fshy

Home

fal

fal.ai · 4 records in Compute, Storage · JSON

Records 4

fal.ai/grantsGPU cloudcompute/fal-research-grantsJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Free compute on fal's inference platform.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedthe award has no published amount, cap, duration or expiry, so the only thing bounding it is a discretionary reply to an email.
Evidence
documented7 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
Free tierFree compute on fal's inference platform. The eligibility sentence, quoted: 'The fal Research Grants program is open to anyone passionate about advancing AI through open source projects. [...] No formal degree is required - your ideas and dedication are what matter most.' The page states '$50k' as the 'average grant check' and gives no amount for an individual award. The route is an email to grants@fal.ai with a project description, goals, and 'any relevant work or GitHub repositories'.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) the award has no published amount, cap, duration or expiry, so the only thing bounding it is a discretionary reply to an email. source
Identityemail not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe grant is platform credit, so it composes only with fal's own models; it is a supplement for an inference-heavy step, not a training allowance. fal Serverless GPU price list on the pricing page, separate from the grant (whether grant credit applies to Serverless GPUs is not stated): H100 80GB at $4.50/h list price and $2.49/h in the 'As low as' column ($0.00125/s and $0.000692/s), billed per second while a runner is alive, with no minimum bill stated; the page does not say what 'As low as' requires. RTX PRO 6000 96GB, H200, B200, GB200 and B300 are listed; A100, L40S, L4 and GeForce cards are not listed.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesRecorded for the door rather than the number, and it is honest to say so: the page states an average grant of $50k and no per-award amount, so the finding ranks only on the average. What makes it worth a line is the explicit removal of the degree requirement in a class where nearly every other program gates on it, plus the fact that the application is an email rather than a form. The page also states $2m in total grants and two named testimonials. Whether the credits are GPU-seconds on fal's inference endpoints or spend on the platform is not stated, and that distinction decides whether a training run is possible at all - it probably is not, which is the caveat.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 7
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22fal.ai/grants'open to anyone passionate about advancing AI through open source projects'; 'simply reach out to us at grants@fal.ai'; quoted; page 200
2026-10-22fal.ai/grantsthe page publishes no amount, no duration and no expiry; the only evidence of awards is two named testimonials (for the Moondream and BiRefNet projects), which show the program paid out to identifiable people but carry no figure
2026-11-03fal.ai/grantsthe grants page states $50k as the average grant check
2026-11-03fal.ai/grantsthe grants page shows $2m as the total grants
2026-11-03fal.ai/pricingthe pricing page lists H100 80GB at $4.50/h list and $2.49/h as low as, per second prices $0.00125 and $0.000692
2026-11-03fal.ai/pricingfal Serverless GPUs are billed per second while a runner is alive; no minimum bill appears on the page
2026-11-03fal.ai/grantsthe application route is an email to grants@fal.ai
More fields 1
facets{"class": "research-credit","free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

fal

Compute

fal.ai/pricingGPU cloudcompute/falJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
none
Verdict
paidno free allowance; listed for its price
Cost
no price stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
write-gatedno machine to rent and no free tier: the product answers model calls, so capacity is per request
Evidence
documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tiernot published
unit none; metered on wall-clock
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate per-second and per-token model rates, from $0.007 per 1,000 tokens to $1.20 per million tokens on the rows shown source
  • write-gated (binding) no machine to rent and no free tier: the product answers model calls, so capacity is per request source
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot stated
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot stated
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
Evidence notedocumented the pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and carries per-second and per-token model rates. There is no free tier and no machine to rent, so the verdict moves to paid-only on the correct grounds: this is an inference API, not compute
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 0
  • request-rate 1000 tokens
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-02fal.ai/pricingnot published
2026-10-22fal.ai/pricingthe pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and is a model price table: 'FLUX 3 Max, seconds, $0.085, $0.425' and similar per-second and per-token rates. It prices inference, not machines, and states no free tier
More fields 4
keep rate basisno field in the source
billing modelunclassified
session cap{"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "the unit is a second of generated video or a token; there is no session"}
free tier kindnone
Unknown values 9
  • chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

fal.ai

Storage

fal.ai/pricingstorage/fal-aiJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Same shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a…
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
not stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported2 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierSame shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a…
unit none; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot recorded
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21fal.ai/pricingthe text of Free tier, above
2026-10-21docs.fal.ai/model-apis/model-endpoints/storagecited as the basis of the rejection: Same shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a retention
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "retention","why": "Same shape as Replicate and worse-documented for storage: the platform is per-second GPU billing for model APIs and Serverless deploys, with a 'fal CDN' for request media that is a…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 7
  • chaining: no value was recorded for this field
  • egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
  • per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • tooling: no value was recorded for this field

fal.aiPaaSstorage/fal-ai-persistent-data-volumeJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
No published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
not stated
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
per-object-cap100 GB per file
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierNo published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them. Runner shutdown does not delete these files.' Capacity is bounded only by what you pay to keep a runner alive; there is no free storage allowance and no documented ceiling.
unit none; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • per-object-cap (binding) 100 GB per file source
  • write-gated approval (request at fal source
per-object-cap is upload-method-dependent (this is the useful part): fal files upload CLI ~100 GB per file (10 MB parts, max 10,000 parts); dashboard drag-and-drop 1 GB; upload-from-URL 5 GB and must complete in 10 minutes; POST /serverless/files/file/local/{path} ~4.5 MB per request; writes from inside a running app are exempt ('Not subject to these limits. The runner writes straight to the volume'). Retention: indefinite, self-managed. Billing: you are billed per second for every runner state except PENDING, DOCKER_PULL and TERMINATED — SETUP and IDLE are both billed, so holding storage open costs GPU-time.
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
EgressNOT free and NOT anonymous: '/data' files are 'not URL-accessible' — there is no public download URL, so the egress question does not arise. Bulk in/out is via fal files CLI or the REST storage API.
Per-object cap100 GB per file (100000000000 bytes)
RetentionNo published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them
Interfacerest, cli rest
Toolingfal Python CLI (fal files upload/download/list/remove), @fal-ai/client JS storage API, fal.download_file(url, target_dir='/data/...') in-app. Chunked at 4 MB into a global object store; parallel reads hit a distributed cache (docs claim 6-8 GB/s distributed, 10-15 GB/s local NVMe).
Composes withNot a free-storage chain — it is a paid-compute chain.
ReliabilityServerless access is gated by per-account approval (request at fal.ai/dashboard/serverless-get-started), so this is not a self-serve multiplier. Docs warn that streaming a multi-GB artifact in small chunks to /data is much slower than one bulk copy.
Parsed numbers
  • per-object-cap 100 GB
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21fal.ai/docs/documentation/development/use-persistent-storage'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments'; no quota stated
2026-10-21fal.ai/docs/documentation/development/file-storageupload size table: CLI ~100 GB, dashboard 1 GB, from-URL 5 GB/10 min, local API ~4.5 MB
2026-10-21fal.ai/docs/documentation/serverless/pricingbilled states table (SETUP/IDLE/RUNNING billed; PENDING/DOCKER_PULL not)
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "dead-service","why": "No published byte quota on the /data volume — the docs state only 'Files written to /data persist between requests, across runner restarts, and across deployments' and 'Files you write there persist until you delete them. Runner shutdown does not delete these files.' Capacity is bounded only by what you pay to keep a runner alive; there is no free storage allowance and no documented ceiling.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 2
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read