10-21docs.sia.tech/store-your-data/about-renting'Sia Storage ... gives you 50 GB free with nothing to install or maintain'
2026-10-21sia.storagepage metadata 'Start with 50GB free'; pricing table renders Free / 50 GB / Unlimited
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "50 GB free — 'The free plan includes 50 GB of storage, up to 3 connected apps, and transfer speeds up to 524 Mbps — with no Siacoin to buy and no server to run.'","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 4
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read