PRACE
eurohpc-ju.europa.eu · 7 records in Compute, Storage · JSON
Records 7
- fails: identityEuroHPC AI Factories
Computefree tieridentity institutionno cardlimit write-gatedevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-22
- fails: identityEuroHPC JU Benchmark
Computefree tieridentity institutionno cardlimit write-gatedevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-22
- fails: identityEuroHPC JU Regular Access (LUMI, Leonardo, MareNostrum 5, JUPITER)
Storagefree tieridentity institution?card?evidence documentedstale on 2026-12-05
- fails: quotaeu ai factories — playground access
Storageidentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- fails: quotaeurohpc benchmark access (as a storage route)
Storageidentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- fails: quotaeurohpc ju benchmark access as a storage route
Storageidentity email?card?evidence reportedstale on 2026-11-05
- deadPRACE
Computeidentity anonymousno cardevidence documentedchecked 2026-10-22
EuroHPC AI Factories
Compute- Free allowance
- Fast Lane access offers up to 50,000 GPU hours for a maximum of three months, with approval within four working days on a rolling first-in-first-out basis and expert support from the hosting AI Factory; Playground access sits below it for entry-level users.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedThe call requires the applicant organisation to prove its status with a valid VAT number and a Participant Identification Code, and requires the PI to hold an employment contract in that organisation, which excludes a person with no...
- Evidence
- documented12 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | Fast Lane access offers up to 50,000 GPU hours for a maximum of three months, with approval within four working days on a rolling first-in-first-out basis and expert support from the hosting AI Factory; Playground access sits below it for entry-level users. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; fast-turnaround allocation |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | institution not published |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | Playground access is explicitly pitched as the way to gather the technical data that a Fast Lane or Large Scale application needs, so the two tiers form a ladder from a small test to 50,000 GPU hours, provided the applicant is a company. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | This is the largest single GPU-hour number found that is not gated on peer-reviewed science: 50,000 GPU hours, four working days, no competitive selection. The binding constraint here is not the industry framing, it is the VAT number and PIC, which is the concrete thing a single person lacks. The Playground per-application GPU-hour cap is published only in a system table that did not render, so it is null here. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 12
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/ai-factories/ai-factories-access-mo | 'requiring up to 50,000 GPU hours for a maximum of 3 months' with approval within 4 working days on FIFO, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/document/download/bd7aa666-bdf3-443 | 'The status of the organization will need to be proven by providing the valid organization VAT number and, if applicable, the Participant Identification Code (PIC)', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/document/download/bd7aa666-bdf3-443 | 'the Principal Investigator has an employment contract in the organisation at the time of proposal submission and valid for at least 3 months after the end of the allocation period', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/ai-factories/ai-factories-access-mo | 'The Industrial Innovation Access modes are open and free-of-charge to AI SMEs (including startups) for innovation purposes', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/large-scale-access-ai-factories_en | 'For More than 50,000 GPU hours'; 'Access is granted within 10 working days from cut-off date'; allocations for 3, 6 or 12 months, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/large-scale-access-ai-factories_en | deadline model multiple cut-off, roughly two per month from 30 Jan 2026 through 4 Jan 2027, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | lumi-supercomputer.eu/technical-guide-for-compute-proposals/ | 'Your organization must be a startup, SME or other industrial organization. AI for Industrial Innovation calls are not open for academic use or public sector organizations'; 'Your organization must have a valid VAT number'; 'must be incorporated in a Horizon 2020 country', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | lumi-ai-factory.eu/large-scale-access-to-lumi-ai-factory/ | LUMI AI Factory Large Scale gives 'over 50.000 GPU hours, up to 1 year' free of charge for eligible companies, reported by the hosting entity |
| 2026-10-22 | lumi-supercomputer.eu/technical-guide-for-compute-proposals/ | AI Factory call table: Playground '<= 5,000' GPU hours, Fast Lane '5,001 - 50,000', Large Scale '> 50,000', published by the LUMI hosting entity |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/playground-access-ai-factories_en | 'Applications will be processed in the order they are received. There is no competitive selection process and access can be granted within two working days'; allocations for 1, 2 or 3 months, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/ai-factories/faqs-ai-factories_en | 'The AI Factories for Industrial Innovation call is open for applicants coming from industrial sector only'; 'Access time offered via the EUROHPC JU access calls is free of charge', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | lumi-ai-factory.eu/pricing-and-eligibility/ | 'Please note that individual persons or temporary teams are not entitled to our services', quoted |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "national-hpc","free_tier_kind": "fast-turnaround allocation","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": "system-dependent (LUMI MI250X, JUPITER GH200, Leonardo A100, MareNostrum 5 H100)","gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field
EuroHPC JU Benchmark
Compute- Free allowance
- A continuously open call with monthly cut-offs, giving a limited number of node hours for code scalability tests or AI application tests before applying for Regular or Extreme Scale access; the maximum allocation period is three months, with a maximum time-to-resources-access of two to three weeks.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedThe benchmark tier is the cheapest door in the EuroHPC stack, but it is still awarded through a proposal evaluated by the Access Resource Committee, and the call text targets researchers and HPC application developers established in an...
- Evidence
- documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | A continuously open call with monthly cut-offs, giving a limited number of node hours for code scalability tests or AI application tests before applying for Regular or Extreme Scale access; the maximum allocation period is three months, with a maximum time-to-resources-access of two to three weeks. unit hours; metered on wall-clock; exploratory / benchmark allocation |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | institution not published |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | The benchmark result is designed to feed a Regular or Extreme Scale proposal, so the tier's real value is the scaling data it produces, not the node hours. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The maximum node-hour figure per system is not stated in the call body; the page says the exact amount is subject to the systems participating in each cut-off. A number here would be invented, so it is null. The eligibility sentence comes from the Regular Access page, whose terms the benchmark call shares; the benchmark call's own information-for-applicants PDF was not opened, so the precise benchmark eligibility wording is one step removed and is the thing to check if a reconciler wants this rung raised. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 4
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark | 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark | deadline model multiple cut-off with monthly dates from 1 Jan 2026 to 31 Dec 2033, quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark | 'a first-come-first-serve principle will be applied and proposals will be awarded according to the available monthly quota of resources', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-a | Regular Access meta description: 'Researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities, and industry established or located in an EU Member State or in a country associated with Horizon 2020 can apply'… |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "national-hpc","free_tier_kind": "exploratory / benchmark allocation","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": "system-dependent (LUMI MI250X, JUPITER GH200, Leonardo A100)","gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field
- Free allowance
- LUMI-O object storage: 150 TB default quota per project, expandable up to 2.1 PB, retained for the project lifetime, billing rate 0.25x.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institution?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented8 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | LUMI-O object storage: 150 TB default quota per project, expandable up to 2.1 PB, retained for the project lifetime, billing rate 0.25x. unit TB; metered on stored-bytes; Access to EuroHPC systems is free of charge. |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
Geography is the hard gate: eligibility is limited to entities 'established or located in an EU Member State or in a Participating State or in a third country associated to the Digital Europe Programme or to Horizon Europe'. The published country list runs to ~45 states (incl. Turkiye, Tunisia, Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, Israel, UK) and excludes everyone else. Allocations are one year; ~4 months from cut-off to access. |
| Binding | none the default object storage quota reaches the stored-volume need; the gate is eligibility (identity), not quota: applicants must be established or located in an eligible state |
| Identity | institution (placeholder) Applicants must be researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities or industry established or located in an EU Member State, a Participating State or a third country associated to the Digital Europe Programme or to Horizon Europe. |
| Egress | Free for allocation holders within the facility; object storage endpoints (LUMI-O S3) are internet-reachable. |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | LUMI-O object storage is retained for the project lifetime. |
| Interface | s3-compatible, rclone s3 |
| Tooling | LUMI-O is S3-compatible (rclone 's3'); other sites expose Lustre/POSIX plus Globus. |
| Composes with | Storage comes attached to a compute award, so a storage-heavy proposal can be packaged inside a modest compute request. One-year allocations with successive cut-offs allow re-application. |
| Reliability | Well-run; the constraint is purely eligibility and the compute-justification burden. |
| Notes | Node-hours plus an associated storage quota set by the hosting entity (LUMI-O alone defaults to 150 TB per LUMI project). Not a standalone storage call. |
| Evidence note | documented Documented from vendor pages re-read on 2026-11-04: https://docs.lumi-supercomputer.eu/storage/ (LUMI-O 150 TB, project lifetime), https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-access-policy-and-faq_en (free of charge; eligibility) and https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-access-mode_en (one-year allocations). |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 8
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-acces | eligible-country list; 'Researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities, and industry established or located in an EU Member State or in a Participating State...' |
| 2026-10-21 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-a | 'The allocations are granted for one (1) year'; cut-offs 30 Mar 2026 / 4 Sep 2026; tracks Scientific / Industry / Public Administration |
| 2026-11-03 | docs.lumi-supercomputer.eu/storage/ | LUMI-O object storage: 150 TB quota, expandable up to 2.1 PB, retained for the project lifetime, billing rate 0.25x |
| 2026-11-03 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-acces | access is free of charge |
| 2026-11-03 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-a | regular access allocations are granted for one year |
| 2026-11-03 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-acces | access is for researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities and industry established or located in eligible states |
| 2026-11-03 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-a | allocations are granted for one year |
| 2026-11-04 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-acces | access is for researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities and industry in eligible states |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "Node-hours plus an associated storage quota set by the hosting entity (LUMI-O alone defaults to 150 TB per LUMI project). Not a standalone storage call.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 3
- per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- Free allowance
- Free, FIFO, no competitive selection, access within 2 working days — the closest thing in Europe to a self-serve allocation.
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- not stated
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- reported1 source; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | Free, FIFO, no competitive selection, access within 2 working days — the closest thing in Europe to a self-serve allocation. But it is aimed at 'Industry users' (SMEs/startups) and opens a… unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not recorded |
Evidence 1
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/playground-access-ai-factories_en | the text of Free tier, above |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "Free, FIFO, no competitive selection, access within 2 working days — the closest thing in Europe to a self-serve allocation. But it is aimed at 'Industry users' (SMEs/startups) and opens a…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- chaining: no value was recorded for this field
- egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
- retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
- tooling: no value was recorded for this field
- Free allowance
- Explicitly a short pre-allocation test: 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months.' No storage allocation and no renewal path beyond…
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- not stated
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- reported1 source; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | Explicitly a short pre-allocation test: 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months.' No storage allocation and no renewal path beyond… unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not recorded |
Evidence 1
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark | the text of Free tier, above |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "Explicitly a short pre-allocation test: 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months.' No storage allocation and no renewal path beyond…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- chaining: no value was recorded for this field
- egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
- retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
- tooling: no value was recorded for this field
- Free allowance
- Benchmark access gives 'a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months' for code-scaling tests.
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- not stated
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- reported1 source; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | Benchmark access gives 'a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months' for code-scaling tests. No storage allocation is described at all. Regular/Extreme… unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Interface | unknown |
| Tooling | not recorded |
Evidence 1
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark | the text of Free tier, above |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "Benchmark access gives 'a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months' for code-scaling tests. No storage allocation is described at all. Regular/Extreme…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- chaining: no value was recorded for this field
- egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field
- retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
- tooling: no value was recorded for this field
PRACE
Compute- Free allowance
- PRACE no longer runs its own access calls; at the end of 2022 the EuroHPC JU took over management of the peer-review and support process, and the PRACE site now serves an archive of calls that closed in 2023.
- Verdict
- deadthe offer or the service no longer exists
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- anonymousno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- checked 2026-10-22checked 2026-10-22 (live)
| Free tier | PRACE no longer runs its own access calls; at the end of 2022 the EuroHPC JU took over management of the peer-review and support process, and the PRACE site now serves an archive of calls that closed in 2023. unit none; metered on wall-clock; none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Binding | none There is nothing left to apply for: the programme's allocation function moved into the EuroHPC JU, so the successor question is answered by the EuroHPC rows rather than by a PRACE row. |
| Identity | anonymous not published |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | PRACE's review machinery is the same machinery now operating the EuroHPC calls, so its successor is the EuroHPC Benchmark, Development, Regular and Extreme Scale set recorded elsewhere in this record. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | The answer is that the successor is not a separate brand: it is the EuroHPC JU, which absorbed PRACE's peer-review process at the end of 2022. No quota is recorded because there is no live call. Identity cost is recorded as 'none' rather than a normal vocabulary value, because a withdrawn programme has no applicant and no identity to produce; recording 'institution' here would imply a door that no longer exists. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 2
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-acces | 'At the end of 2022, the EuroHPC JU, as owner of an increasing number of world-class European supercomputers, took over from PRACE the management of this peer-review and support process', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | prace-ri.eu/prace-archive/legacy-hpc-access/eurohpc-access/e | PRACE's Regular Access page lists its last open call as the 2023-07-07 cut-off and files every later item under 'Closed Calls' |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "national-hpc","free_tier_kind": "none","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field