xAI Grok
x.ai · 2 records in Compute, Storage · JSON
Records 2
- caveatxAI Files API (Grok) + public CDN URLs
Storagefree tieridentity emailno cardlimit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- paidxAI Grok API
Computeidentity card?card?limit volume-quotaevidence inferredstale on 2026-11-22
- Free allowance
- No published total-storage quota.
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- emailno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- per-object-cap100 MB/file
- Evidence
- reported7 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | No published total-storage quota. Per-file 512 MB (some pages say 50 MB for the upload reference and 50 MiB for public URLs). Files are PERMANENT by default — expires_after is opt-in.unit mixed; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
per-object-cap 512 MB (50 MB if you want a public URL — public URLs are limited to images/video mime types). 'A file can have at most one active public URL at a time.' Public-URL creation can fail if the team hits its active-URL quota. |
| Identity | email email |
| Egress | Every file can mint a public URL on files-cdn.x.ai, Cloudflare-fronted, no API key needed to fetch, no egress charge documented. URL is permanent if the file has no expiry and no expires_after is passed. |
| Per-object cap | Per-file 512 MB (512000000 bytes) |
| Retention | Per-file 512 MB (some pages say 50 MB for the upload reference and 50 MiB for public URLs). Files are PERMANENT by default — expires_after is opt-in |
| Interface | rest OpenAI-compatible REST at https://api.x.ai/v1/files — POST upload, GET list, GET {id}, GET {id}/content (streams raw bytes, Content-Type application/octet-stream), DELETE, plus POST {id}/public-url and /public-url/revoke |
| Tooling | openai-python with base_url swapped to https://api.x.ai/v1; xai_sdk; curl |
| Composes with | One active public URL per file at a time, but it is idempotent — re-calling returns the existing URL. |
| Reliability | The absence of a published total quota is the finding, not an oversight — a third-party comparison site says outright 'no storage limit is stated. xAI says only that limits may vary slightly by platform or subscription'. Treat unverified. Files persist 'until you delete them'. Collections is a separate product with a 100 MB/file cap and requires credits in the account. Public URLs only cover image/png, image/jpeg, image/gif, image/webp, video/mp4, video/webm — so the CDN path is media-only; arbitrary blobs must go through the authenticated content endpoint. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 7
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | docs.x.ai/developers/files/managing-files | 'Files default to permanent storage until you delete them'; expires_after range 3600–2592000; 'Stream the raw bytes'; 'The endpoint streams the response, so it works for files of any supported size' |
| 2026-10-21 | docs.x.ai/developers/files/public-urls | 'Every file you upload through the Files API lives in private storage by default … Public URLs turn a stored file into a permanent, shareable link on the SpaceXSI CDN that anyone can open — no API key required'; 'File has no expiration, expires_after omitted — URL never expires'; limitations: max 50 MiB, restricted content types |
| 2026-10-21 | docs.x.ai/developers/files | 'File size: Maximum 512 MB per file' |
| 2026-10-21 | docs.x.ai/developers/rest-api-reference/files/download | 'GET /v1/files/{file_id}/content … Content-Type application/octet-stream' |
| 2026-10-21 | docs.x.ai/developers/files/collections | 'Maximum file size: 100MB'; 'you must have credits in your account' |
| 2026-10-21 | felloai.com/ai-file-upload-limits/ | 'no storage limit is stated' for xAI |
| 2026-10-21 | api.x.ai/v1/files | PROBE: curl -D - -> 401, Content-Length 35, body {"code":"unauthenticated:no-credentials"}; /v1/files/abc/content -> 401/35; /v1/collections -> 401/77; https://files-cdn.x.ai/test/file_abc.png -> 404 from Cloudflare (host live, CF-fronted) |
More fields 1
| unit note | free_tier.unit is 'mixed' because the headline is denominated in MiB or KiB, which the schema enum does not carry; the verbatim free_tier.stated keeps the true unit. |
|---|
Unknown values 2
- per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
xAI Grok API
Compute- Free allowance
- No free API credit is documented today.
- Verdict
- paidno free allowance; listed for its price
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- card?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- volume-quotathere is no allowance to exhaust: a prepaid balance or a card is required before the first call, and the rate table is the only limit.
- Evidence
- inferred5 sources; reasoned from other evidence
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | no free API credit is documented today. The rate card reads 'grok-4.7 $2.00' in and '$6.00' out per million tokens, and the only free thing the site offers is the Playground: 'Try Grok free in the Playground'. The USD 150 a month data-sharing credit that every credit list carries is not on the current documentation index. unit none; metered on wall-clock; none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | card (inferred, not read) no free credit is documented, so a funded balance is needed before the first call, and the record does not say which rail funds it: the landing page's three steps are sign up, create a key, call, with no credit mentioned, and the card cost is inferred from the paid-only verdict rather than read as a signup requirement. No hold, debit or prepaid answer appears, and whether signup asks for an email or a phone is not stated. The old data-sharing credit required the team to have "already spent a minimum of $5 on the API" before opting in, if that programme still exists |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | rest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | if the data-sharing credit returns, it is the largest recurring inference allowance: USD 150 a month / USD 2.00 per million input tokens = 75 million grok-4.7 input tokens a month, or 25 million output tokens at USD 6.00. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | This is the most-repeated number and the evidence is in conflict, so the rung is inferred from three observations: the live docs index has no free-credit page, the API landing page offers only the Playground, and a 2026 write-up states the programme is gone. Against that, a documentation mirror still carries the full text of the programme. If it is live, the gate is worse than it looks: the team must spend USD 5 before opting in, opting in cannot be reversed, and teams in the United Kingdom and most of the European Union are excluded by country. It says nothing about inference credit, and this record does not touch storage. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 5
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | docs.x.ai/docs/models | the text rate table: 'grok-4.7 (< 200k prompt tokens) | 500k | $2.00 | $0.50 | $6.00' in, cached, out per 1M tokens, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | docs.x.ai/llms.txt | the documentation index carries no free-credits page: the only billing entries are 'Management API - Billing Management' and 'Extra usage credits and top-ups', observed by reading the index |
| 2026-10-22 | x.ai/api | 'grok-4.7 from $2/M tokens, plus image, video, and voice APIs. Try Grok free in the Playground'; the page's three steps are sign up, create a key, call, with no credit mentioned, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | grok-api.apidog.io/free-credits-934025m0 | a mirror of the old docs page: 'Get $150 in free API credits each month ... for teams that opt in to data sharing', and 'your team must have already spent a minimum of $5 on the API before choosing to opt in', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | walterpinem.com/grok-xai-api/ | 'The Grok xAI API does not give new accounts free credits ... Claims of $150 a month in credits for sharing request data describe a program that no current xAI billing page documents', reported |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "withdrawn-credit","free_tier_kind": "none","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 6
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field