fshy

Home

OpenAI

openai.com · 4 records in Compute, Storage · JSON

Records 4

developers.openai.com/codex/codex-for-ossInference APIcompute/openai-codexJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
'Open-source maintainers can apply for API credits, six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex, and Codex Security', and 'Over the past year, the Codex Open Source Fund ($1 million) has supported projects that need API credits'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedA review decides entry and the maintainer must be a primary or core maintainer of a public repository with a public GitHub profile; the cash value of the API credit is not published.
Evidence
documented7 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
Free tier'Open-source maintainers can apply for API credits, six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex, and Codex Security', and 'Over the past year, the Codex Open Source Fund ($1 million) has supported projects that need API credits'. The form adds 'API credits for coding, maintainer automation, release workflows, and core open source work'.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; a time-boxed grant decided by review, not a recurring credit: six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex for selected maintainers, conditional Codex Security, and API credits whose cash value is not published
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) A review decides entry and the maintainer must be a primary or core maintainer of a public repository with a public GitHub profile; the cash value of the API credit is not published. source
Identityemail the application form asks for the email of an existing ChatGPT account, a public GitHub username, a public repository URL, the applicant's role as primary or core maintainer, a reason the repository qualifies, and an OpenAI Organization ID; applications are reviewed on a rolling basis and only selected applicants are notified
Egressnot stated
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThis is the only record denominated in inference rather than machines, and it is the cheapest way to run an agent over a repository: six months of a frontier coding subscription plus API credit covers the review loop that the other records would have to pay for in tokens.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe page changed shape within the year: the fund began as USD 1 million of API credits and now leads with a six-month subscription, so the cash-equivalent value is not published and is left null. Codex Security is 'conditional' and reviewed case by case. The gate is maintainership of a project with traction, which is the same bar as every other vendor programme here, but the review is rolling and there is no cohort.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 7
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22developers.openai.com/codex/codex-for-ossquoted the USD 1 million fund, the six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex, the API credits, and 'If you're a core maintainer or run a widely used public project, apply'
2026-10-22openai.com/form/codex-for-oss/the live application form, which asks for a ChatGPT account email, a public GitHub username, a public repository URL and the applicant's maintainer role, and states reviews run on a rolling basis
2026-10-30developers.openai.com/codex/codex-for-ossthe programme grants six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex, a fixed term rather than a recurring allowance
2026-10-30openai.com/form/codex-for-oss/the form requires the email of an existing ChatGPT account, alongside a public GitHub username, a public repository and an OpenAI Organization ID
2026-10-30developers.openai.com/codex/codex-for-ossthe programme still offers API credits, six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex and Codex Security; the cash value of the API credits is still not published
2026-11-03developers.openai.com/codex/codex-for-ossthe programme still offers API credits, six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex and Codex Security to maintainers who apply
2026-11-04developers.openai.com/codex/codex-for-ossthe Codex for OSS offer is unchanged: API credits, six months of ChatGPT Pro with Codex, and Codex Security
More fields 1
facets{"class": "vendor-oss-credits","free_tier_kind": "recurring-credit","shape": null}
Unknown values 6
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

developers.openai.com/api/reference/resources/files/methods/LLM provider /v1/filesstorage/openai-files-api-per-project-file-storageJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
2.5 TB per project; 512 MB per file; no organization-wide storage cap; orgs may create up to 2,000 projects by default
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tierpaid plans from USD 3000/TB-month
Identity
any-phoneno card, phone required
Binding limit
per-object-cap512 MB per file
Evidence
reported9 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier2.5 TB per project; 512 MB per file; no organization-wide storage cap; orgs may create up to 2,000 projects by default
unit objects; metered on stored-bytes
Pricefree (raw file storage); vector-store storage $0.10/GB/day after 1 GB — avoid attaching to vector stores
Limits
  • per-object-cap (binding) 512 MB per file source
per-object-cap 512 MB. Upload rate 1,000 requests/min/authenticated user. Vector-store attachment has its own 2,000 files/min/org limit. purpose is the real gate — see reliability_note.
Identityany-phone any-phone
EgressNot metered separately for upload/download of files; retrieval is a plain authenticated GET. No published per-GB transfer fee on the Files API surface.
Per-object cap512 MB per file (512000000 bytes)
Retentionnot stated
Interfacerest REST POST/GET/DELETE /v1/files, GET /v1/files/{file_id}/content; OpenAI SDKs; works through OpenAI-compatible gateways
Toolingopenai-python, openai-node, curl; purpose field selects the lifecycle class
Composes with2,000 projects/org x 2.5 TB = nominally 5 PB per org. Files are project-scoped and cannot be moved between projects, so a pooler must track (project -> file_id). Because purpose=batch and purpose=vision are both uploadable AND downloadable, they are the only two classes usable as actual storage.
ReliabilityREAD GATE IS PER-PURPOSE, NOT PER-ACCOUNT. An OpenAI staff-adjacent answer on the developer forum gives the directionality table: assistants up/NO down; user_data up/NO down; fine-tune up/NO down; evals up/NO down; batch up/YES down; vision up/YES down; *_output down only. So purpose=user_data and purpose=assistants are write-only — uploading there is data loss. Storage is genuinely free (no per-GB-day charge for raw files; the $0.10/GB-day on the pricing page is vector store storage, not Files API storage). Identity: ChatGPT signup is email-only, but generating the FIRST API key now mandates phone verification (SMS or WhatsApp, one number reusable 3x, rolled out to a listed set of countries). That is the binding constraint here.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • per-object-cap 512 MB
  • price-per-tb USD 3000 TB / month
Evidence 9
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21developers.openai.com/api/reference/resources/files/methods/'Individual files can be up to 512 MB, and each project can store up to 2.5 TB of files in total. There is no organization-wide storage limit. Uploads ... rate-limited to 1,000 requests per minute'
2026-10-21help.openai.com/en/articles/8724843-file-storage-quota-error'OpenAI currently supports a file storage quota of 2.5 TB of files per project', updated 2 days ago
2026-10-21help.openai.com/en/articles/9186755-managing-projects-in-the'Organizations can create up to 2,000 projects by default'; 'Project resources (such as files, assistants, storage, or threads) are scoped to the project'
2026-10-21developers.openai.com/api/reference/resources/files/'Retrieve file content: get /files/{file_id}/content'
2026-10-21community.openai.com/t/file-uploads-error-why-can-t-i-downlodirectionality table; 'Not allowed to download files of purpose: user_data'
2026-10-21community.openai.com/t/not-allowed-to-download-files-of-purp'You can't download files that you've uploaded to the assistants yourself'
2026-10-21platform.openai.com/docs/pricing'File search | Storage | $0.10 / GB per day (1 GB free)' — this is vector-store storage, NOT raw file storage
2026-10-21help.openai.com/en/articles/8983040-what-does-phone-verifica'Phone verification is now mandated on platform.openai.com for generating your initial API key'
2026-10-21api.openai.com/v1/filesPROBE: curl -D - -> HTTP/1.1 401, Content-Length 616, real JSON error, x-openai-proxy-wasm; /v1/files/{id}/content also 401/616 — endpoint live, not a 0-byte 200
More fields 1
price verbatimfree (raw file storage); vector-store storage $0.10/GB/day after 1 GB — avoid attaching to vector stores
Unknown values 3
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read

developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricingContainer and VM sandboxcompute/openai-containersJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
No container tier: the API is priced per million tokens and per audio minute, from $0.10 an input MTok on the cheapest current model
Verdict
paidno free allowance; listed for its price
Cost
no price stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
request-rateper million input and output tokens, from $0.10 to $30.00 an input MTok on the current models
Evidence
documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierno container tier: the API is priced per million tokens and per audio minute, from $0.10 an input MTok on the cheapest current model
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate (binding) per million input and output tokens, from $0.10 to $30.00 an input MTok on the current models source
  • per-object-cap audio transcription bills per minute, from $0.0045 to $0.034 source
not stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfaceunknown
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
Evidence notedocumented the API pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and carries model and audio rates only. There is no container product on it, so the record's free-tier framing does not apply and the verdict moves to paid-only
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 0
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-02developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricingnot published
2026-10-22developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricingthe API pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and is a per-million-token model table plus per-minute audio rates: 'gpt-6-luna $0.10 / $0.50 per MTok', 'gpt-5.5-pro $30.00 / $180.00', 'gpt-transcribe $0.0045 / minute'. It prices tokens and minutes, not containers
More fields 6
keep rate0.0
keep rate basissuspends on idle (auto_stop_idle)
billing modelunclassified
session cap{"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "a container is billed per minute while it runs on the container pricing page this record does not cite"}
free tier kindnone
granularity{"min_billed_s": 300,"rounding_s": null}
Unknown values 10
  • chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • limits note: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

help.openai.com/en/articles/8555545-file-uploads-faqConsumer AI chat productstorage/chatgpt-consumer-file-storage-library-projectsJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
25 GB shared upload storage per user, 100 GB per organization.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tier
Identity
any-phoneno card, phone required
Binding limit
per-object-cap512 MB per file
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier25 GB shared upload storage per user, 100 GB per organization. 512 MB per file. Project file counts: Free 5, Go/Plus 25, Edu/Pro/Business/Enterprise 40. GPT knowledge: 20 files. 'Users can create an unlimited amount of projects.'
unit objects; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate 3 uploads/day source
  • per-object-cap (binding) 512 MB per file source
  • write-gated review, download, or delete it') which is the inverse of the API's purpose-based read source
per-object-cap 512 MB; CSV/spreadsheets ~50 MB; images 20 MB. Upload rate: 80 files per 3 hours; free users 3 uploads/day. Retention not stated as a limit — Library persists.
Identityany-phone any-phone
EgressFiles can be previewed and downloaded from the project sources list; no egress fee.
Per-object cap512 MB per file (512000000 bytes)
Retentionnot stated
Interfaceunknown Web/app UI. GET /v1/files with an API key does NOT expose ChatGPT Library files — the API and the consumer product are separate stores.
ToolingNone programmatic for the consumer store.
Composes withUnlimited projects x 40 files x 512 MB = nominal 20 GB per project, but the 25 GB/user byte wall across all of it is the real cap. Nothing multiplies.
ReliabilityNotably better than the API for read-back ('open it from the project sources list to preview, download, or delete it') which is the inverse of the API's purpose-based read gate — but the byte wall makes it irrelevant.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • per-object-cap 512 MB
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21help.openai.com/en/articles/8555545-file-uploads-faq'Shared upload storage is capped at 25 GB per user and 100 GB per organization'; 'You can upload up to 80 files every 3 hours. Free users are limited to 3 file uploads per day.'; project file caps by plan
2026-10-21help.openai.com/en/articles/10169521-chatgpt-projects'After a file is added to a project, you can open it from the project sources list to preview, download, or delete it'; 'Users can create an unlimited amount of projects.'
2026-10-21help.openai.com/en/articles/8555545-file-uploads-faq'All files uploaded to a GPT or a ChatGPT conversation have a hard limit of 512MB per file'
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "25 GB shared upload storage per user, 100 GB per organization. 512 MB per file. Project file counts: Free 5, Go/Plus 25, Edu/Pro/Business/Enterprise 40. GPT knowledge: 20 files. 'Users can create an unlimited amount of projects.'","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 4
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read