Heroku
heroku.com · 3 records in Compute, Egress and tunnels · JSON
Records 3
- caveatHeroku Open Source
Computefree tieridentity cardlimit write-gatedevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-05
- paidHeroku (Compute)
Computeidentity cardlimit write-gatedevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-24
- paidHeroku (free)
Egress and tunnelsidentity cardlimit volume-quotaevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-23
Heroku Open Source
Compute- Free allowance
- 'one year of platform credits to qualifying Open Source Software projects hosted on Heroku', paid as 'a set credit allocation every month for 12 months', usable on 'Heroku Dynos, Heroku Postgres, and Heroku Key-Value Store'.
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedThe account must be verified with a credit or debit card before applying and any monthly overage bills the card; the allocation is set by Salesforce and unused credit is forfeited monthly.
- Evidence
- documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | 'one year of platform credits to qualifying Open Source Software projects hosted on Heroku', paid as 'a set credit allocation every month for 12 months', usable on 'Heroku Dynos, Heroku Postgres, and Heroku Key-Value Store'. Salesforce 'will determine the credit allocation amount based on project need and use', so no figure is published. unit none; metered on wall-clock; recurring-credit |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | card a card is required before applying: the programme page states the account must be verified with a credit or debit card before applying and any monthly overage bills that card, so a debit card is accepted alongside credit. No hold or authorisation amount is stated, whether prepaid cards are accepted is not stated, and the programme adds a second gate — "you must be a maintainer on the open source software project and its supporting infra must run or intend to run on Heroku" |
| Egress | network bandwidth is soft limited at 2TB per app per month; no per-GB overage price is published on the limits page read free allowance: 2TB per app per month (soft limit) |
| Interface | cli, rest the Heroku CLI and the Heroku Platform API |
| Tooling | the Heroku CLI (macOS, Windows, Linux) and the Platform API reachable with curl and a token |
| Composes with | Dynos plus Postgres plus Key-Value store on one monthly allocation covers a small always-on service with state, which is the piece most free student and OSS tiers leave out: a database that survives the free tier ending. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The gate that matters is directional: the project must run or intend to run on Heroku, so this does not pay for a workload hosted elsewhere. Heroku still sells dynos, so this is a live programme rather than a legacy one. Amount is null by design, not by omission: the terms hand the allocation to Salesforce. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 5
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.heroku.com/open-source-credit-program/ | quoted the 12-month monthly allocation, the covered products, 'Any unused portion of the monthly credit allocation is forfeited', the card-verification requirement, the monthly review cadence, and 'The program is open people globally' |
| 2026-10-22 | www.heroku.com/open-source-credit-program/ | quoted 'you must be a maintainer on the open source software project and its supporting infra must run or intend to run on Heroku' |
| 2026-11-03 | devcenter.heroku.com/articles/limits | platform network bandwidth is soft limited at 2TB per app per month |
| 2026-11-03 | devcenter.heroku.com/articles/heroku-cli | a CLI manages apps |
| 2026-11-03 | devcenter.heroku.com/articles/limits | a Platform API exists with a stated rate limit |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "vendor-oss-credits","free_tier_kind": "recurring-credit","shape": null} |
|---|
Unknown values 3
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
Heroku (Compute)
Compute- Free allowance
- No free dyno: the pricing page prices dynos as containers with no USD 0 row
- Verdict
- paidno free allowance; listed for its price
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedno free dyno on the pricing page
- Evidence
- documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-24checked 2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
| Free tier | no free dyno: the pricing page prices dynos as containers with no USD 0 row unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
not stated |
| Binding | write-gated there is no free tier to exhaust. |
| Identity | card a card for a paid dyno; the Student Developer Pack alternative requires enrolment in a degree- or diploma-granting programme |
| Egress | not stated on the pricing page read |
