Hoplite
- Free allowance
- Free plan at $0 a month: 'Run agents yourself, with a monthly usage allowance.
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- cardcard required, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- write-gatedthe Free plan allows 5 concurrent cloud sessions and 5 projects; at a usage limit work pauses until the limit resets or credits are added
- Evidence
- documented20 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
| Free tier | Free plan at $0 a month: 'Run agents yourself, with a monthly usage allowance. Nothing charged.'; 5 concurrent cloud sessions and 5 projects; the allowance is drawn in credits, one credit being US$1 of usage; its dollar size is not published, and Free also has a daily limit unit credits; metered on wall-clock; The allowance's dollar size is not published: 'Billing displays included usage as a percentage on every plan, including trials, rather than disclosing its dollar size.' Only part of it is usable per UTC day. Free sandboxes are clamped to Small (2 vCPU, 8 GiB, USD 0.16 an hour at the credit rate). https://hoplite.sh itself states no allowance. |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
not stated |
| Identity | card The Free plan needs a card that is not charged: a new workspace's signup opens a Stripe setup checkout for a billing address and card, and prepaid cards are not accepted. Repository access is through a GitHub App installation. Whether a phone number is asked is unverified: the public pages do not say. |
| Egress | not stated |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Interface | rest, cli a REST API described by an OpenAPI specification, authenticated with a scoped API key sent as X-Api-Key or Bearer; an MCP server at https://api.hoplite.sh/mcp behind OAuth; a CLI published on npm as @usehoplite/cli |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Evidence note | documented the pricing page, the billing documentation and the site index were read on 2026-10-30: they publish the Free plan with a monthly allowance of undisclosed size, the card requirement, the sandbox rates and the access interfaces |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 20
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-02 | hoplite.sh | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | hoplite.sh | the site was read on 2026-10-22 and describes cloud coding agents whose threads work in isolated development environments, with a CLI that imports local history; it publishes no plan, price or free tier |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/pricing | the Free plan at USD 0 carries a monthly usage allowance |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/pricing | usage beyond the allowance is drawn in credits of US$1 each, at token and sandbox rates |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | the dollar size of the included allowance is not published |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | a Free sandbox is at most the Small size |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | the Small sandbox is 2 vCPU and 8 GiB at USD 0.16 an hour |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | the Free allowance has a per-UTC-day ceiling |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/pricing | the Free plan requires a card, which is not charged |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | signup saves a card and a billing address without charging them |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | a prepaid card does not pass the Free-plan card gate |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh | repository access needs a GitHub App installation |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/pricing | work stops at a usage limit until it resets or credits are added; the same page lists 5 concurrent cloud sessions and 5 projects for Free |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/llms.txt | Hoplite publishes an OpenAPI contract for its API |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/llms.txt | the API takes a scoped API key as X-Api-Key or Bearer |
| 2026-10-30 | hoplite.sh/llms.txt | a CLI is published on npm and Homebrew |
| 2026-11-03 | hoplite.sh/pricing | the Free plan card carries a monthly usage allowance and no charge |
| 2026-11-03 | hoplite.sh/pricing | Free has a daily limit besides the monthly included usage; the page gives no dollar size for either |
| 2026-11-03 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | the Free monthly allowance is stated in credits, with a five-project limit |
| 2026-11-03 | hoplite.sh/docs/workspace/billing | neither the monthly allowance nor the daily ceiling is published in dollars; billing shows a percentage |
More fields 4
| keep rate basis | no field in the source |
|---|---|
| billing model | unclassified |
| session cap | {"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "a thread runs in an isolated environment; the page states no clock"} |
| free tier kind | allowance |
Unknown values 9
- chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- limits note: a source was read and is silent on this field
- per object cap stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field