fshy

Home / Storage

maven central

sonatype.org · 2 records in Storage · JSON

Records 2

central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limitsstorage/maven-central-as-bulk-storageJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Still no total-storage cap, but 2026 monthly per-organization publishing thresholds (~78 MB release size at p90, ~1.8 GB at p99) plus a commercial-nature gate from 2026-10-01 make sustained
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
not stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported1 source; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierStill no total-storage cap, but 2026 monthly per-organization publishing thresholds (~78 MB release size at p90, ~1.8 GB at p99) plus a commercial-nature gate from 2026-10-01 make sustained
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot recorded
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Evidence 1
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limitsthe text of Free tier, above
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "Still no total-storage cap, but 2026 monthly per-organization publishing thresholds (~78 MB release size at p90, ~1.8 GB at p99) plus a commercial-nature gate from 2026-10-01 make sustained","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 7
  • chaining: no value was recorded for this field
  • egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
  • per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • tooling: no value was recorded for this field

central.sonatype.orgRegistrystorage/maven-central-post-2026-publishing-limitsJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Maven Central introduced hard monthly publishing limits per organization in 2026.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tier
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported4 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierMaven Central introduced hard monthly publishing limits per organization in 2026. Three independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evaluated as hard thresholds against the current calendar month, with a 30-day grace period on first breach (resets after 2 consecutive below-limit months). Thresholds are set near the top-10% of publishers; the published distribution table gives 90th percentile = 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month, 99th = 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50. Separately, from 2026-10-01, any artifact with a 'commercial nature' requires a paid Publisher Pro subscription regardless of volume.
unit objects; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
EgressFree and effectively unmetered for consumers - repo1.maven.org is a heavyweight CDN. Publishing is what is metered, not download.
Per-object capnot stated
RetentionThree independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evaluated as hard thresholds against the current calendar month, with a 30-day grace period on first breach (resets after 2 consecutive below-limit months) (30 days)
Interfacerest, rclone rest
Toolingmvn deploy / central-publishing-maven-plugin, gradle publishing, curl to the Central Portal API, and plain HTTPS Maven-layout GETs from repo1.maven.org. No rclone backend.
Composes withunlimited namespaces/group-ids x unlimited organizations x (monthly release-size threshold, ~78 MB at p90, ~1.8 GB at p99). Multiplying by many free organizations multiplies the account surface, not the rate, and every org has the same monthly reset.
ReliabilityThe 2026 change is the important signal for the whole niche: the largest free package registry concluded that '10% of namespaces accounted for more than 88% of all files published' and moved to hard monthly thresholds plus a commercial-use gate. Any plan that treats a public registry as a bulk blob store is now rate-limited at ~GB/month/org, not capped at a total. The exact thresholds table and the commercial-nature gate are new.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21central.sonatype.org/publish/maven-central-publishing-limits'These limits are evaluated as hard thresholds against an organization's usage during the current calendar month'; percentile table (p90: 1,167 files / 78 MB / 7 releases; p99: 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50)
2026-10-21source not publishedsame page - '30-day grace period rather than immediate enforcement'; 'Commercial-nature artifacts require Maven Central Publisher Pro from October 1, 2026'
2026-10-21source not publishedsame page - 'Public artifacts already published to Maven Central remain available for download.'
2026-10-21repo1.maven.org/maven2/org/jetbrains/kotlin/kotlin-compiler/probe: GET -> 200, 60,219,212 bytes, application/java-archive
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "Maven Central introduced hard monthly publishing limits per organization in 2026. Three independent metrics: file count, release size, release count, evaluated as hard thresholds against the current calendar month, with a 30-day grace period on first breach (resets after 2 consecutive below-limit months). Thresholds are set near the top-10% of publishers; the published distribution table gives 90th percentile = 1,167 files / 78 MB release size / 7 releases per month, 99th = 17,724 / 1,808 MB / 50. Separately, from 2026-10-01, any artifact with a 'commercial nature' requires a paid Publisher Pro subscription regardless of volume.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 3
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read