Zed
zed.dev · 3 records in Coding subscriptions, Compute · JSON
Records 3
- paidZed (Pro)
Coding subscriptionsidentity cardlimit volume-quotaevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-03disagrees
- self-hosted, last resortZed (Personal)
Coding subscriptionsverdict qualifies-with-caveatfree tieridentity anonymousno cardevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-03disagrees
- self-hosted, last resortZed (Compute)
Computeverdict qualifies-with-caveatfree tieridentity anonymousno cardevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-05
Zed (Pro)
Coding subscriptionsSibling records disagree:
- identity_kind:
coding-subs/zed-personalsays anonymous, coding-subs/zed-pro says card - verdict:
coding-subs/zed-personalsays qualifies-with-caveat, coding-subs/zed-pro says paid-only
- Free allowance
- No recurring free allowance on the hosted models; Pro is USD 10 a month with USD 5 of token credit a month, and a 14-day trial of Pro with USD 5 of GPT-6 Luna usage needs no credit card
- Verdict
- paidno free allowance; listed for its price
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quotaUSD 5 of token credit a month, resetting on the billing date; usage beyond it is billed at provider list price plus 10 percent; a monthly spend limit on tokens above the included credit, default USD 10 (a total monthly spend of USD 20...
- Evidence
- documented26 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-03checked 2026-11-02 (live); stale on 2026-12-03
| Free tier | no recurring free allowance on the hosted models; Pro is USD 10 a month with USD 5 of token credit a month, and a 14-day trial of Pro with USD 5 of GPT-6 Luna usage needs no credit card unit none; metered on none; the trial ends when the USD 5 balance is used or 14 days pass, whichever is first, and then converts to the free Personal plan; GPT-6 Luna is the only hosted model in the trial |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
no request-rate or per-model cap is stated on the pages read; the vendor says hosted models have higher rate limits than direct API access, with no number. Threshold invoices start at USD 10 of incremental token spend |
| Binding | volume-quota the USD 5 monthly credit and the USD 10 default spend limit above it end hosted use first; the spend limit stops use rather than billing without bound |
| Identity | card a GitHub account for sign-in (GitHub OAuth with the read:user scope, and the Zed account email is the GitHub one); the Pro subscription is paid by credit card or another supported method through Stripe; the 14-day trial needs no credit card |
| Egress | not applicable |
| Per-object cap | not applicable: a subscription meters tokens, not objects |
| Interface | unknown the hosted models are selected in the desktop editor's Agent Panel after a GitHub sign-in, and external agents attach over the Agent Client Protocol (ACP); no documented API key or endpoint for calling the hosted models outside the editor was found on the pages read. The term for an editor or ACP interface is not in the interface vocabulary, so unknown is used |
| Tooling | the user installs and runs the Zed desktop editor (macOS, Linux, Windows) and signs in with GitHub to reach the hosted models; the documented zed CLI options open paths, diffs and ssh:// URLs and name no agent command. Headless routes, all run from the user's machine: Remote Development runs a Zed headless server on a host reached over SSH while the UI and the model calls stay local, and the eval-cli crate of the zed repository is a GUI-free agent binary built with cargo that reads provider API keys from environment variables. unverified: whether eval-cli or the remote server can use the Zed-hosted models, because the pages read name only environment keys for eval-cli and a local sign-in for the editor |
| Composes with | beyond USD 5 a month the hosted tokens bill at provider list price plus 10 percent, so Pro adds no discount to a stack; the same Zed account and plan also apply in Delta, the vendor's standalone agent app, and the free Personal plan on the user's own keys is the separate record zed-personal |
| Reliability | a failed invoice payment blocks hosted-model use until it is paid; Anthropic retains prompts and outputs sent to Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Fable 5 for at least 30 days |
| Notes | Pro is USD 10 a month for USD 5 of token credit, and the hosted list charges provider list price plus 10 percent for every token beyond it (for example Claude Fable 5.1 at USD 11.00 per million input tokens against USD 10.00 at the provider). The hosted list on 2026-11-02 spans Anthropic Claude Fable, Opus, Sonnet and Haiku, OpenAI GPT-6, GPT-5.x and Codex models, and Google Gemini 4 Argon, 3.1 Pro, 3.5 Flash and 3 Flash. Pro also includes unlimited edit predictions. |
| Evidence note | documented every value is quoted from first-party pages read on 2026-11-02. The checkout and the dashboard are unverified: behind a sign-up. Whether a headless route can use the hosted models is unverified. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 26
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/pricing | the Pro plan is USD 10 a month |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | Pro includes every Zed-hosted model and Edit Predictions |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | Edit Predictions are unlimited on Pro and absent on the free plan |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | Pro includes USD 5 of token credit a month and bills beyond it at the hosted-model rates |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/pricing | overage on Pro is API list price plus 10 percent |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | the USD 5 credit resets monthly on the billing date |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | the default monthly spend limit above the included credit is USD 10 |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | hosted use stops when the spend limit is reached |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/pricing | the Pro trial is 14 days, carries USD 5 of GPT-6 Luna usage and needs no credit card |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | an ended trial falls back to the free plan, not to a paid one |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/zed-hosted-models.html | Pro includes every model on the hosted list |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/zed-hosted-models.html | the hosted list carries Anthropic models, here Claude Fable 5.1 at USD 11.00 per million input tokens (provider price USD 10.00) |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/zed-hosted-models.html | the hosted list carries OpenAI models, the cheapest being GPT-5 nano at USD 0.055 per million input tokens |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/zed-hosted-models.html | the hosted list carries Google models, here Gemini 4 Argon |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/zed-hosted-models.html | the vendor states higher rate limits than direct API access, with no number |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/zed-hosted-models.html | two hosted Claude models are retained by Anthropic for at least 30 days |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/authentication | sign-in is GitHub OAuth with the read:user scope |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/authentication | the Zed account email comes from GitHub |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/authentication | LLM features that use Zed as the model provider require signing in |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/billing | a paid Zed plan is paid by credit card or another supported method through Stripe |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/billing | a failed payment blocks hosted-model use |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/billing | overage is invoiced mid-month once it reaches USD 10 |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/reference/cli | the documented zed CLI opens files and directories and is driven from scripts, with no agent-run command in its options |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/remote-development | in Remote Development the model calls stay on the local machine that runs the UI |
| 2026-11-02 | github.com/zed-industries/zed/blob/main/crates/eval_cli/READ | the headless eval-cli names provider environment keys and no Zed sign-in |
| 2026-11-02 | delta.dev/pricing | the Zed plan and account also apply in the vendor's Delta app |
Unknown values 3
- egress terms: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- interface: the access interface was not established
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
Zed (Personal)
Coding subscriptionsSibling records disagree:
- identity_kind:
coding-subs/zed-personalsays anonymous, coding-subs/zed-pro says card - verdict:
coding-subs/zed-personalsays qualifies-with-caveat, coding-subs/zed-pro says paid-only
- Free allowance
- Personal is USD 0 forever: 'Unlimited use with your API keys or external agents like Claude Agent, Codex CLI, and more'; the vendor serves no hosted model and no edit predictions on this plan
- Verdict
- self-hosted, last resortverdict qualifies-with-caveat: usable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path. Self-hosted options are listed last, because this site is for users who have no hardware.
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- anonymousno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented19 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-03checked 2026-11-02 (live); stale on 2026-12-03
| Free tier | Personal is USD 0 forever: 'Unlimited use with your API keys or external agents like Claude Agent, Codex CLI, and more'; the vendor serves no hosted model and no edit predictions on this plan unit unlimited; metered on none; the editor imposes no quota of its own; the tokens come from the user's own keys or from the external agent's own plan |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Binding | none nothing binds in the editor itself; the endpoint's quota decides capacity |
| Identity | anonymous no account for the editor or for AI on the user's own API keys: the docs say signing in is not required. Sign-in, needed only for Zed-hosted models and collaboration, is GitHub OAuth with the read:user scope, and the account email is the GitHub one |
| Egress | not applicable: the chosen endpoint serves the inference |
| Per-object cap | not applicable: a coding editor meters nothing itself |
| Interface | cli a desktop editor with an Agent Panel; a keys-and-environment headless path exists as the eval-cli binary of the zed repository, run with --workdir, --model, --instruction, --timeout and --output-dir, which writes result.json, thread.md and thread.json to the output directory. External agents attach over the Agent Client Protocol (ACP), which the interface vocabulary has no term for |
| Tooling | the user installs and runs the Zed editor, or builds and runs the eval-cli binary from the zed repository with cargo, on a rented or free machine; provider keys come from environment variables such as ANTHROPIC_API_KEY, OPENAI_API_KEY and OPENROUTER_API_KEY, and the External Agents installed from the ACP Registry (Claude, Codex, OpenCode, Copilot, Cursor, Pi Coding Agent) own their own auth and billing. Remote Development runs a Zed headless server over SSH, but the UI and the model calls stay on the local machine |
| Composes with | the editor is a front end for keys from inference/ and for agents that carry their own plans, such as Claude Agent and Codex, so it adds no quota of its own to a stack; the hosted Zed models are the separate paid record zed-pro |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded; on this plan the editor does not serve hosted models or edit predictions, and edit predictions from other providers such as GitHub Copilot or a local model still work |
| Notes | Not a subscription that serves tokens: Personal is the free editor on the user's own keys or external agents, and the vendor's hosted models are the separate paid record zed-pro at USD 10 a month. |
| Evidence note | documented plan, sign-in, key and external-agent behaviour are quoted from first-party pages read on 2026-11-02. The eval-cli README is a repository file; the binary itself was not built or run. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 19
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/pricing | the Personal plan allows unlimited use with the user's own keys or external agents |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/pricing | the Personal plan is USD 0 with no end date |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | hosted models and Zed's edit predictions are not on the free plan |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | the free plan takes the user's own API keys for AI agents |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | AI via own API keys is on every plan, the free one included |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/account/plans-and-pricing | External Agents are on every plan, the free one included |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/authentication | the editor runs without an account |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/authentication | AI on the user's own keys needs no sign-in |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/authentication | the sign-in that hosted models and collaboration need is GitHub OAuth with the read:user scope |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/ai/external-agents | Zed charges nothing for External Agents, which carry their own auth and billing |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/ai/external-agents | part of the text of Interface, above |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/ai/use-api-access | Zed reads provider keys from environment variables, OpenRouter among them |
| 2026-11-02 | github.com/zed-industries/zed/blob/main/crates/eval_cli/READ | a headless Zed agent binary exists in the zed repository |
| 2026-11-02 | github.com/zed-industries/zed/blob/main/crates/eval_cli/READ | eval-cli runs the editor's agent loop without a GUI |
| 2026-11-02 | github.com/zed-industries/zed/blob/main/crates/eval_cli/READ | eval-cli takes the user's own provider keys from the environment |
| 2026-11-02 | github.com/zed-industries/zed/blob/main/crates/eval_cli/READ | eval-cli writes result.json, thread.md and thread.json to its output directory |
| 2026-11-02 | github.com/zed-industries/zed/blob/main/crates/eval_cli/READ | eval-cli takes the task as an --instruction argument, beside --workdir, --model, --timeout and --output-dir |
| 2026-11-02 | github.com/zed-industries/zed/blob/main/crates/eval_cli/READ | eval-cli is built from source with cargo |
| 2026-11-02 | zed.dev/docs/remote-development | in Remote Development the model calls stay on the local machine that runs the UI |
Unknown values 1
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
Zed (Compute)
Compute- Free allowance
- Zed Personal: "$0 forever", "Unlimited use with your API keys or external agents like Claude Agent, Codex CLI, and more", quoted
- Verdict
- self-hosted, last resortverdict qualifies-with-caveat: usable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path. Self-hosted options are listed last, because this site is for users who have no hardware.
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- anonymousno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented8 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | Zed Personal: "$0 forever", "Unlimited use with your API keys or external agents like Claude Agent, Codex CLI, and more", quoted unit unlimited; metered on wall-clock; free-product |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Binding | none nothing binds because the vendor serves no model on this tier; the ceiling is the endpoint a user points it at. |
| Identity | anonymous no account for the editor or for AI on the user's own API keys: the docs say signing in is not required and that AI without signing in uses the user's own keys. Sign-in, needed for Zed-hosted models and collaboration, is GitHub OAuth with the read:user scope, and the account email is the GitHub one |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | rest, cli inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | the editor is free and the tokens come from whichever vendor is granting them. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Zed is a desktop application, so its free lane needs a machine. The vendor serves no tokens on the free Personal plan. Pro is USD 10 a month with USD 5 of token credits a month and usage beyond them at API list price +10%; a 14-day Pro trial carries USD 5 of GPT-6 Luna usage with no credit card. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 8
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | zed.dev/pricing | the Personal card reads $0 forever with unlimited use on your own API keys or external agents, quoted; Pro is USD 10 a month and is the first tier with Zed-hosted models |
| 2026-10-22 | zed.dev/pricing | the FAQ says the Personal plan is for users who want the editor without AI capabilities or who prefer their own keys, quoted |
| 2026-10-30 | zed.dev/docs/authentication | the editor and its AI features on the user's own keys run without an account; Zed sign-in is GitHub OAuth |
| 2026-10-30 | zed.dev/pricing | the Pro trial is 14 days with USD 5 of GPT-6 Luna usage and no card; Pro is USD 10 a month with USD 5 of token credits |
| 2026-10-30 | zed.dev/pricing | the Personal plan is still $0 forever with unlimited use on the user's own keys or external agents |
| 2026-11-03 | zed.dev/pricing | the Personal plan still lists unlimited use with the user's own API keys or external agents |
| 2026-11-03 | zed.dev/pricing | Pro overage beyond the included monthly credits is billed at API list price +10% |
| 2026-11-04 | zed.dev/pricing | the Zed Personal plan is still free forever |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "free-standing-agent","free_tier_kind": "free-product","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 6
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field