fshy

Home

molab

marimo.io · 2 records in Compute, Storage · JSON

Records 2

molab

Compute

docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/Notebook runtimecompute/molabJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Free: 4 CPUs and 32 GB RAM per notebook, an NVIDIA RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell with 96 GB VRAM attachable to any notebook, sessions up to 12 hours, 90-minute idle shutdown
Verdict
★ qualifiesusable as stated; the read path was probed
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quota12 hours maximum session, 90 minutes idle shutdown, no published monthly cap
Evidence
documented12 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-24checked 2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
Free tierfree: 4 CPUs and 32 GB RAM per notebook, an NVIDIA RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell with 96 GB VRAM attachable to any notebook, sessions up to 12 hours, 90-minute idle shutdown
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; No published monthly hour cap. The vendor says the service stays free while capacity is not oversubscribed.
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) 12 hours maximum session, 90 minutes idle shutdown, no published monthly cap source
There is no published GPU-hours figure at all, and the vendor reserves both the price and the resource parameters, so the card can be withdrawn or resized with no notice period and no number a plan can be built on.
Bindingvolume-quota nothing is metered, so nothing runs out on a schedule; the 12-hour session is the wall, and the vendor reserves the right to change the resources
Identityemail a browser session at molab.new; the documentation describes no card and no phone step. Not stated explicitly as 'no card', so read as the absence of a stated gate rather than a documented one.
Egressno published egress allowance or price
Per-object capnot applicable: the unit is a session, not an object
Retentiona limited amount of persistent storage per notebook; files uploaded through the sidebar or cached with mo.persistent_cache are persisted, subject to limits on file size and duration that may change at molab's discretion
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Reliabilitythe vendor states the free service continues only while resources are not oversubscribed, so capacity is the risk rather than a counter
NotesNo monthly GPU-hour quota is published, which is the one number a planner needs. The idle rule (90 minutes) is far more generous than Colab's or Kaggle's, and 12 hours matches Colab's cap with much better hardware.
Evidence notedocumented compute, GPU, session length and idle timeout are quoted from the vendor's docs page today. The absence of a card gate is inferred from the docs describing none.
Parsed numbers
  • price USD 0 10 hours a day / month
  • price USD 0 / month
  • has-free-tier 1
  • volume-quota 12 hours
Evidence 12
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted: 'Notebooks can run for as long as 12 hours before molab shuts them down. Notebooks that are idle for more than 90 minutes are automatically shut down.'
2026-10-22docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted: an NVIDIA RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell GPU with 96 GB of VRAM and 125 TFLOPS can be attached to any notebook; default 4 CPUs and 32 GB RAM; notebooks run as long as 12 hours; idle over 90 minutes shuts down
2026-06-01marimo.io/blog/reintroducing-molabquoted: the public preview of molab runs natively on CoreWeave Cloud with opt-in GPUs and 12 hour sessions
2026-09-01linux.do/t/topic/2696589forum report, translated: molab has an NVIDIA RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell in public beta limited to 12 hour sessions, and has no public IP interface, with tunnelling generally blocked, so it is training only rather than serving
2026-10-22marimo.io/blog/newsletter-25not published
2026-10-22marimo.io/blog/reintroducing-molabnot published
2026-10-24docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted: 'By default, each notebook runs with 4 CPUs and 32 GB of RAM.'
2026-10-24docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted: 'You can attach an NVIDIA RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell GPU — with 96 GB of VRAM and 125 TFLOPS — to any notebook.'
2026-10-24docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted: 'Notebooks can run for as long as 12 hours before molab shuts them down. Notebooks that are idle for more than 90 minutes are automatically shut down.'
2026-10-24docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted, bold markers in the original: 'Is molab free? Yes.'
2026-10-24docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted: 'Notebooks get a limited amount of persistent storage' — persisted only through the sidebar upload or mo.persistent_cache
2026-10-24docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/quoted: 'notebooks are public but undiscoverable by default'
More fields 13
facets{"class": "enforcement","free_tier_kind": "public-preview","shape": {"vcpu": 4,"ram_gib": 32,"gpu_class": "RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell","gpu_count": 1}}
shape{"vcpu": 4,"ram_gib": 32,"disk_gib": null,"gpu_class": "NVIDIA RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell","gpu_count": 1,"note": "the GPU is opt-in per notebook and comes with 96 GB VRAM"}
billing modelfree
termnone
m10h usd0.0
m24h usd0.0
price arithmeticUSD 0.00: public preview, no card
free tier kindfree-preview
unattendedno
unattended mechanismunverified: the docs describe no scheduler and no headless submit; a 90-minute idle shutdown implies the browser session must stay active
network out{"allow_outbound": true,"allow_inbound_listen": false,"ports": "unstated","static_ip": false,"ipv6": false,"per_session_bytes": null}
session cap{"wall_clock_min": 720,"idle_reap_s": 5400,"restart_required": false,"note": "12 h maximum; 90 min idle shutdown"}
unitsRAM and disk are quoted in the vendor's own decimal GB, not GiB. The ram_gib and disk_gib keys carry the vendor's number unconverted, so where a vendor writes 30 GB the key holds 30 and the true value is about 27.9 GiB. No conversion was performed.
Unknown values 1
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

molab.marimo.ioPaaSstorage/molabJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
'Notebooks get a limited amount of persistent storage' — size deliberately undisclosed; 'Cached files are subject to limitations on file size and persistence duration, which may change at molab's discretion.'
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tier
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported2 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier'Notebooks get a limited amount of persistent storage' — size deliberately undisclosed; 'Cached files are subject to limitations on file size and persistence duration, which may change at molab's discretion.'
unit mixed; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
EgressNo published meter; notebooks are public and embeddable, so serving is expected behaviour.
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfaces3-compatible, rest rest
Toolingmarimo notebooks as Python files; server-backed preview; remote storage integrations (GDrive, HF, S3-compatible) rather than a real disk API.
Composes withPer-notebook storage only, and only for files uploaded via the sidebar or written through mo.persistent_cache. No bulk upload path, so no chaining.
ReliabilityPersistence exists but is explicitly discretionary and undocumented in size — unusable as a storage substrate, fine as a free 32 GB-RAM compute box that can fetch and re-upload.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/'Notebooks get a limited amount of persistent storage'; 'subject to limitations on file size and persistence duration'
2026-10-21docs.marimo.io/guides/molab/'4 CPUs and 32 GB of RAM' default; 12 h sessions
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "'Notebooks get a limited amount of persistent storage' — size deliberately undisclosed; 'Cached files are subject to limitations on file size and persistence duration, which may change at molab's discretion.'","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 4
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read