JetBrains AI
jetbrains.com · 4 records in Coding subscriptions, Compute, Storage · JSON
Records 4
- caveatJetBrains AI (Coding subscriptions)
Coding subscriptionsfree tieridentity cardlimit volume-quotaevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-05
- caveatJetBrains AI (Compute)
Computefree tieridentity emailno cardlimit request-rateevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-05
- fails: quotaJetBrains Student Pack (Compute)
Computefree tieridentity institutionno cardevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-22
- fails: quotajetbrains student pack (Storage)
Storageidentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
JetBrains AI (Coding subscriptions)
Coding subscriptions- Free allowance
- AI Free: USD 0 with unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs and 3 AI credits every 30 days, one AI credit being USD 1.00 of AI use, with no top-up and no rollover; paid plans are AI Pro, USD 100 a year for 10 credits every 30 days, and AI Ultimate, USD 300 a year for 35 credits every 30 days
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quotaAI Free 3 AI credits every 30 days, AI Pro 10, AI Ultimate 35; one AI credit is USD 1.00 of AI use; unused credits do not roll over; top-up credits (AI Pro and AI Ultimate only) stay valid 12 months
- Evidence
- documented44 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | AI Free: USD 0 with unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs and 3 AI credits every 30 days, one AI credit being USD 1.00 of AI use, with no top-up and no rollover; paid plans are AI Pro, USD 100 a year for 10 credits every 30 days, and AI Ultimate, USD 300 a year for 35 credits every 30 days unit credits; metered on unstated; credits are spent at the model vendor's public API rate, so the number of tasks that 3 credits buy depends on the agent and model; the page publishes no credits-per-task figure |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
AI Free has no top-up, so it ends at 3 credits a month |
| Binding | volume-quota the monthly AI credit allowance is the cap on every plan, and on AI Free it is 3 credits |
| Identity | card a JetBrains Account, created with an email address (one-time code, name and password) or a third-party login; JetBrains AI support says AI Free and AI Trial sign-up sometimes asks to link a payment card as a verification step with no charge, and the AI Pro trial asks to link a payment card; whether a card is asked for AI Free today is unverified: behind a sign-up, since the support article on it was last updated over a year before the read; AI Free is offered only in serviceable territories and inside a JetBrains IDE |
| Egress | not applicable |
| Per-object cap | not applicable: a subscription meters AI use, not objects |
| Interface | cli Junie CLI (junie, Linux, macOS and Windows) runs interactively and headless; Claude Agent, Codex, Gemini CLI and Junie also run in the AI chat of a JetBrains IDE and in the JetBrains Air app; JetBrains Central CLI connects Claude Agent, Codex, Gemini CLI and Junie CLI to the JetBrains AI subscription from a terminal |
| Tooling | the user installs Junie CLI with a curl or PowerShell install script, or a JetBrains IDE with the AI Assistant plugin, or JetBrains Central CLI; AI Free is offered in JetBrains IDEs except Android Studio, IntelliJ IDEA without Ultimate and PyCharm without Pro |
| Composes with | Junie CLI headless takes a Junie API key (usage-based billing) with --auth or a licence key with --auth-license, and JetBrains Central CLI routes Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini CLI to the JetBrains AI subscription and offers service accounts for headless and CI use; whether an AI Free or AI Pro licence qualifies for Central CLI access is not stated. Bring-your-own-key and provider-account routes (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, OpenRouter, GitHub Copilot) bypass JetBrains credits and bill the provider |
| Reliability | the JetBrains AI service stopped serving China on 2026-07-13, and Junie CLI headless mode is described on its own page as an early access program |
| Notes | AI Pro is USD 10 and AI Ultimate USD 30 a month on the monthly-billing view of the same plans; the yearly-billing view is USD 100 and USD 300 a year, and AI Ultimate adds 5 bonus credits. compute/jetbrains-ai records the same AI Free offer under the compute topic; this record is the coding-subscription view with the paid plans and the agents. |
| Evidence note | documented plans, credit counts, prices, agents, headless flags, sign-up steps and the card step are quoted from first-party pages read on 2026-11-02; Junie's JetBrains-account login in headless mode, Central CLI access for an AI Free licence, credits per task, and the current AI Free card prompt are unverified |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 44
