Puter.js AI
puter.com · 2 records in Inference, Storage · JSON
Records 2
- caveatPuter.js AI (user-pays)
Inferencefree tieridentity anonymous?card?limit request-rateevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-28
- fails: quotaPuter (puter.com / Puter.js) — user-pays cloud storage
Storagefree tieridentity card?card?limit per-object-capevidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
Puter.js AI (user-pays)
Inference- Free allowance
- Every account gets a free monthly allowance, shown in the dashboard; AI requests per 10 s are 20 for an anonymous (guest) account, 30 for a free account and 200 for a paid one
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- anonymous?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- request-rateAI requests per 10 s: 20 anonymous, 30 free, 200 paid; concurrent AI requests: 2 anonymous, 3 free, 20 paid
- Evidence
- documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-28checked 2026-10-28 (live); stale on 2026-11-28
| Free tier | Every account gets a free monthly allowance, shown in the dashboard; AI requests per 10 s are 20 for an anonymous (guest) account, 30 for a free account and 200 for a paid one unit mixed; metered on unstated; the size of the monthly allowance is not stated on the pages read: unverified |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Binding | request-rate the guest-account ceiling of 20 requests per 10 s and 2 concurrent binds; the monthly credit is a second, unquantified gate |
| Identity | anonymous (placeholder) unverified: the rate-limit page names an anonymous tier that is a temporary (guest) account, and the tutorial says users authenticate with their Puter account; whether a guest account can spend the monthly allowance on chat, and what a full signup collects, were not read |
| Egress | not published |
| Interface | unknown endpoint: https://js.puter.com/v2/ |
| Tooling | Puter.js, puter.ai.chat(prompt, {model}) from a browser or Node.js; there are no API keys, and each user's own Puter account carries the cost. A REST route for a non-browser client was not read |
| Composes with | pairs with browser apps; the cost lands on the signed-in or guest account, not on a developer key |
| Reliability | a call that runs out of credit answers 402 insufficient_funds and the SDK shows the user an upgrade prompt |
| Evidence note | documented all values are from first-party documentation; no request was sent to a Puter endpoint |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 5
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-28 | developer.puter.com/tutorials/free-unlimited-ai-api/ | AI calls are made under each user's Puter account with no developer API key |
| 2026-10-28 | docs.puter.com/user-pays-model/ | every user has a free monthly allowance, with no number given |
| 2026-10-28 | docs.puter.com/rate-limits-and-quotas/ | anonymous means a temporary guest account |
| 2026-10-28 | docs.puter.com/rate-limits-and-quotas/ | AI requests per 10 s are 200 paid, 30 free and 20 anonymous |
| 2026-10-28 | docs.puter.com/rate-limits-and-quotas/ | concurrent AI requests are 20 paid, 3 free and 2 anonymous |
Unknown values 4
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- Free allowance
- Free tier shown on puter.com as '25 MB Storage' (the 100 GB / 500 GB / 2 TB figures on that page are the paid tiers — verified by reading the raw HTML, not the rendered summary).
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- card?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- per-object-capper-object-cap: not documented, but the free allowance is 25 MB
- Evidence
- reported3 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | Free tier shown on puter.com as '25 MB Storage' (the 100 GB / 500 GB / 2 TB figures on that page are the paid tiers — verified by reading the raw HTML, not the rendered summary). Developer-side cost is $0: 'Puter doesn't charge developers for infrastructure. Storage, database, and AI usage are metered to each signed-in user's own Puter account.' unit TB; metered on stored-bytes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
per-object-cap: not documented, but the free allowance is 25 MB total, which is the real cap. Request-rate: the vendor states that 'Anti-abuse, rate limiting, and fraud detection are also built into the Puter account layer, so bots and fake sign-ups are filtered before they reach your app'. In neutral terms, its signup layer screens for excess use and automated signups, so free identities are NOT unlimited here. Retention: not documented. |
| Identity | card (inferred, not read) not published |
| Egress | Not metered per-GB to the developer; metered to the end user's Puter allowance. No egress line found. |
| Per-object cap | per-object-cap: not documented, but the free allowance is 25 MB (25000000 bytes) |
| Retention | not stated |
| Interface | s3, rest, webdav, sftp rest |
| Tooling | Puter.js — a single <script> tag or the @heyputer/puter.js npm module, keyless. puter.fs.write / read / mkdir give a browser-side filesystem API; auth is 'sign in with Puter'. No S3/WebDAV/SFTP shim. |
| Composes with | The interesting multiplier is the opposite of the usual one: because storage is metered to each signed-in user's account, an app with N users gets N x (that user's allowance) and the developer pays nothing. But the free allowance per user is 25 MB, so the chain only works if a user also controls the user accounts — i.e. it is a way to make storage free for an app's users, not a way to get 10 TiB. |
| Reliability | Explicitly blocks the several-accounts route: Puter markets that 'usage is metered to each user's own account, so a bad actor has no free resources to farm', plus automated-signup filtering. That removes the second-account allowance this niche usually relies on. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 3
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | puter.com/ | free tier '25 MB Storage'; paid tiers 100 GB / 500 GB / 2 TB |
| 2026-10-21 | developer.puter.com/pricing/ | 'Storage, database, and AI usage are metered to each signed-in user's own Puter account, so your costs don't grow with your user count' |
| 2026-10-21 | docs.puter.com/ | puter.fs.write / puter.fs.read / puter.fs.mkdir cloud storage API |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "egress","why": "Free tier shown on puter.com as '25 MB Storage' (the 100 GB / 500 GB / 2 TB figures on that page are the paid tiers — verified by reading the raw HTML, not the rendered summary). Developer-side cost is $0: 'Puter doesn't charge developers for infrastructure. Storage, database, and AI usage are metered to each signed-in user's own Puter account.'","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 3
- per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read