fshy

Home / Storage

Steam

steamgames.com · 3 records in Storage · JSON

Records 3

partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/cloudCloud drivestorage/steam-cloudJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Quota is set by each game's developer as 'Byte quota per user' and 'Number of files allowed per user', 'enforced on each Cloud-enabled game, on a per-user-per-game basis'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
per-object-cap100 MB per File
Evidence
reported4 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierQuota is set by each game's developer as 'Byte quota per user' and 'Number of files allowed per user', 'enforced on each Cloud-enabled game, on a per-user-per-game basis'. No Valve-imposed total. Community-observed ceilings: 93 GB per game, ~10,000 files. Defaults are frequently tiny (a few MB to 1 GB).
unit objects; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • per-object-cap (binding) 100 MB per File source
per-object-cap: 100 MB per FileWrite call (256 MB 'may result in a non-optimal storage endpoint'); per-object-cap: ~10,000 files per cloud save; the game must be launchable/owned for the user, and impersonating it blocks normal play during sync. Retention: indefinite — no expiry documented, but a developer can change quota or delist and the data can be evicted.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
EgressUnmetered and anonymous on the download path via the Steam client / Steamworks SDK. No published per-GB charge.
Per-object cap100 MB per File (100000000 bytes)
Retentionper-object-cap: 100 MB per FileWrite call (256 MB 'may result in a non-optimal storage endpoint'); per-object-cap: ~10,000 files per cloud save; the game must be launchable/owned for the user, and impersonating it blocks normal play during sync. Retention: indefinite — no expiry documented, but a developer can change quota or delist and the data can be evicted.
Interfacerest rest
ToolingSteamworks SDK ISteamRemoteStorage (FileWrite, FileWriteStreamWriteChunk, FileReadAsync). Working wrapper exists: github.com/Fldicoahkiin/SteamCloudFileManager — 237 stars, Rust, Windows/macOS/Linux, '支持任意文件的上传、下载与删除' (arbitrary file upload/download/delete against any owned game's cloud). Design writeup: krutonium.ca/posts/using-steam-as-cloud-storage/.
Composes withOne Steam account x every owned Cloud-enabled game with a large quota. At 93 GB/game, 12 games = ~1.1 TB; 100 games = ~9 TB. Multiply again by accounts. The lever is picking titles whose developers set 93 GB, not buying storage.
ReliabilityEntirely undocumented by Valve; a developer lowering their quota can strand data, and files are re-downloaded into the local save folder on game launch. No public bans recorded.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • per-object-cap 100 MB
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/cloud'you must set the Byte quota per user and Number of files allowed per user options ... This quota is enforced on each Cloud-enabled game, on a per-user-per-game basis'; file-size table '100MB Maximum size for a call to ISteamRemoteStorage::FileWrite'
2026-10-21krutonium.ca/posts/using-steam-as-cloud-storage/(published 2026-05-09) — '93GB Cloud Save Storage per Game, Maximum'; '100MB per File is an Ideal Limit, but above 250MB the back end for the API will start to hate you'; 'Possible Limit of 10,000 Files per Cloud Save'
2026-10-21api.steampowered.com/ISteamRemoteStorage/GetPublishedFileDetprobe: GET (POST, no key) -> 200, returns file_size 4997533 for item 450814997 — Steam's public storage APIs answer anonymously
2026-10-21forums.factorio.com/viewtopic.php?t=130969(Sep 2025) — 'poly bridge 3 has 93GB available', user reports 23GB used in Factorio
Unknown values 2
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read

partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/workshopMediastorage/steam-workshopJSONcomparereport an error

Sibling records disagree:

Free allowance
Per-item size is set by the game developer, not by Valve, and some games are explicitly unlimited — Arma 3: 'Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.' Others are tiny: House Flipper raised its cap from 12 MB to 20 MB in a patch.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
anonymous?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
write-gatedreview images go through a separate Steam Cloud quota
Evidence
reported4 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierPer-item size is set by the game developer, not by Valve, and some games are explicitly unlimited — Arma 3: 'Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.' Others are tiny: House Flipper raised its cap from 12 MB to 20 MB in a patch. So the quota is per-app, and the number of published items per account is not documented as capped.
unit unlimited; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) review images go through a separate Steam Cloud quota source
Requires ownership of the game and a Steam client to upload — there is no headless upload path, which is the practical blocker. Per-item caps range from 20 MB to unlimited depending on app; preview images go through a separate Steam Cloud quota.
Identityanonymous (inferred, not read) not published
EgressFree and CDN-served by Valve's content network — same infrastructure as game downloads, genuinely unmetered.
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfacerest rest
ToolingISteamUGC (CreateItem + SetItemContent + SubmitItemUpdate) via the Steamworks SDK, so uploads need a Steam client with the game installed. Downloads are scriptable anonymously: steamcmd +login anonymous +workshop_download_item <appid> <publishedfileid>. Third-party downloaders (polocaz/ws-downloader, workshopfetch.com) exist for the read path.
Composes withOne Steam account x every Workshop-enabled game it owns x unlimited items per game. This is the multiplier: 'unlimited items per published file ID' inside an app whose developer set no cap.
ReliabilityVery durable — Workshop items have survived a decade, links do not expire, and downloads are anonymous. Enforcement risk is real but technical: items can be delisted by the app's developer.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21arma3.com/workshop101'What is the maximum size of a mod? Arma 3 Workshop now support items of unlimited size.'
2026-10-21steamcommunity.com/app/3710840/announcements/'Increased the maximum Steam Workshop item size limit from 12 MB to 20 MB. Increased the default Workshop item size from 10 MB to 12 MB.'
2026-10-21steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/1/1744480966997034452/'The maximum size varies depending on what the developers set it as.'
2026-10-21partner.steamgames.com/doc/features/workshop'Steam Workshop is a system of back-end storage and front-end web pages that make it easy to store, organize, sort, rate, and download content'
Unknown values 4
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read

partner.steamgames.com/steamdirectstorage/steam-workshop-2JSONcomparereport an error

Sibling records disagree:

Free allowance
Hard ceiling far below a user's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP.…
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
not stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierHard ceiling far below a user's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP.…
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot recorded
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21partner.steamgames.com/steamdirectHard ceiling far below a user's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract
2026-10-21steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/10/4202490864588145731/cited as the basis of the rejection: Hard ceiling far below a user's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract
2026-10-21steamcommunity.com/app/4000/discussions/5/173434306561546770cited as the basis of the rejection: Hard ceiling far below a user's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP. Pract
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "Hard ceiling far below a user's unit size, plus a paid gate: uploads need a Steamworks partner app ($100 Steam Direct fee per product) and the ISteamUGC API is a C++ SDK, not HTTP.…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 7
  • chaining: no value was recorded for this field
  • egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
  • per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • tooling: no value was recorded for this field