fshy

Home

DesignSafe-CI

designsafe-ci.org · 3 records in Compute, Storage · JSON

Records 3

www.designsafe-ci.org/Academicstorage/designsafe-ci-data-depot-no-published-cap-on-published-dJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
No published cap on published dataset size or file count: 'right now there is no limit to the amount of files that can be published in DesignSafe'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedapproval
Evidence
reported8 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tierNo published cap on published dataset size or file count: 'right now there is no limit to the amount of files that can be published in DesignSafe'. Policies page describes largest published datasets as ~5 TB (CoreTrustSeal submission: 'Publications range up to a maximum of 5TB; seven current published datasets are over 1TB'), while a 2025 Frontiers paper reports individual datasets 'as large as 26' TB. Private working space ('My Data' / 'My Projects') is separate and unlimited in policy terms; uploads of 1 TB+ require a support ticket first.
unit TB; metered on unstated
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) approval source
Write-gated twice: a TACC account (free, self-register) and curation 'Publish' approval; datasets must be natural-hazards engineering/social-science research to be in scope.
Identityemail a TACC account is created at the TACC Accounts form with a first and last name, an email address, a password, and an institution the form looks up by name or accepts typed in, with that institution's country, URL and postal address. The form asks for an email affiliated with the institution; an address whose domain does not match the selected institution is still accepted but 'will require administrative approval', and an institution outside the trusted list gives an account 'limited access to TACC resources' that cannot become a project's principal investigator. No card and no phone number is asked for.
EgressGlobus and HTTPS download from the public Data Depot; zip downloads capped at 2 GB per request.
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfacerest rest
ToolingTapis/Agave REST API + dapi Python client (dapi.publications), Globus, JupyterHub, and the Data Depot browser. Public metadata endpoints need no token; the dapi client expects a Tapis token even for public listings, and the unauthenticated /api/files/v2/ media path 404s - so treat the byte-read path as authenticated-or-Globus until proven otherwise.
Composes withPer published project, and there is no documented per-project ceiling, so the multiplier is projects. NSF-funded continuity: data transfers to a successor awardee and TACC commits to keeping landing pages and DOIs indefinitely.
ReliabilityCoreTrustSeal-certified, two-region replication (Corral + Ranch tape). Downloads over ~2 GB need Globus, which is a client install, not a URL.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 8
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/faq/'While right now there is no limit to the amount of files that can be published in DesignSafe...'
2026-10-21designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/TACC Corral + Ranch, replication, DOIs, continuity plan
2026-10-21www.coretrustseal.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/20230126-depart of the text of Free tier, above
2026-10-21designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/managingdata/datatransfer/'Please submit a ticket to notify us prior to uploading 1TB or more of data'
2026-10-21www.designsafe-ci.org/api/publications/v2/PRJ-6238/200, full fileObjs with system 'designsafe.storage.published' and per-file length (e.g. 3019136 bytes)
2026-10-21www.designsafe-ci.org/api/files/v2/media/system/designsafe.s... - 404 on every unauthenticated variant tried (media, download, list)
2026-11-01www.designsafe-ci.org/account/register/an institution outside the trusted list is accepted with limited access, and no card or phone field appears on the form
2026-11-01www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/faq/the published file count is still uncapped, as the record states
Unknown values 4
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read

