fshy

Home / Compute

ModelScope

modelscope.cn · 3 records in Compute · JSON

Records 3

ModelScope

Compute

modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/introGPU cloudcompute/modelscopeJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
" Notebook 36 " - 36 GPU hours as a new-user initial grant, while the CPU environment (8 cores, 32 GB) stays free with no stated limit.
Verdict
triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
Cost
free tier
Identity
national-idno card, phone required
Binding limit
retention-clampedthe 36-hour grant does not refill and a single instance may run at most 10 hours, so a 6-hour idle timeout spends the grant without producing anything
Evidence
reported4 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-06checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-06
Free tier" Notebook 36 " - 36 GPU hours as a new-user initial grant, while the CPU environment (8 cores, 32 GB) stays free with no stated limit.
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • retention-clamped (binding) the 36-hour grant does not refill and a single instance may run at most 10 hours, so a 6-hour idle timeout spends the grant without producing anything source
Identitynational-id a bound Alibaba Cloud account is required, and that account needs real-name verification: one source states "binding an Alibaba Cloud account is required and that account requires real-name verification", and the grant is "36 per new user after binding an Alibaba Cloud account". The record does not state which document that verification accepts — a Chinese national ID or a passport — whether a card or phone is also needed on either account, any hold, or debit or prepaid acceptance
Egressnot stated
Retentionthe 36-hour grant does not refill and a single instance may run at most 10 hours, so a 6-hour idle timeout spends the grant without producing anything
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe GPU grant is one-time, but the perpetual 8-core CPU notebook with 100 GB of storage is a free place to hold data and run scraping or embedding jobs, which is the part that composes with a storage provider.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe official page could not be read directly: the reader returned 'no content' and the Wayback replay of the 2026-08-03 capture was empty, so this row is reported on three independent quotations rather than documented. The headline number in circulation has changed and the direction is downward: guides say 100 hours, the doc says 36, and one author explicitly corrects the older figure. Two adjacent lanes are separate products and are not added to this row: free xGPU on (shared GPU for Spaces, requires joining an xGPU-Explorers organisation, approval-gated, with per-user duration caps), and the AMD GPU incentive programme (up to 1000 hours, requires an AMD developer account plus publishing activity).
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • retention-clamped 10 hours
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22www.3520.net/free-cargo/18257.htmlquoted from the official Notebook doc: 36 per new user after binding an Alibaba Cloud account; CPU 8 cores / 32 GB free long term; 100 GB storage; single instance at most 10 hours; auto-stop after 1 idle hour; the author corrects the widely repeated '100 hours at signup' figure as stale
2026-10-22lanmao.ai/zh/o/modelscope-notebook-free-gpu/quoted, checked 2026-10-02: 36 hours is a one-time new-user GPU grant; binding an Alibaba Cloud account is required and that account requires real-name verification
2026-10-22tianchi.aliyun.com/forum/post/570847Alibaba's own Tianchi forum post states the free instance is 36 hours of single-card A10 compute
2026-10-22modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/introofficial doc page returned 422 no-content from the reader and the 2026-08-03 Wayback capture replayed empty; the figure rests on three sources quoting the doc, not on the doc itself
More fields 1
facets{"class": "recurring-notebook-quota","free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit","shape": {"vcpu": 8,"ram_gib": 32,"gpu_class": "A10 24GB","gpu_count": 1}}
Unknown values 5
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641Notebook runtimecompute/modelscope-notebookJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
ModelScope and AMD run a developer incentive programme.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
national-idcard unknown, no phone
Binding limit
retention-clampedthe 100 hours are a one-time grant that only ticks while the instance runs, a single boot is capped at about 8 to 10 hours, and only files under /workspace persist, so the 192 GB card is reachable in 8-hour slices; the harder wall is...
Evidence
reported24 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-18checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-11-18
Free tierModelScope and AMD run a developer incentive programme. Step 0 is registering for the AMD AI Developer Program through the ModelScope Notebook page, which pays 100 hours of AMD GPU notebook time. Content paths stack on top: 25 hours per approved technical article capped at 50, 50 hours per approved notebook capped at 150, and 700 hours or more for an approved deployed application, which the vendor states totals 1,000 hours or more. The vendor page names MI300X only as an example AMD option and states no core, memory or VRAM figure; the machine shape is in free_tier.notes as a user-reported figure.
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; standing quota for each new user on the vendor notebook page: PAI-DSW GPU 8 cores, 32GB RAM, 24GB VRAM with 36 hours free quota, and EAIS GPU 8 cores, 32GB RAM, 16GB VRAM with 64 hours free quota; the AMD incentive hours in the statement above are a separate one-time grant; AMD notebook shape, reported by a user from their own console and not stated on the vendor page: 8 cores, 200GB RAM and 192G VRAM, with amd-smi showing 196288 MB total, ISA gfx942 (CDNA 3, Instinct MI300 series) and 80 compute units, a slice of a full MI300X rather than the whole card
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • retention-clamped (binding) the 100 hours are a one-time grant that only ticks while the instance runs, a single boot is capped at about 8 to 10 hours, and only files under /workspace persist, so the 192 GB card is reachable in 8-hour slices; the harder wall is that the ModelScope notebook needs a real-name-verified Alibaba Cloud account linked. source
