fshy

Home

Northflank

northflank.com · 2 records in Compute, Egress and tunnels · JSON

Records 2

northflank.com/pricingPlatform hostcompute/northflankJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Sandbox plan at USD 0: 'Up to $20/mo of resources on Northflank Cloud', '2 services, 2 jobs, and 1 database', 'Always on, no sleeping', plus '1 BYOC cluster, up to 12 vCPU and 48 GB'.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
cardcard required, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedwrites need approval, payment or a gate
Evidence
documented7 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-24checked 2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
Free tierSandbox plan at USD 0: 'Up to $20/mo of resources on Northflank Cloud', '2 services, 2 jobs, and 1 database', 'Always on, no sleeping', plus '1 BYOC cluster, up to 12 vCPU and 48 GB'.
unit mixed; metered on wall-clock
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota USD 20 a month of resources; the cheapest compute plan is nf-compute-50 at USD 12.00 a month source
  • per-ip-shaping egress USD 0.06 per GB with no free egress allowance stated source
  • per-object-cap 2 services, 2 jobs, 1 database source
A card entered for the paid tier is only verified: 'No — when you enter a card we only verify the card. Your card is only charged at the end of the billing cycle.' No hold amount is stated.
Bindingwrite-gated the card requirement is the first thing that fails: it is universal and it blocks the first service, whatever the plan.
Identitycard A payment method is required for every plan: the billing documentation states 'all users must add a payment method to start creating resources on Northflank, regardless of plan selection'. The Sandbox plan card carries a 'No card needed' badge and the pricing FAQ answers 'when you enter a card we only verify the card', so the same page both advertises and presupposes a card. No hold amount is stated.
EgressNetwork egress USD 0.06 per GB, ingress free. The free plan publishes no separate egress allowance, so the inference recorded here is that egress is drawn from the same USD 20 resource allowance; the pricing page does not say so in as many words.
Per-object cap2 services, 2 jobs and 1 database; no cap on a single service's size beyond the USD 20 monthly resource allowance
Retentionresources persist while the plan holds; the free allowance resets monthly and nothing states a deletion on exhaustion
Interfacessh git deploy, a public endpoint, a CLI and an API
Toolingthe Northflank CLI and API, Docker and buildpacks, a managed database
Composes witha container platform where the free tier never sleeps, and the card is the price of entry
Reliabilityno reliability event observed; the free tier is described as always-on, which is why the unresolved card question matters
NotesArithmetic: 730 h x (0.5 x USD 0.01667 + 1 x USD 0.00833) = USD 12.17 a month for an always-on 0.5 vCPU / 1 GB service, leaving USD 7.83 = 130 GB of egress at USD 0.06/GB if egress draws on the same allowance, which is inferred and not stated. The 'No card needed' badge on the pricing page is contradicted by the billing docs and by the page's own FAQ, which presupposes a card. The USD 20 a month of resources is real and sits behind the card. A 2026-10-24 re-read also found the plan is 'Always on, no sleeping', which is the only free-tier-shaped offer in this market that does not sleep, and 730 h x (0.5 x 0.01667 + 1 x 0.00833) = USD 12.17 of the allowance.
Evidence notedocumented plan contents, rates and the cheapest plan read on the pricing page; the card requirement is documented on two first-party pages that disagree
Parsed numbers
  • price USD 0 10 hours a day / month
  • price USD 0 / month
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 7
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23northflank.com/pricingquoted: 'Up to $20/mo of resources on Northflank Cloud', 'Always on, no sleeping', 'No card needed'
2026-10-23northflank.com/pricingquoted plan rows: nf-compute-50 0.5 vCPU/1 GB $0.01667/h $12.00/mo; nf-compute-100-2 1 vCPU/2 GB $0.03333/h $24.00/mo; nf-compute-200 2 vCPU/4 GB $0.06667/h $48.00/mo
2026-10-24northflank.com/pricingquoted: 'No card needed', 'Up to $20/mo of resources on Northflank Cloud', 'Always on, no sleeping', 'CPU $0.01667/ vCPU / hour', 'Memory $0.00833/ GB / hour', 'nf-compute-400 ... 4 vCPU · 8 GB ... $0.13 ... $96.00'.
2026-10-24northflank.com/pricingquoted: 'Am I charged when I enter my credit card? No — when you enter a card we only verify the card. Your card is only charged at the end of the billing cycle.' and 'Payments are handled by Stripe and we accept Visa, Mastercard, and American Express.'
2026-10-24northflank.com/pricingquoted: 'Free / No card needed / 2 services, 2 jobs, and 1 database / Up to $20/mo of resources on Northflank Cloud / Always on, no sleeping'
2026-10-24northflank.com/pricingquoted: 'nf-compute-50 ... 0.5 vCPU 1 GB ... $0.01667 ... $12.00'; 'Network egress ... $0.06/ GB'; CPU $0.01667/vCPU/hour, memory $0.00833/GB/hour
2026-10-24northflank.com/docs/v1/application/billing/pricing-on-northfquoted: 'all users must add a payment method to start creating resources on Northflank, regardless of plan selection. This is to verify user identity'
More fields 18
shape{"vcpu": 0.5,"ram_gib": 1,"disk_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}
billing modelmonthly-allowance
session cap{"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "the vendor states 'Always on, no sleeping'"}
persistent storage{"included_gib": null,"price_gib_month": "USD 0.15 per GB-month for persistent SSD","durability": "pausing deletes ephemeral data","survives_stop": true,"survives_destroy": false,"max_retention": "while the service exists"}
network out{"allow_outbound": true,"allow_inbound_listen": true,"ports": "the service's HTTP port plus TCP/UDP ports for non-HTTP services","static_ip": false,"ipv6": false,"per_session_bytes": null}
free tier kindmonthly-resource-allowance
granularity{"min_billed_s": 0,"rounding_s": null}
burst x1.0
ps{"gib": null,"price": "volumes and persistence are available on the plan","durability": "volume","on_stop": true,"on_destroy": false,"retention": "until deleted"}
shape smallest{"vcpu": 0.5,"ram_gib": 1}
termmonthly
m10h usd0.0
m24h usd0.0
price arithmeticfree within the USD 20 monthly resource allowance; the 0.5 vCPU / 1 GB shape consumes USD 12.17 a month of it at the published per-second rates
credit usd20
credit months at shape0.21
credit hours at shape153.8
credit expirymonthly; unused allowance does not accumulate

Corrections

Northflank (free)

Egress and tunnels

northflank.com/docs/v1/application/network/configure-load-baPaaS L4 portegress/northflankJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Up to $20 a month of free resources on Northflank Cloud, across 2 services, 2 jobs, and 1 database.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quota$20/month of resources; egress $0.06/GB
Evidence
documented3 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-23checked 2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-23
Free tierUp to $20 a month of free resources on Northflank Cloud, across 2 services, 2 jobs, and 1 database.
unit mixed; metered on unstated
PriceUSD 0
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) $20/month of resources; egress $0.06/GB source
Bindingvolume-quota $20 of credit at $0.06/GB is 333 GB, 0.30 TiB, and only if no compute is spent. 1 TiB of egress alone would cost $61.44/month.
Identityemail "Sandbox Free No card needed".
EgressFree Sandbox is a $20/month resource credit; network egress is $0.06/GB for everyone, so the credit buys at most 333 GB of egress if nothing else is spent.; ingress: tcp+udp
free allowance: none published
Interfacerest, cli "Load balancers can be included in Northflank templates for infrastructure as code" plus a REST API.
ToolingDashboard, API, and template YAML (kind: LoadBalancer); point an A record at the provisioned IP.
Composes withA Northflank UDP load balancer in front of a wg-quick sidecar gives a stable endpoint; the $20 credit and $0.06/GB egress cap the volume, not the protocol.
Reliability"Updating a load balancer triggers re-provisioning. There may be a brief traffic interruption during the update." Backends must be running, not paused.
NotesThe most capable L4 product technically, and the least clear commercially: the pricing page prices an egress gateway ($15/gateway/month) but never prices the load balancer, and the plan matrix has no load-balancer row. Treat free-tier LB access as open, not as granted.
Evidence notedocumented Whether the free Sandbox may create an L4 load balancer is not stated on any page read.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • price USD 0
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23northflank.com/docs/v1/application/network/configure-load-baL4 load balancers route "external TCP or UDP traffic", stable public IP, up to 100 ports, no rate limiting
2026-10-23northflank.com/pricingFree Sandbox: $20/month of resources, 2 services, no card; network egress $0.06/GB
2026-10-23northflank.com/docs/v1/application/network/configure-ports"Only HTTP and HTTP/2 ports can be publicly exposed. TCP and UDP service ports require a separate Layer 4 load balancer"
More fields 6
wg pathinside-udp
wg detailA team-level Layer 4 load balancer with Protocol: TCP or UDP, a stable public IP once Provisioned, up to 100 ports, no TLS termination and no rate limiting.
ingresstcp+udp
volume statedFree Sandbox is a $20/month resource credit; network egress is $0.06/GB for everyone, so the credit buys at most 333 GB of egress if nothing else is spent.
bytes transityes
transit noteNorthflank's cloud provisions the L4 balancer; the datagrams land on a user's service.
Unknown values 2
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer