fshy

Home

IBM Cloud

ibm.com · 9 records in Compute, Egress and tunnels, Inference, Storage · JSON

Records 9

quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overviewQuantum computecompute/ibm-quantum-openJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
The promotion is quoted: 'As of 16 March 2026, active Open Plan users can opt in to an additional 180 minutes over the next 12 months', and the blog states the precondition: 'Use 20 minutes of runtime within any 12-month period' and that the plan 'reverts back to 10 minutes/month once 12-month...
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quotaThe allowance is 10 minutes in 28 days and every circuit execution plus its transpile and queue overhead spends it, so a single variational loop exhausts a month, and the 180-minute promotion cannot be reached in under two months...
Evidence
documented6 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
Free tierThe promotion is quoted: 'As of 16 March 2026, active Open Plan users can opt in to an additional 180 minutes over the next 12 months', and the blog states the precondition: 'Use 20 minutes of runtime within any 12-month period' and that the plan 'reverts back to 10 minutes/month once 12-month period ends'.
unit minutes; metered on wall-clock; monthly-allowance
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) The allowance is 10 minutes in 28 days and every circuit execution plus its transpile and queue overhead spends it, so a single variational loop exhausts a month, and the 180-minute promotion cannot be reached in under two months because it requires 20 minutes of prior runtime. source
Identityemail not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingqiskit_ibm_runtime Python package (QiskitRuntimeService); the REST API is also called with curl or Python requests
Composes withA 10-minute-a-month QPU allowance composes with a simulator on a free CPU runner, because most of the work in a variational loop can be done on a simulator and only the final evaluation needs the hardware.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe promotion is the interesting term: 180 minutes for 12 months is 18 times the base allowance, and it is reachable by a user because the only preconditions are a non-trial account and 20 minutes of prior use. The failure is the price beyond the line: one user cites USD 96 a minute on the pay-as-you-go meter, so an overrun is not a soft stop and the 10-minute window has to be watched rather than delegated. The region restriction and the promotion are additions.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • volume-quota 10 minutes
Evidence 6
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overviewquoted: 'up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window'; 'Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region'; 'active Open Plan users can opt in to an additional 180 minutes over the next 12 months'
2026-10-22www.ibm.com/quantum/pricingOpen Plan: 'Access quantum computers for up to 10 minutes of runtime per month. Active users may be eligible to request additional time.' Price: Free, quoted
2026-10-22quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overview'Run your quantum circuits on the world's best QPUs for free (up to 10 minutes per 28-day rolling window)'; Open Plan instances can only be created in the us-east region, quoted
2026-10-22www.ibm.com/quantum/blog/open-plan-updatesquoted: 'users who use 20 minutes of runtime within any 12-month period can opt in to a special one-time promotion and get 180 minutes of runtime for the next 12 months'; 'Plan reverts back to 10 minutes/month once 12-month period ends'
2026-10-22quantumcomputing.stackexchange.com/questions/46432/do-paid-pnot published
2026-11-04quantum.cloud.ibm.com/docs/en/guides/plans-overviewthe documented Python client is qiskit_ibm_runtime
More fields 1
facets{"class": "verification","free_tier_kind": "monthly-allowance","shape": null}
Unknown values 6
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer

www.ibm.com/products/watsonx-ai/pricingInference platform with embedding and rerank APIs, monthly free token allowanceinference/ibm-watsonx-ai-freeJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Free plan (Toolbox playground): foundation-model tokens up to 300,000 per month; the embeddings and reranking APIs are listed as available on the free Lite plan
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
cardcard required, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quota300,000 foundation-model tokens per month on the Free plan; unverified whether embedding and rerank tokens count against it
Evidence
documented11 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
Free tierFree plan (Toolbox playground): foundation-model tokens up to 300,000 per month; the embeddings and reranking APIs are listed as available on the free Lite plan
unit tokens; metered on request-count; unverified: no page read says whether embedding and rerank tokens draw down the 300,000 foundation-model tokens; the embedding and reranker models are billed per token on the paid plans. Of the hosted models, slate-125m, slate-30m, all-minilm-l6-v2 and the ms-marco reranker carry a Deprecated mark; granite-embedding-278m-multilingual and multilingual-e5-large do not
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) 300,000 foundation-model tokens per month on the Free plan; unverified whether embedding and rerank tokens count against it source
  • request-rate a third-party catalogue reports 2 inference requests per second on the Lite plan; unverified at IBM source
Bindingvolume-quota 300,000 tokens a month is the stated ceiling, shared at least with foundation-model inference
Identitycard an IBM Cloud account is needed; IBM's sign-up pages state that email address, personal information and a credit card (used to verify identity) are entered at account creation, with no charge unless the account is upgraded to a billable plan and billable services are consumed; a third-party catalogue reports no payment card for the Lite plan, which IBM's pages contradict
Egressnot published
Interfacerest
Toolingwatsonx.ai REST API and Python library with a bearer token from an IBM Cloud API key and a project id; embeddings via the text embeddings method, rerank via the rerank method
Composes withthe one account also covers chat models under the same 300,000-token allowance
Reliabilityseveral hosted encoder models are marked Deprecated in the model table, among them the only listed reranker; the documentation gives a withdrawal date of June 8, 2026 for all-minilm-l6-v2
Notesthe plans page was reachable only through a provider-pinned read after the origin answered HTTP 403 to the default read
Evidence notedocumented the Free token allowance, the availability of the embeddings and reranking APIs on the Lite plan and the credit-card step of sign-up are quoted from vendor pages; the draw-down of embedding tokens and the rate limit are unverified at the vendor.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 11
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-11-03www.ibm.com/products/watsonx-ai/pricingthe Free plan includes up to 300,000 foundation-model tokens per month
2026-11-03www.ibm.com/docs/en/watsonx/saas?topic=cloud-watsonxai-studithe Lite and Professional plans share the feature list that follows, which includes the embeddings and reranking APIs
2026-11-03www.ibm.com/docs/en/watsonx/saas?topic=cloud-watsonxai-studithe text reranking API is available on the free Lite plan
2026-11-03www.ibm.com/docs/en/watsonx/saas?topic=models-supported-encogranite-embedding-278m-multilingual is a hosted embedding model with 512 input tokens and 768 dimensions
2026-11-03www.ibm.com/docs/en/watsonx/saas?topic=models-supported-encomultilingual-e5-large is a hosted embedding model with 1,024 dimensions
2026-11-03www.ibm.com/docs/en/watsonx/saas?topic=models-supported-encothe listed hosted reranker is ms-marco-minilm-l-12-v2, marked Deprecated, with 512 input tokens
2026-11-03aifree.dev/offer/ibm-watsonx-ai-lite-plana third-party catalogue reports a 2 requests per second inference limit on the Lite plan
2026-11-03aifree.dev/offer/ibm-watsonx-ai-lite-plana third-party catalogue reports that the Lite plan needs no payment card
2026-11-03www.ibm.com/docs/en/watsonx/saas?topic=tutorials-signing-up-IBM's watsonx sign-up page states that the IBM Cloud account behind watsonx asks for a credit card for identity verification
2026-11-03cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountfaqsIBM Cloud's account FAQ states that creating a new account requires a credit card for identity verification
2026-11-03dataplatform.cloud.ibm.com/docs/content/wsj/getting-started/the watsonx.ai account setup page states that a credit card is entered to create the account
Unknown values 3
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer

cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountsCloud VMcompute/ibm-cloudJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
The free page states: 'You get credit for your first USD 200 of apps and services on us.
Verdict
triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
Cost
free tier
Identity
cardcard required, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quotaUSD 200 of usage over 30 days
Evidence
documented6 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-24checked 2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
Free tierThe free page states: 'You get credit for your first USD 200 of apps and services on us. Try any IBM Cloud product with this credit, available for 30 days.' The account itself is Pay-As-You-Go from registration: 'Even though you provide your credit card information for account security and identity verification purposes, you can still use IBM Cloud for free by selecting products in the catalog that offer Free and Lite pricing plans.'
unit mixed; metered on none; the USD 200 is a 30-day offset, not a perpetual free tier
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) USD 200 of usage over 30 days source
the card is required before the balance is usable, and no catalog Free plan is a virtual server
Bindingvolume-quota the 30-day window ends the USD 200; the card is required before the balance is usable
Identitycard card required to create the account; a temporary verification hold is reversed within 24 to 72 hours, and its amount is not published on the account FAQ; debit accepted only if it is a Visa or Mastercard and not a disposable or one-time-use number, so virtual and prepaid-style cards are refused; email first, then card
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withNothing composes. The USD 200 credit on a new Pay-As-You-Go account is a 30-day trial, and it is spent on billed services rather than held as a free tier.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThis record refutes the claim that IBM Cloud offers a free account with no card and no end date: registration produces a Pay-As-You-Go account with a card, and the Lite accounts described in old tutorials are only those created before 2021-10-25. The free balance is USD 200 for 30 days. The academic trial remains the institution door. The account FAQ publishes no amount, only the 24-to-72-hour reversal, so the USD 1.00 figure is not confirmed here and is left as a dash. The card-type rule is documented and is the material one: disposable and one-time-use numbers are refused, which is how IBM phrases its prepaid and virtual exclusion.
Evidence notedocumented Payment facts re-read on 2026-10-24: the card types, the hold and the identity gate each come from a first-party page quoted in evidence[].
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 6
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountsdocs last updated 2026-04-17: registration produces a Pay-As-You-Go account with a credit card required for identity verification; Lite accounts are only those created before 25 October 2021, quoted
2026-10-22cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountsthe only card-free account is a Trial, which requires institution credentials via ibm.biz/academic and expires after 30 days
2026-10-22www.ibm.com/products/cloud/freevendor states a nominal hold of typically about USD 1.00 is placed on the card, and Lite service instances are deleted after 30 days of no development activity
2026-10-23www.ibm.com/products/cloud/free'You get credit for your first USD 200 of apps and services on us. Try any IBM Cloud product with this credit, available for 30 days.', quoted; the same page lists 40 or more always-free Lite products and five promotion codes with a 2026-12-31 expiry
2026-10-24cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountfaqsquoted: 'For identity verification, a credit card is required when you create a new account. A debit card is acceptable if it is from Visa or Mastercard, and it is not a disposable card or one-time use card number.'
2026-10-24cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountfaqsquoted, the hold: 'As part of the authorization process, you might see a temporary hold on your credit card for verification and security when creating an account. This credit card hold is reversed within 24 to 72 hours.'
More fields 5
facets{"class": "refutation-no-free-vm","free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit","shape": null}
hourly usd{"bx4_4x16_derived": 0.183208,"bx4_2x8_derived": 0.091604}
component rates{"usd_per_63_vcpu_hours": 1.7626,"usd_per_450_gb_hours": 2.0054}
rate basisderived on 2026-10-23 from IBM's component rates; no per-profile rate is published and the console estimator was not reached
payment methods{"card_at_signup": "yes","debit": "accepted-with-condition","prepaid": "refused","virtual": "refused","hold_amount": null,"hold_detail": "temporary hold reversed within 24 to 72 hours; amount not published on the page read","identity": "email, then a card used for identity verification","source_url": "https://cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?topic=account-accountfaqs","read_on": "2026-10-24"}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

Corrections

www.ibm.com/products/virtual-servers/pricingCloud VMcompute/ibm-cloud-vpcJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
No free tier: new VPC clients get 70% off for 12 months on virtual servers, block storage and file storage, and the offer expires 2026-12-31
Verdict
triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
Cost
no price stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
retention-clampedthe offer expires 2026-12-31 and is valid only for new IBM Cloud VPC clients
Evidence
documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierno free tier: new VPC clients get 70% off for 12 months on virtual servers, block storage and file storage, and the offer expires 2026-12-31
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate 70% off for 12 months for a new VPC client, then list price source
  • retention-clamped (binding) the offer expires 2026-12-31 and is valid only for new IBM Cloud VPC clients source
not stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfaceunknown
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
Evidence notedocumented the virtual servers pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and carries a discount rather than an allowance. A 12-month 70% discount is a trial by another name, so the verdict moves to trial-only and the expiry is recorded
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 0
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-02www.ibm.com/products/virtual-servers/pricingnot published
2026-10-22www.ibm.com/products/virtual-servers/pricing'IBM Cloud VPC - 70% off for 12 months. Only valid for new IBM Cloud VPC clients', covering 'Virtual Server Instances (VSI), Block Storage, and File Storage', with 'Expires 31 December 2026', quoted
More fields 8
keep rate1.0
billing modelunclassified
session cap{"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "an instance bills while it exists; the discount is the clock, not a machine"}
free tier kindtrial
granularity{"min_billed_s": 0,"rounding_s": null}
burst x1.0
ps{"gib": null,"price": "block and file storage are included in the same 70% discount","durability": "block or file storage","on_stop": true,"on_destroy": false,"retention": "while the volume exists"}
net{"out": true,"in": true,"ports": "any","static_ip": true,"ipv6": true,"allowance": "up to 80 Gbps across general-purpose profiles"}
Unknown values 10
  • chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • limits note: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

IBM Cloud (free)

Egress and tunnels

www.ibm.com/cloud/freeTrial credit (provider VM)egress/ibm-cloudJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
To receive the USD 200 credit, you first need to upgrade to a Pay-as-you-go account ...
Verdict
triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
Cost
free tier
Identity
cardcard required, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quotaUSD 200 of credit, expiry unstated on the page read
Evidence
unverified3 sources; asserted and not checked
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-19checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-11-19
Free tierTo receive the USD 200 credit, you first need to upgrade to a Pay-as-you-go account ... Your promotional credit of USD 200 is automatically applied but might take a few hours to appear in your account. The credit is available for first-time Pay-as-you-go accounts only.
unit mixed; metered on downloaded-bytes
PriceUSD 200 of credit
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) USD 200 of credit, expiry unstated on the page read source
Bindingvolume-quota the credit is the only allowance named, and neither its expiry nor the egress rate it buys was readable on the page, so what fails first at 1 TiB a month is unestablished rather than known.
Identitycard Payment details are required up front ... there will be a nominal hold placed on your card to verify its authenticity ... typically around USD 1.00.
EgressUSD 200 of credit; the egress rate it is spent against was not read, so the TB it buys is not established; ingress: udp
free allowance: none published
Interfacecli, rest the IBM Cloud CLI and the VPC API
Toolingwg-quick on the VPC instance; the IBM Cloud CLI
Composes witha 200 dollar credit that could pay for a VPC instance and its egress, if the rate and expiry turn out to be workable
ReliabilityLite-plan service instances are deleted after 30 days without development activity
NotesArithmetic is blocked on the egress rate. The credit is real and documented at USD 200, but a credit whose expiry is unstated and whose spend rate is unread cannot be converted to TiB, and inventing either number would be worse than the gap. The 40 Lite-plan products are always free and include no VM with a public IP, and the academic trial needs an accredited institution. Left open: the expiry, which IBM's own promo documentation holds; that page could not be read.
Evidence noteunverified the credit amount is documented but the two numbers the arithmetic needs, the expiry and the per-GB egress rate, were not on the page and the promo-code documentation returned HTTP 500.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • price USD 200 credit
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-23www.ibm.com/cloud/free'Your promotional credit of USD 200 is automatically applied', 'The credit is available for first-time Pay-as-you-go accounts only', 'Payment details are required up front'
2026-10-23www.ibm.com/cloud/free'After 30 days of no development activity, your service instances with Lite plans are deleted', the reliability note for anything left running
2026-11-04www.ibm.com/cloud/freea card is required at sign-up
More fields 6
wg pathnative-conf
wg detaila VPC virtual server instance with a floating IP; wg-quick binds UDP on the instance
ingressudp
volume statedUSD 200 of credit; the egress rate it is spent against was not read, so the TB it buys is not established
bytes transityes
transit noteoutbound bytes cross IBM's network and are metered against the pay-as-you-go account the credit sits on
Unknown values 2
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer

www.ibm.com/docs/en/aspera-on-cloud?topic=started-try-asperastorage/ibm-aspera-on-cloudJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Trial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
not stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported1 source; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierTrial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial. FASP's speed advantage is real but…
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot recorded
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Evidence 1
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21www.ibm.com/docs/en/aspera-on-cloud?topic=started-try-asperathe text of Free tier, above
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "Trial only and small: 30 days OR 50 GB of transfer volume, whichever comes first, and package sending to external users is disabled during the trial. FASP's speed advantage is real but…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 7
  • chaining: no value was recorded for this field
  • egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
  • per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • tooling: no value was recorded for this field

www.ibm.com/products/container-registryRegistrystorage/ibm-cloud-container-registryJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
500 MB storage and 5 GB pull traffic per month: 'Amount of storage for images | 500 MB | Unlimited', 'Pull traffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard).
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tier
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
per-ip-shapingtraffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard)
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier500 MB storage and 5 GB pull traffic per month: 'Amount of storage for images | 500 MB | Unlimited', 'Pull traffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard). Free-plan allowance confirmed in the quota doc: 'The free tier allowance for storage is 512 MB and traffic is 5120 MB.'
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • per-ip-shaping (binding) traffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard) source
512 MB storage, 5 GB pull traffic per month, per account across all namespaces in a registry instance; overage blocks push and pull entirely.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
EgressPull traffic is metered as a quota, not priced per GB on the free plan: 'Pull traffic across public connections counts toward usage and quota. Pull traffic across private connections doesn't count.' Exceed it and access stops — 'If you exceed your storage or pull traffic limits, you cannot push or pull images to and from your namespace.'
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfaceoci, cli oci
Toolingibmcloud cr CLI, docker/skopeo. OCI distribution spec compliant.
Composes withNone — 512 MB is per IBM Cloud account and the overage behaviour is a hard stop, not a bill.
ReliabilityHard cutoff on quota rather than overage billing, so a bulk workload simply stops mid-transfer.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • per-ip-shaping 5 GB / month
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21cloud.ibm.com/docs/Registry?topic=Registry-registry_overviewFree plan 500 MB storage / 5 GB pull traffic; 'you cannot push or pull images' on exceed
2026-10-21cloud.ibm.com/docs/Registry?topic=Registry-registry_quota'free tier allowance for storage is 512 MB and traffic is 5120 MB'
2026-10-21us.icr.io/v2/probe: GET -> 401, Server: IBM Cloud Container Registry, realm https://us.icr.io/oauth/token
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "500 MB storage and 5 GB pull traffic per month: 'Amount of storage for images | 500 MB | Unlimited', 'Pull traffic | 5 GB per month | Unlimited' (Free vs Standard). Free-plan allowance confirmed in the quota doc: 'The free tier allowance for storage is 512 MB and traffic is 5120 MB.'","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 4
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read

www.ibm.com/products/cloud/freestorage/ibm-cloud-object-storage-lite-plan-as-a-storage-tierJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months).
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
not stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported2 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierThe Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any…
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot recorded
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21www.ibm.com/products/cloud/freethe text of Free tier, above
2026-10-21cloud.ibm.com/docs/cloud-object-storage?topic=cloud-object-scited as the basis of the rejection: The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any IB
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "retention","why": "The Lite plan is always-free and never expires, but the published storage allowance belongs to the Standard plan Free Tier (5 GB for 12 months). No Lite storage quota was published on any…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 7
  • chaining: no value was recorded for this field
  • egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
  • per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • tooling: no value was recorded for this field

www.ibm.com/products/cloud/free/storageIaaSstorage/ibm-cloud-object-storage-standard-plan-free-tierJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
5 GB/month of Smart Tier storage, 2,000 Class A + 20,000 Class B requests, 10 GB/month retrieval, 5 GB/month egress — for 12 months.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tier
Identity
card?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
retention-clampeddeleted after 30 days
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier5 GB/month of Smart Tier storage, 2,000 Class A + 20,000 Class B requests, 10 GB/month retrieval, 5 GB/month egress — for 12 months. The separate Lite plan (always-free, never expires) does not carry a published storage allowance on the current pages.
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • retention-clamped (binding) deleted after 30 days source
5 GB storage / 5 GB egress / 12 months. Reaching any quota 'suspends the service for that month'. Lite-plan instances are deleted after 30 days of no development activity.
Identitycard (placeholder) inferred from the category 'iaas'; the source record states no identity cost, so this is a class assumption, not evidence
Egress5 GB/month egress inside the Free Tier; beyond that it is metered per GB. Not free egress at any useful scale.
free allowance: 5 GB per month
Per-object capnot stated
RetentionLite-plan instances are deleted after 30 days of no development activity. (30 days)
Interfaces3-compatible, rclone s3
ToolingIBM COS S3 API — rclone 's3' provider name 'IBM COS S3'; HMAC or IAM keys; pre-signed URLs (docs note the UI does not generate them, use Cyberduck/clients).
Composes withOne Lite instance per service per org; quota limits are per ORG, not per instance ('New instances that are created in the same org reflect any usage from previous instances'), which deliberately blocks instance multiplication inside an org.
ReliabilityService suspends at quota rather than billing overage — no surprise bills, but no headroom either. Lite instances vanish after 30 idle days.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21cloud.ibm.com/objectstorage/create'Free Tier allowance: Storage up to 5GB/month ... Up to 5GB/month of egress'
2026-10-21cloud.ibm.com/docs/cloud-object-storage?topic=cloud-object-s'5GB of free monthly usage for up to 12 months from the sign-up date'
2026-10-21www.ibm.com/products/cloud/free'After 30 days of no development activity, your service instances with Lite plans are deleted'; 'Quota limits are per org, not per instance'
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "retention","why": "5 GB/month of Smart Tier storage, 2,000 Class A + 20,000 Class B requests, 10 GB/month retrieval, 5 GB/month egress — for 12 months. The separate Lite plan (always-free, never expires) does not carry a published storage allowance on the current pages.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 3
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read