Identitynational-id national-id: the notebook requires authorising and linking an Alibaba Cloud account, and 'an Alibaba Cloud account requires real-name verification', quoted from a third-party guide rather than a vendor page. The student route is narrower again: a full-time student at a mainland China university, on an account already through individual real-name verification, completed by Alipay scan, valid 30 days and stopping on graduation. No card requirement, hold, debit or prepaid statement appears in any evidence row: unknown.
Egressnot stated
Retentionthe 100 hours are a one-time grant that only ticks while the instance runs, a single boot is capped at about 8 to 10 hours, and only files under /workspace persist, so the 192 GB card is reachable in 8-hour slices; the harder wall is that the ModelScope notebook needs a real-name-verified Alibaba Cloud account linked.
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withit composes with AMD Radeon Cloud's Token Factory for serving and leaves the GPU hours for training.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe 1,000-hour total is the vendor's own arithmetic over three paths, two of which are content review, so the realistic first number is 100. Whether modelscope.ai carries the same AMD offer is unverified and is the single most valuable open question here.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • retention-clamped 100 hours
Evidence 24
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641the official guide exists at this URL and its title, read, reads 'modelscope x AMD developer incentive programme: up to 1000 hours and above of free compute, a collection guide'; the body did not extract, so the figures below rest on the republished text
2026-10-01zhuanlan.zhihu.com/p/2044198690726860697a republishing of the ModelScope guide by the AMD China account, quoted: Step 0 pays 100 hours and is the prerequisite for everything else; 25 hours per article capped at 50; 50 hours per notebook capped at 150; 700 hours or more for a deployed application; the three paths are independent and stack
2026-09-20www.aipromonow.com/promos/modelscope-amd-100h-gpu-notebook-sreported shape and route: the AMD environment carries a NEW tag and reads about 8 cores, 200 GB RAM and 192 GB of VRAM on a ROCm plus PyTorch image; the 100 hours arrive after binding an AMD developer account from the My Notebook page
2026-10-01juejin.cn/post/7675623932943548479a comparison table of the three ModelScope environments from a user's own console: CPU 8 cores 32 GB marked long-term use, NVIDIA GPU 8 cores 32 GB with 24 GB of VRAM on a limited quota, AMD GPU 8 cores 200 GB with 192 GB of VRAM at 100 hours, image ubuntu22.04-rocm7.2.3-py312-torch2.11.0
2026-09-19linux.do/t/topic/2922778first-hand reports, translated: 192 GB of VRAM confirmed; 'single boot at most eight hours, and only files inside workspace persist'; one user reports resource shortage preventing an instance from starting; another says a further 200 hours is available by writing articles
2026-10-02lanmao.ai/o/modelscope-notebook-free-gpu/the identity gate, quoted: using Notebook requires authorising and linking an Alibaba Cloud account, and an Alibaba Cloud account requires real-name verification
2026-10-22lanmao.ai/zh/o/modelscope-notebook-free-gpu/Every new user gets a free initial GPU allowance of 36 hours, a single instance run capped at 10 hours, 100 GB of free persistent storage, and a recorded check date of 2026-10-02; the page cites modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/intro as the vendor source.
2026-10-22developer.aliyun.com/article/1628727Alibaba Cloud developer community post headlined 300 hours of free GPU for students with an edu email, linking to modelscope.cn/brand/view/GPU.
2026-10-22developer.aliyun.com/article/1605205Binding an Alibaba Cloud account also gets 100 hours of free GPU compute on ModelScope Notebook, the smaller figure that recurs across Alibaba's own posts.
2026-10-22help.aliyun.com/zh/account/student-identity-verificationThe Alibaba Cloud student identity check requires a full-time student at a mainland China university and an account already through individual real-name verification, completed by Alipay scan; verification lasts 30 days and stops working on graduation.
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641the vendor guide pays 100 hours of AMD GPU notebook time for registering with the AMD Developer Program, a prerequisite for the other paths
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/introthe vendor notebook page gives each new user a PAI-DSW GPU quota of 36 hours on 24GB VRAM and an EAIS GPU quota of 64 hours on 16GB VRAM
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/introa single free instance runs at most 10 hours
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/introan idle notebook closes after 1 hour
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/docs/notebook/introthe free initial quota needs a bound Alibaba Cloud account; the vendor page does not state a real-name step
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/learn/43364125 hours per approved technical article, capped at 50 hours
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/learn/43364150 hours per approved notebook, capped at 150 hours
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641700 hours or more for a deployed CreateSpace application, allocated by application quality
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641the AMD GPU resources allow 1 concurrent notebook and 1 concurrent CreateSpace application per user
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641the vendor guide names MI300X as the AMD notebook card; it states no VRAM figure
2026-11-03www.modelscope.cn/learn/433641the vendor guide pays 100 hours for the AMD Developer Program registration; the guide gives no machine shape
2026-11-03juejin.cn/post/7675623932943548479a user's console table lists the AMD GPU environment at 8 cores and 200GB RAM
2026-11-03juejin.cn/post/7675623932943548479the same table lists 192G VRAM for the AMD GPU environment
2026-11-03juejin.cn/post/7675623932943548479amd-smi on the instance shows 196288 MB total, matching the 192G VRAM on the page
More fields 1
facets{"class": "vendor-developer-program","free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit","shape": {"vcpu": 8,"ram_gib": 200,"gpu_class": "AMD Instinct MI300X","gpu_count": 1,"vram_gib": 192}}
Unknown values 5
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