www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/storage/designsafe-ci-nheri-data-depotJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Publishing: no size restriction on published datasets ('Currently we do not impose restrictions on the size of the datasets that can be published'); the largest published datasets are about 5 TB.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedpublication accepts natural-hazards research datasets only, and each dataset is curated before it receives a DOI
Evidence
documented10 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
Free tierPublishing: no size restriction on published datasets ('Currently we do not impose restrictions on the size of the datasets that can be published'); the largest published datasets are about 5 TB. Accepted content is limited to natural-hazards research datasets.
unit unlimited; metered on stored-bytes
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) publication accepts natural-hazards research datasets only, and each dataset is curated before it receives a DOI source
Bindingwrite-gated no size cap applies, but only natural-hazards research datasets are accepted and each is curated before a DOI is issued; the account asks for a trusted-institution email
Identityinstitution the sign-up form asks for an email affiliated with a trusted institution, plus institution name, country, URL and address; an institution outside the trusted list gives limited access to TACC resources and no eligibility to be a project's principal investigator (whether a limited account can publish is unverified)
Egressnot recorded
Per-object capno restriction on dataset size is imposed; the largest published datasets are about 5 TB
Interfaceunknown
Toolingnot recorded
ReliabilityThe repository is supported by the NSF through March of 2027; TACC has formally committed to preserving published data with landing pages and DOIs indefinitely if the program ends.
NotesPublishing is genuinely uncapped — 'Currently we do not impose restrictions on the size of the datasets that can be published ... Largest published datasets in DDR are ~5 TB' — but it is a…
Evidence notedocumented The curation policies page and the registration page of designsafe-ci.org, re-read on 2026-11-03, state no size restriction on published datasets, the natural-hazards scope, and the trusted-institution registration notice. Whether a limited account can publish is not stated and stays unverified.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 10
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/the text of Notes, above
2026-11-03www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/published dataset size is unrestricted
2026-11-03www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/the repository accepts natural-hazards datasets only
2026-11-03www.designsafe-ci.org/account/register/registration asks for an institution and limits an account whose institution is not on the trusted list
2026-11-03www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/published dataset size is unrestricted, so the allowance reaches 10 TiB and 20 TiB
2026-11-03www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/TACC commits to indefinite preservation of published data
2026-11-03www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/the policies page states no dataset size restriction
2026-11-04www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/published dataset size is unrestricted
2026-11-04www.designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/curating/policies/the repository accepts natural-hazards datasets only
2026-11-04www.designsafe-ci.org/account/register/registration asks for an institution and limits an account whose institution is not on the trusted list
More fields 1
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "Publishing is genuinely uncapped — 'Currently we do not impose restrictions on the size of the datasets that can be published ... Largest published datasets in DDR are ~5 TB' — but it is a…","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
Unknown values 6
  • chaining: no value was recorded for this field
  • egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
  • retention stated: no value was recorded for this field
  • tooling: no value was recorded for this field

designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/GPU cloudcompute/designsafe-ciJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
A Startup Allocation may request up to 20,000 node-hours annually with fast-track review acted on within two weeks, a Research Allocation up to 100,000 node-hours annually, and an Educational Allocation up to 10,000 node-hours, all provided through NSF funding "at no direct cost to the end user".
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedThe PI is "typically a faculty member or research scientist at a US-based academic institution" and the enumerated alternatives are all US organisations, agencies, school districts, museums or companies; a self-employed person outside...
Evidence
documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierA Startup Allocation may request up to 20,000 node-hours annually with fast-track review acted on within two weeks, a Research Allocation up to 100,000 node-hours annually, and an Educational Allocation up to 10,000 node-hours, all provided through NSF funding "at no direct cost to the end user". Unfunded exploratory research is explicitly allowed on a Startup Allocation. Users outside the NSF eligibility categories may buy time from TACC at approximately USD 0.50 per node-hour and storage at approximately USD 60 per TB per year.
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; merit-reviewed-allocation
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) The PI is "typically a faculty member or research scientist at a US-based academic institution" and the enumerated alternatives are all US organisations, agencies, school districts, museums or companies; a self-employed person outside the US appears in no category, and foreign collaborators reach the machine only through a US PI's allocation. source
Identityinstitution not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe purchased route is the composition worth noting: USD 0.50 per node-hour buys a TACC node of 48 to 64 cores, so roughly USD 0.008 to USD 0.01 per core-hour with no affiliation and no review, which is the cheapest way out of the identity gate found and does not depend on the NSF eligibility categories at all.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe account is open to anyone, but the account alone does not reach the HPC queue: portal tools are capped by "built-in constraints that limit the amount of compute time" with no published ceiling, and command-line access needs the allocation. Startup review skips the Allocation Advisory Board and is decided within two weeks, which makes 20,000 node-hours the realistic ask rather than the 100,000. Node-hour to core-hour conversion depends on the TACC system assigned, which the page does not name, so no conversion is published here.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 5
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/"A Startup Allocation may request up to 20,000 node-hours annually"; "A Research allocation has a maximum size of 100,000 node-hours annually"; "An Educational allocation may request up to 10,000 node-hours", quoted
2026-10-22designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/"an additional allocation via DesignSafe is headed by a project PI, typically a faculty member or research scientist at a US-based academic institution"; "foreign collaborators are eligible to make use of that allocation", quoted
2026-10-22designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/"Allocations are provided through NSF funding at no direct cost to the end user"; purchase rates "approximately $0.50 per node hour" for compute and "approximately $60/TB/year" for storage, dated January 2024 in the text, quoted
2026-10-22designsafe-ci.org/user-guide/tools/advanced/hpcallocations/"DesignSafe is broadly available to any researcher or practitioner working in open Natural Hazards Engineering and Social Science research", quoted
2026-10-22www.designsafe-ci.org/community/news/2025/july/message-from-services, including HPC resources and data publication, are described as operating during a no-cost extension, quoted
More fields 1
facets{"class": "national-hpc","free_tier_kind": "merit-reviewed-allocation","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field