fshy

Home

FABRIC testbed

fabric-testbed.net · 2 records in Compute, Storage · JSON

Records 2

FABRIC

Compute

portal.fabric-testbed.net/about/about-fabricGPU cloudcompute/fabricJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
FABRIC is an NSF-funded instrument of 29 sites across commercial collocation, national laboratories and campuses, connecting configurable compute with SmartNICs, GPUs, FPGAs and NVMe, plus P4-programmable switches at selected sites.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedThe documented sign-up route is an institutional login through CILogon, and access to resources additionally requires membership of an active FABRIC project; ORCID, Google, GitHub and Microsoft are named as possible identity providers...
Evidence
documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierFABRIC is an NSF-funded instrument of 29 sites across commercial collocation, national laboratories and campuses, connecting configurable compute with SmartNICs, GPUs, FPGAs and NVMe, plus P4-programmable switches at selected sites. Experimenters build project-scoped slices of virtual machines, network services and storage across sites, through the portal, a JupyterHub, or the FABlib API.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; unmetered-experiment-slices
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) The documented sign-up route is an institutional login through CILogon, and access to resources additionally requires membership of an active FABRIC project; ORCID, Google, GitHub and Microsoft are named as possible identity providers but the teaching materials say they "might require extra approvals" without naming the approver or the criteria. source
Identityinstitution an institutional login through CILogon: the signup guide states 'Currently, FABRIC requires the use of your institutional login via CI Logon. Using other options like Google, GitHub, Microsoft, or ORCID might require extra approvals and should be avoided whenever possible', and resource access additionally needs 'membership in an active FABRIC project'. The portal's identity-provider dropdown defaults to ORCID, which anyone can register for, so whether an ORCID signup completes without staff approval is unverified. No card, hold, debit or prepaid term is stated.
Egressnot stated
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withFABRIC composes with an ACCESS allocation for anything compute-heavy, because it supplies the programmable network and SmartNIC hardware that Jetstream2 and the OSPool do not, and its API means a slice can be created from a script rather than a portal session.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesContradictory evidence, recorded rather than smoothed. The portal defaults to ORCID, which anyone can register for free and which would make this reachable with an email-level identity; the teaching materials say institutional login is required and that ORCID needs extra approval. No page read names the approval criteria or the person who grants it, so the weaker verdict is recorded. Per-slice core and node ceilings are not published on the pages read, so the shape fields are null; FABRIC is an instrument for experiments rather than a batch queue, so a core-hour figure would be the wrong unit even if it existed.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 5
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22portal.fabric-testbed.net/about/about-fabric29 sites of equipment at commercial collocation spaces, national laboratories and campuses, quoted
2026-10-22support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/fabricFABRIC provides compute and storage with SmartNICs, GPUs, FPGAs and NVMe; "Specialized components such as GPUs, FPGAs, SmartNICs, NVMe devices, or programmable switches may require additional project permissions and are subject to site availability", quoted
2026-10-22github.com/fabric-testbed/teaching-materials/blob/main/Aditi"Currently, FABRIC requires the use of your institutional login via CI Logon. Using other options like Google, GitHub, Microsoft, or ORCID might require extra approvals and should be avoided whenever possible", quoted
2026-10-22support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/fabric"Access to testbed resources also requires membership in an active FABRIC project", quoted
2026-10-22teaching-on-testbeds.github.io/hello-fabric/the portal's identity provider dropdown defaults to ORCID, and the instructions say to change it to a university affiliation, quoted
More fields 1
facets{"class": "open-science-grid","free_tier_kind": "unmetered-experiment-slices","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}}
Unknown values 6
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

portal.fabric-testbed.net/Research testbed distributed compute + 0.5 1 PB file storagestorage/fabric-testbedJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
VMs up to 64 cores / 384 GB RAM with directly attached NVMe, GPUs, SmartNICs; 'large storage volumes'; facility holds 'between 1/2 and 1PB of file storage space' for experiment data, plus experiment-attached block storage
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierVMs up to 64 cores / 384 GB RAM with directly attached NVMe, GPUs, SmartNICs; 'large storage volumes'; facility holds 'between 1/2 and 1PB of file storage space' for experiment data, plus experiment-attached block storage
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • per-ip-shaping 1 Gbps source
  • retention-clamped expire in 6 months source
Slices have 'a finite lifetime, but can typically be extended before they expire'. Management plane is rate-limited to ~1 Gbps and 'has traffic filtering rules to prevent hosting Internet-facing services' - so you cannot serve from the control network, only from experiment links. Identity is CILogon/InCommon R&S, i.e. an institutional IdP. Bastion keys expire in 6 months, sliver keys in 2 years.
Identityinstitution institution
Egressfree; on-demand 25-100 Gbps inter-site links, public IPv4/IPv6 peering, Internet2 100 Gbps cloud peering
Per-object capnot stated
RetentionBastion keys expire in 6 months, sliver keys in 2 years. (180 days)
Interfacessh, cli fablib Python API, JupyterHub, portal; ssh via bastion.fabric-testbed.net
Toolingfablib, FABRIC CLI, Jupyter notebooks with preloaded tokens
Composes withslice with NVMe + block storage; the management plane is explicitly not a data path
ReliabilityExplicitly 'experimental and no production'; not expected to provide production-grade reliability.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21learn.fabric-testbed.net/knowledge-base/frequently-asked-sta'The facility has between 1/2 and 1PB of file storage space'; VMs 'with storage in the form of dedicated NVMe drives and slower, but larger persistent block storage'; 'The portal and Jupyter Hub use federated identity through CI Logon and support any institutional identity provider that is part of InCommon R&S'
2026-10-21learn.fabric-testbed.net/knowledge-base/things-to-know-when-'Management plane is rate-limited to about 1Gbps ... has traffic filtering rules to prevent hosting Internet-facing services and should not be used as part of experiment data flows'; 'Slices have a finite lifetime'
2026-10-21learn.fabric-testbed.net/knowledge-base/frequently-asked-stainternational nodes exist at CERN, University of Amsterdam, Bristol, Tokyo, but framed as partner facilities, not individual access
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "VMs up to 64 cores / 384 GB RAM with directly attached NVMe, GPUs, SmartNICs; 'large storage volumes'; facility holds 'between 1/2 and 1PB of file storage space' for experiment data, plus experiment-attached block storage","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 3
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read