modelscope.cn/openapi/v1/studios/hardwareNotebook runtimecompute/modelscope-studioJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
A free Studio hardware tier: platform/2v-cpu-8g-mem on modelscope.cn and platform/2v-cpu-16g-mem on modelscope.ai, both resource_type free with no GPU
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
country-phoneno card, phone required
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
unverified6 sources; asserted and not checked
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-18checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-11-18
Free tiera free Studio hardware tier: platform/2v-cpu-8g-mem on modelscope.cn and platform/2v-cpu-16g-mem on modelscope.ai, both resource_type free with no GPU
unit none; metered on wall-clock
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • retention-clamped a Studio enters a Sleeping state after a long period without access; the timeout is not published source
  • per-object-cap 2 vCPU with 8 GiB or 16 GiB depending on the site source
  • write-gated an account is required and the free quota carries a time limit source
the sleeping timeout is a documented absence, so the idle policy cannot be designed against
Identitycountry-phone a Chinese phone number is required on modelscope.cn; modelscope.ai is the international site
Egressnot published
Retentionthe docs define a Sleeping state after a long period without access, woken by visiting the URL; the exact timeout is not published
Interfacessh a Gradio, Streamlit, Docker or static SDK on a public *.ms.show URL; Tailscale plus SSH is reported as achievable
Toolingthe Studio SDKs; /mnt/workspace is OSS-backed
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe hardware list is a JSON endpoint that the page reader refuses and that a raw fetch returns. An anonymous read lists only a free CPU tier on each site, 2v-cpu-8g-mem on modelscope.cn and a larger-memory free tier on modelscope.ai, and no GPU hardware. The record's identity finding rests on the earlier read and is not re-asserted here.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • per-object-cap 8 GiB
Evidence 6
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-06modelscope.cn/openapi/v1/studios/hardwarehardware list includes platform/2v-cpu-8g-mem with resource_type free and gradio, streamlit, docker and static SDKs
2026-10-06modelscope.cn/openapi/v1/studios/hardwarethe two sites serve different anonymous free tiers: 2v-cpu-8g-mem on .cn and 2v-cpu-16g-mem on .ai
2026-10-22modelscope.cn/openapi/v1/studios/hardwareThe record's 2-vCPU free tier rests on the 2026-10-06 read
2026-11-03modelscope.cn/openapi/v1/studios/hardwarethe anonymous hardware list on modelscope.cn contains one free tier, 2v-cpu-8g-mem, and no GPU hardware
2026-11-03modelscope.ai/openapi/v1/studios/hardwarethe anonymous hardware list on modelscope.ai contains one free tier, 2v-cpu-16g-mem, and no GPU hardware
2026-11-03modelscope.cn/openapi/v1/studios/hardwarethe raw fetch returns the free hardware list on modelscope.cn
More fields 6
billing modelflat-pool
session cap{"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "sleeps after a long period without access; timeout unpublished"}
persistent storage{"included_gib": null,"price_gib_month": "OSS-backed workspace","durability": "/mnt/workspace","survives_stop": true,"survives_destroy": false,"max_retention": "while the Studio exists"}
network out{"allow_outbound": true,"allow_inbound_listen": true,"ports": "the *.ms.show URL","static_ip": false,"ipv6": null,"per_session_bytes": null}
free tier kindallowance
identity splitmodelscope.cn requires a Chinese phone; modelscope.ai is the international lane with a different tier
Unknown values 3
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed