Home / Google
GCP research credits programme (Cloud for Higher Education)
support.google.com/google-cloud-higher-ed/answer/10724468?hlIaaSstorage/gcp-research-credits-programmeJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON
- Free allowance
- $5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students.
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institution?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- write-gatedreview
- Evidence
- reported3 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | $5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard). unit TB; metered on unstated |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - write-gated (binding) review source
Only available in the countries on Google's dropdown; must be a faculty member, postdoc, or PhD student at a listed institution; masters students ineligible. Faculty may apply only once, ever ('you are only eligible to apply one time'). 6-8 week review. One applicant per research proposal. |
|---|
| Identity | institution (inferred, not read) not published |
|---|
| Egress | Metered at standard GCS rates unless fronted by Cloudflare; credit covers it. |
|---|
| Per-object cap | not stated |
|---|
| Retention | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | s3, rclone s3 |
|---|
| Tooling | GCS JSON/XML API, gsutil, rclone 'gcs' backend. |
|---|
| Composes with | PhD students can re-apply annually - the only genuinely recurring line here. $1,000/yr is roughly 4 TB-months of Standard storage, so it funds a working set, not an archive. |
|---|
| Reliability | Credits expire; GCS bills continue after the credit is exhausted. No data loss, just a bill. |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | |
|---|
Evidence 3
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "$5,000 one-time for faculty/postdoc; $1,000 per year for PhD students. Credit-denominated, buys GCS at list price (~$20/TB-month Standard).","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 4
- per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read