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Free carries 3 AI credits a month |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Pro carries 10 AI credits a month |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Ultimate carries 35 AI credits a month |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Pro is priced at USD 100.00 per user per year on the yearly-billing view |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Ultimate is priced at USD 300.00 per user per year on the yearly-billing view |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscripti | AI Pro is USD 10 on the monthly view for 10 credits per 30 days |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscripti | AI Ultimate is USD 30 on the monthly view for 35 credits per 30 days |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscripti | AI Free is free with 3 credits per 30 days and no top-up |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | part of the text of Limits, above |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | credits renew every 30 days from first activation and do not roll over |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Pro and AI Ultimate can buy top-up credits valid for 12 months |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | credits are spent at public API rates for third-party models |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Ultimate includes 5 bonus credits |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | the AI Pro and AI Ultimate cards list the agents Junie, Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | the service gives access to Codex, Claude Agent, Gemini CLI and Junie |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/activate-agents.html | Junie activates through JetBrains AI or an API key |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/activate-agents.html | Claude Agent activates through JetBrains AI, an API key or an Anthropic Console account |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/activate-agents.html | Codex activates through JetBrains AI, a provider account or an API key |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/air/supported-agents.html | Junie in the Air app uses a JetBrains account login |
| 2026-11-02 | junie.jetbrains.com/docs/junie-headless.html | Junie CLI has a headless mode |
| 2026-11-02 | junie.jetbrains.com/docs/junie-headless.html | the headless page describes Junie CLI as an early access program |
| 2026-11-02 | junie.jetbrains.com/docs/junie-headless.html | headless Junie CLI needs a token |
| 2026-11-02 | junie.jetbrains.com/docs/junie-headless.html | the headless invocation takes the Junie API key with --auth and the prompt as an argument |
| 2026-11-02 | junie.jetbrains.com/docs/junie-cli.html | a Junie API key is usage-billed |
| 2026-11-02 | junie.jetbrains.com/docs/junie-cli.html | signing in with a JetBrains account spends the subscription plan |
| 2026-11-02 | junie.jetbrains.com/docs/parameters.html | a licence key can start Junie CLI |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/central-cli/cli-supported-agents-and- | service accounts for headless and CI use cover Claude Agent, Codex and Gemini CLI but not Junie CLI |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/central-cli/cli-supported-agents-and- | Central CLI bills Claude Agent, Codex, Gemini CLI and Junie CLI to the JetBrains AI subscription |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/central-cli/quickstart.html | Central CLI needs a JetBrains Account with an active AI subscription |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/central-cli/quickstart.html | a connected agent runs as its own terminal command |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Free is not offered in IntelliJ IDEA without Ultimate, PyCharm without Pro, or Android Studio |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscripti | AI Free is not part of an IDE trial licence |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscripti | AI Free and AI Ultimate are offered only in serviceable territories |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscripti | part of the text of Reliability, above |
| 2026-11-02 | sales.jetbrains.com/hc/en-gb/articles/207737419-Create-a-Jet | registration is by third-party login or by email |
| 2026-11-02 | sales.jetbrains.com/hc/en-gb/articles/207737419-Create-a-Jet | email registration verifies the address with a one-time code |
| 2026-11-02 | sales.jetbrains.com/hc/en-gb/articles/207737419-Create-a-Jet | the email route asks for a name and a password |
| 2026-11-02 | sales.jetbrains.com/hc/en-gb/articles/207240605-Do-I-need-a- | a JetBrains Account is required to try JetBrains AI |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/jetbrains-ai-subscriptio | the AI Pro trial asks for a linked payment card |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/jetbrains-ai-subscriptio | an expired trial falls back to AI Free |
| 2026-11-02 | youtrack.jetbrains.com/articles/SUPPORT-A-2340 | AI Free sign-up sometimes asks for a card |
| 2026-11-02 | youtrack.jetbrains.com/articles/SUPPORT-A-2340 | the card step is a verification for AI Free and AI Trial |
| 2026-11-02 | www.jetbrains.com/junie/ | Junie's own page says it is free to start with no card or subscription |
| 2026-11-04 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Free still lists 3 monthly AI credits |
Unknown values 2
- egress terms: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
JetBrains AI (Compute)
Compute- Free allowance
- JetBrains AI Free: "Unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs" and "3 monthly AI credits", priced "Free"; "One AI credit equals USD 1.00 of AI use (charged in your local currency)", the credits renew every 30 days and do not roll over, and "A free 30-day AI Pro trial is also available when you...
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- emailno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- request-rate3 credits a month buys almost no agent work, so the only durable free part is inline completion, which needs an IDE on a machine a user does not own.
