fshy

Home

Speechmatics

speechmatics.com · 2 records in Compute, Inference · JSON

Records 2

www.speechmatics.com/pricingInference APIcompute/speechmaticsJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
'Start with $100 in free credits, no card required', with the page data carrying 'signupCredits: 100' and a footnote 'No card required'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
request-ratethe credit is large and the discount ladder is the trap: the advertised USD 0.121 an hour requires opting into model training and a top-tier annual commitment, so a free account pays the USD 0.24 base rate and gets 416 hours rather than...
Evidence
documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-23checked 2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-23
Free tier'Start with $100 in free credits, no card required', with the page data carrying 'signupCredits: 100' and a footnote 'No card required'. The headline 'from $0.121/hr' is two discounts stacked: the tooltip says 'Melia 1 Pre-recorded base rate: $0.24, model training: -33%, top-tier annual commitment: -25%'. At the base Melia-1 pre-recorded rate of USD 0.24 an hour, 100 / 0.24 = 416 hours of batch transcription; at the Melia-1 real-time base of USD 0.40 an hour, 250 hours.
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate (binding) the credit is large and the discount ladder is the trap: the advertised USD 0.121 an hour requires opting into model training and a top-tier annual commitment, so a free account pays the USD 0.24 base rate and gets 416 hours rather than 826. source
Identityemail an account on an email alone, and the pricing page states 'Start with $100 in free credits, no card required' with the page data carrying 'signupCredits: 100' and a 'No card required' footnote. No card is taken, so no hold exists and no debit or prepaid question arises.
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes witha free CI runner plus USD 100 of batch transcription covers 416 hours of audio at the base rate, which is a podcast or lecture archive transcribed once. What breaks: the discount is paid for with training data or an annual commitment, and the enhanced-accuracy model at USD 0.75 an hour cuts the same credit to 133 hours.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThese are inference credits, not general compute. The gap between the headline USD 0.121 and the base USD 0.24 is the finding: a free account has no commitment to discount, so the honest number is 416 hours. Not established: expiry of the USD 100; the pricing page does not state one. Training opt-in is a technical setting on the account, recorded here as a rate condition and not as advice.
Evidence notedocumented the pricing page was read on 2026-10-23 and states the USD 100, the no-card rule and the stacked discounts behind the headline rate
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • request-rate 416 hours
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23www.speechmatics.com/pricingquoted: 'Start with $100 in free credits, no card required', with the page data carrying 'signupCredits: 100' and the footnote 'No card required'
2026-10-23www.speechmatics.com/pricingquoted rate: 'Speech to Text from $0.121/hr', with the tooltip stating 'Melia 1 Pre-recorded base rate: $0.24, model training: -33%, top-tier annual commitment: -25%'
More fields 1
facets{"class": "credit-large-enough-for-real-workload","free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": 0}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

www.speechmatics.com/pricingSpeech to text and text to speech API, one time signup creditinference/speechmaticsJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
USD 100 credit grant at signup on the Free plan, no card required; one credit is worth one US dollar, and one balance covers Speech to Text, add-ons and Text to Speech.
Verdict
triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailcard required, phone unknown
Binding limit
volume-quotaUSD 100 credit grant at signup, one-time; Melia 1 pre-recorded base rate USD 0.24 per hour
Evidence
documented12 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
Free tierUSD 100 credit grant at signup on the Free plan, no card required; one credit is worth one US dollar, and one balance covers Speech to Text, add-ons and Text to Speech. One-time, not a monthly allowance. Melia 1 pre-recorded base rate is USD 0.24 per hour.
unit credits; metered on unstated; models on the pricing page: Melia 1 (multilingual, 56 languages), Enhanced, Standard, Oak 1 (clinical language) and Linden 1 (voice agents), in batch (REST) and real-time (WebSocket) modes. unverified: whether the grant expires, because no vendor page read states a validity period; unverified: the rate for Text to Speech, which the pricing page names without a number
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) USD 100 credit grant at signup, one-time; Melia 1 pre-recorded base rate USD 0.24 per hour source
  • request-rate Free plan real-time sessions are capped at 2 concurrent (Pro 50); the batch API asks for no more than 10 new jobs per second and 50 job-status requests per second, with a backstop of 20,000 concurrent jobs source
Bindingvolume-quota the one-time USD 100 credit is the ceiling for batch work; the 2 concurrent real-time sessions cap is a second wall for live audio
Identityemail no payment card on the Free plan ('no payment card required'); signup is an email with a password or a Google or GitHub account, and an email signup must verify the address by a link; unverified: whether a phone number is asked
Egressnot published
Interfacerest Batch REST API and real-time WebSocket API; an API key is created in the web portal; Python and JavaScript batch libraries
ToolingPython and JavaScript libraries, or raw HTTP and WebSocket with an API key created in the portal
Composes withthe credit pays for batch transcription of recorded audio, which a free CI runner can post file by file; pair it with a free object store for the audio. The discounted headline rate on the pricing page needs a Pro plan with model training and a top-tier annual commitment, so a Free account pays the base rate.
Reliabilitythe Free plan runs on the granted credit only; adding a payment card moves the account to Pro, where usage beyond the granted credits is charged to the card
Evidence notedocumented the credit, the card-free Free plan, the signup methods and the real-time and batch limits are quoted from vendor pages; the credit's expiry and the text-to-speech rate are unverified.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • volume-quota 100 credit
Evidence 12
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-11-03www.speechmatics.com/pricingUSD 100 free credit with no card
2026-11-03www.speechmatics.com/pricingthe Melia 1 pre-recorded base rate is USD 0.24 per hour
2026-11-03www.speechmatics.com/pricingone credit balance covers speech-to-text, add-ons and text-to-speech
2026-11-03www.speechmatics.com/pricingMelia 1 is a 56-language multilingual model
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/administration/plans.mdthe Free plan is a USD 100 credit grant with no payment card
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/administration/plans.mdone credit is one US dollar and new sign-ups receive USD 100
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/administration/accounts.mdsignup is by email and password or Google or GitHub
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/administration/accounts.mdan email signup verifies the address by a link
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/speech-to-text/realtime/limits.mdthe Free plan allows 2 concurrent real-time sessions
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/speech-to-text/batch/limits.mdthe batch API rate guidance is 10 new jobs per second
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/speech-to-text/batch/limits.mdthe batch API has a backstop of 20,000 concurrent jobs
2026-11-03docs.speechmatics.com/speech-to-text/batch/quickstart.mdan API key is created in the portal
Unknown values 3
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer