Home / Storage
proton
proton.me · 3 records in Storage · JSON
Records 3
- paidproton drive paidUSD 10/TB-month
Storageidentity email?card?limit volume-quotaevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-19
- fails: quotaProton Drive
Storagefree tieridentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- fails: quotaproton mail free
Storageidentity email?card?evidence documentedstale on 2026-12-04
proton.me/drive/pricingCloud drivestorage/proton-drive-paidJSONcomparereport an error
- Free allowance
- 5 GB of storage, photos and documents on Proton Free, no credit card required
- Verdict
- paidno free allowance; listed for its price
- Cost
- USD 10/TB-monthparsed from the record, in USD
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- volume-quota3 TB on the largest consumer plan (Proton Family); 2 TB on Proton Duo
- Evidence
- reported14 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-19checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-11-19
| Free tier | 5 GB of storage, photos and documents on Proton Free, no credit card required unit GB; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|
| Price | USD 10.00 per TB per month at Proton Family (3 TB, USD 29.99 per month); Proton Duo (2 TB + VPN) is USD 19.99 per month |
|---|
| Limits | - volume-quota (binding) 3 TB on the largest consumer plan (Proton Family); 2 TB on Proton Duo source
|
|---|
| Binding | volume-quota the largest consumer plan holds 3 TB; Drive Professional is 1 TB per user at USD 9.99 per month; a 10 TiB set needs several plans or seats |
|---|
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
|---|
| Egress | not recorded |
|---|
| Interface | unknown |
|---|
| Tooling | not recorded |
|---|
| Composes with | capacity is sold per plan: Drive Plus 200 GB, Proton Unlimited 500 GB + VPN, Proton Duo 2 TB + VPN; the page states capacity up to 3TB on a paid consumer plan, beyond which Proton for Business sets the size |
|---|
| Reliability | Priced tiers on the page: Drive Plus 200 GB at USD 4.99 per month, Proton Unlimited 500 GB + VPN at USD 12.99 per month, Proton Duo 2 TB + VPN at USD 19.99 per month, Proton Family 3 TB at USD 29.99 per month. |
|---|
| Notes | Free: 5 GB. Paid consumer tiers: 200 GB, 500 GB, 2 TB and 3 TB. |
|---|
| Evidence note | reported plan names, sizes and the 5 GB free tier re-read on https://proton.me/drive/pricing on 2026-11-04; the paid-only verdict rests on that page |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | - has-free-tier 0
- volume-quota 3 TB
- price-per-tb USD 10 TB / month
|
|---|
Evidence 14
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "Fails quota. No 2 TB+ consumer SKU published, no lifetime plan, no WebDAV/rclone/S3 path that would…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 6
- egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
- retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
- tooling: no value was recorded for this field
proton.me/driveCloud drivestorage/proton-driveJSONcomparereport an error
- Free allowance
- 5 GB free (starts at 2 GB, +3 GB welcome checklist within 30 days)
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- reported3 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | 5 GB free (starts at 2 GB, +3 GB welcome checklist within 30 days) unit GB; metered on unstated |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
|---|
| Egress | No published per-GB egress meter on free; end-to-end encrypted so no CDN in front is possible. |
|---|
| Per-object cap | not stated |
|---|
| Retention | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | rest, rclone rest |
|---|
| Tooling | rclone backend 'protondrive' (Tier 4, added v1.64.0, self-described 'currently in Beta'; implemented by reverse-engineering the open-source client because Proton publishes no API docs). |
|---|
| Composes with | 5 GB x unlimited free Proton accounts. Bonus storage programs are separate and mostly paid-tier. |
|---|
| Reliability | rclone backend is Beta and stated to have accounts it does not work with — treat as best-effort, not infrastructure. |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | |
|---|
Evidence 3
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "5 GB free (starts at 2 GB, +3 GB welcome checklist within 30 days)","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 4
- per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
proton.me/mail/pricingstorage/proton-mail-freeJSONcomparereport an error
- Free allowance
- 1 GB storage only ("Proton Free — 1 GB storage"), and the programmatic path is paywalled: "Proton Mail Bridge is currently available only with a paid Proton Mail plan." Zero-access…
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- not stated
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented3 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
| Free tier | 1 GB storage only ("Proton Free — 1 GB storage"), and the programmatic path is paywalled: "Proton Mail Bridge is currently available only with a paid Proton Mail plan." Zero-access… unit none; metered on none |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
|---|
| Egress | unverified: the pricing page lists no egress allowance or price; Proton Free caps storage at 1 GB |
|---|
| Interface | unknown |
|---|
| Tooling | not recorded |
|---|
| Evidence note | documented vendor pages captured 2026-11-03: https://proton.me/mail/pricing; every field that decides the verdict cites one of these captures |
|---|
Evidence 3
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|
| 2026-10-21 | proton.me/mail/pricing | the text of Free tier, above |
| 2026-10-21 | proton.me/support/imap-smtp-and-pop3-setup | cited as the basis of the rejection: 1 GB storage only ("Proton Free — 1 GB storage"), and the programmatic path is paywalled: "Proton Mail Bridge is currently available only with a paid Proton Mail plan." Zero-access encryptio |
| 2026-11-03 | proton.me/mail/pricing | Proton Free has up to 1 GB of storage; the pricing page lists no egress allowance or price |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "read-gated","why": "1 GB storage only (\"Proton Free — 1 GB storage\"), and the programmatic path is paywalled: \"Proton Mail Bridge is currently available only with a paid Proton Mail plan.\" Zero-access…","retry_when": "if the read path opens anonymously","first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 6
- chaining: no value was recorded for this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
- retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
- tooling: no value was recorded for this field