- Evidence
- documented8 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | JetBrains AI Free: "Unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs" and "3 monthly AI credits", priced "Free"; "One AI credit equals USD 1.00 of AI use (charged in your local currency)", the credits renew every 30 days and do not roll over, and "A free 30-day AI Pro trial is also available when you first activate JetBrains AI in a JetBrains IDE." unit unlimited; metered on wall-clock; recurring-allowance |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | email no institution: the record states this AI Free plan needs none, unlike the separately recorded student and teacher pack, which is verification-gated. Beyond that the evidence says nothing about what the JetBrains account signup asks for, so whether an email alone suffices is not stated; no card is stated for the free plan and no hold exists on it |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | unlimited inline completion with no token bill is the one part that never runs out; it needs a desktop IDE, so it chains with a free remote desktop rather than with a headless server. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | compute/jetbrains-student-pack records the student and teacher route, which is verification-gated; this record is the AI Free plan, which needs no institution. One AI credit is USD 1.00 of AI use billed at public API rates, so the free plan buys USD 3.00 of model use every 30 days and inline completion is the durable free part. AI Free is not offered in IntelliJ IDEA without an Ultimate subscription, in PyCharm without a Pro subscription, or in Android Studio, so the free plan needs one of the other JetBrains IDEs. A user's own provider account or API key can be connected without a JetBrains AI subscription and does not consume JetBrains AI credits. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 8
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | the AI Free card reads unlimited AI completion, 3 monthly AI credits and Free, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.jetbrains.com/ai-ides/ | "Try JetBrains AI Pro free for one month, or connect your own agents and model providers - with no JetBrains AI subscription required." quoted |
| 2026-10-30 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | the pricing page now defines one AI credit as USD 1.00 of AI use, so the free plan's 3 credits are USD 3.00 of model use every 30 days |
| 2026-10-30 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | AI Free is excluded from IntelliJ IDEA without Ultimate, PyCharm without Pro, and Android Studio |
| 2026-10-30 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | the AI Free plan still includes three AI credits every 30 days, with unlimited completion |
| 2026-11-03 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | the AI Free plan still includes three AI credits every 30 days |
| 2026-11-03 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | one AI credit is USD 1.00 of AI use, so the free plan carries USD 3.00 of model use every 30 days |
| 2026-11-04 | www.jetbrains.com/store/ai/ | the AI Free plan still includes unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "perpetual-allowance","free_tier_kind": "recurring-allowance","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field
- Free allowance
- The Student Pack is quoted as '10 JetBrains IDEs - the full versions of IntelliJ IDEA and PyCharm, plus GoLand, PhpStorm, and others' plus a 'JetBrains AI Pro trial', verified by 'your university email address, ISIC/ITIC card, or GitHub Student Developer Pack', and 'Once your account is...
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | The Student Pack is quoted as '10 JetBrains IDEs - the full versions of IntelliJ IDEA and PyCharm, plus GoLand, PhpStorm, and others' plus a 'JetBrains AI Pro trial', verified by 'your university email address, ISIC/ITIC card, or GitHub Student Developer Pack', and 'Once your account is verified, you'll receive a pack valid for one year'. Beside it, and needing no verification: 'For students who only need one IDE for a class, a personal project, or the language they're learning - no student verification required', naming IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, CLion, WebStorm, RustRover, Rider, RubyMine and DataGrip. unit none; metered on wall-clock; perpetual |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Binding | none No compute is involved, so no technical quota binds; the only bound is that the full pack needs enrollment proof while the one-IDE routes need nothing and give less. |
| Identity | institution student status, by one of four routes the application form lists: "University email address", "ISIC/ITIC membership", "Official document" or "GitHub". The ISIC route is not a bypass, because the card is "only available to full time students", who must prove current full-time study by student ID card or a signed and dated letter on official stationery. No card, phone, hold or payment is stated, and the pack is "valid for one year" with annual renewal; the one-IDE licences need "no student verification required" but carry no compute |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The ISIC route is the interesting one because it sounds like an international card anyone can buy; the ISIC issuer's own help centre closes it, since the card itself demands dated proof of full-time enrollment. That makes the four JetBrains routes one gate, not four. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Refutation of a specific hypothesis: ISIC is not a bypass. It narrows nothing. The non-commercial IDE licence is genuinely reachable and genuinely irrelevant to compute. The JetBrains AI Pro trial is the only part with any inference value, and it is a trial. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 4
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.jetbrains.com/academy/student-pack/ | 'Verify your student status with your university email address, ISIC/ITIC card, or GitHub Student Developer Pack'; one-IDE options say 'no student verification required'; the pack is 'valid for one year' and renewed annually. |
| 2026-10-22 | www.jetbrains.com/shop/eform/v2/students | The application form offers exactly four verification routes: 'University email address', 'ISIC/ITIC membership', 'Official document', 'GitHub'. |
| 2026-10-22 | www.isic.org/support/ | The ISIC card is not an alternative to enrollment proof: 'The ISIC is only available to full time students, so you must be able to prove you are currently studying full time at school, college or university', by student ID card or 'a signed and dated letter on official university or school stationery'. |
| 2026-10-22 | sales.jetbrains.com/hc/en-gb/articles/18950890312210-The-fre | not published |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "student-pack","free_tier_kind": "perpetual","shape": null} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field
- Free allowance
- IDE licences only — no storage product of any kind.
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- not stated
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- reported1 source; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | IDE licences only — no storage product of any kind. Nothing to place bytes in. unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not recorded |
Evidence 1
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.jetbrains.com/community/education/ | the text of Free tier, above |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "IDE licences only — no storage product of any kind. Nothing to place bytes in.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- chaining: no value was recorded for this field
- egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
- retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
- tooling: no value was recorded for this field