| Per-object cap | not applicable: nothing free |
| Interface | unknown |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The accurate verdict for the free-tier question is paid-only: there is no free dyno at any identity level, and the student pack is a credit programme, not a tier. This is a verdict change the parent should carry into history. |
| Evidence note | documented the pricing page was read and lists dynos, data services and AI without a free row; prices render dynamically and are not quoted |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 4
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-02 | www.heroku.com/pricing/ | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | www.heroku.com/pricing/ | 'Seamlessly sync data between Heroku Postgres and Salesforce with Heroku Connect. Start free with the Demo Edition.' quoted; the page carries no free dyno and no free tier |
| 2026-10-22 | www.heroku.com/github-students/ | 'If you are registered with the GitHub Student Developer Pack, you are eligible to receive platform credits worth $13 per month for 24 months (for a total value of $312)', quoted; the Gate is the Student Developer Pack, whose own requirements state the applicant must be 'enrolled in a degree- or diploma-granting program' and 'provide documents that prove your current student status' |
| 2026-10-24 | www.heroku.com/pricing/ | quoted: 'Dynos are the heart of every Heroku app—lightweight, isolated containers that handle your code, dependencies, and scaling', with no free plan or free dyno row on the page |
More fields 8
| keep rate | 1.0 |
|---|---|
| billing model | monthly |
| shape | {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"disk_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null} |
| session cap | {"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "a dyno runs until stopped or scaled to zero"} |
| free tier kind | none |
| granularity | {"min_billed_s": 0,"rounding_s": null} |
| term | monthly |
| price arithmetic | not computed: dyno prices render through a client-side widget and no figure appears in the text read |
Unknown values 6
- chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- interface: the access interface was not established
- limits note: a source was read and is silent on this field
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field
Corrections
- 2026-10-22 Corrected on 2026-10-22: compute/e2e-networks, compute/heroku, compute/thunder-compute
Heroku (free)
Egress and tunnels- Free allowance
- As of November 28th, 2022, Heroku is no longer offering free dynos, hobby-dev Heroku Postgres, or hobby-dev Heroku Data for Redis plans.
- Verdict
- paidno free allowance; listed for its price
- Cost
- no price statedsee Price below
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quotano free dynos since 2022-11-28
- Evidence
- documented1 source; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-23checked 2026-10-23 (live); stale on 2026-11-23
| Free tier | As of November 28th, 2022, Heroku is no longer offering free dynos, hobby-dev Heroku Postgres, or hobby-dev Heroku Data for Redis plans. unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | USD 0 |
| Limits |
|
| Binding | volume-quota Nothing is provisionable without payment, so no byte is ever free. |
| Identity | card A paid account with a payment method; free dynos were withdrawn. |
| Egress | No free tier since 2022-11-28; the cheapest dyno is Eco, a paid plan.; ingress: http-only free allowance: No free tier since 2022-11-28; the cheapest dyno is Eco, a paid plan. |
| Interface | cli, git Heroku CLI, git push deploys, and the Platform API. |
| Tooling | Heroku CLI and git push. |
| Composes with | Not free; no endpoint. |
| Reliability | None applicable; no free dyno exists. |
| Notes | Kept because a reader will ask. Four years after the withdrawal the free tier has not returned. |
| Evidence note | documented The changelog page body was read's index of that URL, because a direct render returned the navigation only; the sentence is first-party and dated 2022-11-28. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 1
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-23 | devcenter.heroku.com/changelog-items/2502 | "As of November 28th, 2022, Heroku is no longer offering free dynos"; existing free dynos converted to eco and scaled to 0 |
More fields 7
| wg path | none |
|---|---|
| wg detail | No UDP path at any price on the public runtime; dynos receive HTTP through the router, and raw TCP is a Private Spaces feature. |
| ingress | http-only |
| volume tib month | 0 |
| volume stated | No free tier since 2022-11-28; the cheapest dyno is Eco, a paid plan. |
| bytes transit | no |
| transit note | Heroku's router terminates HTTP. |
Unknown values 2
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer