fshy

Home

Cartesia

cartesia.ai · 2 records in Compute, Inference · JSON

Records 2

cartesia.ai/pricingInference APIcompute/cartesiaJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Free plan at USD 0 with '20K credits / month' plus '$1 prepaid agents / month'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quota27 minutes of generated speech a month, then the pool is empty; the 2-request TTS concurrency ceiling means a batch of short clips still cannot be pushed in one afternoon without queueing, but the volume runs out first.
Evidence
documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierFree plan at USD 0 with '20K credits / month' plus '$1 prepaid agents / month'. The plan table converts that for you: Sonic-3.6 text to speech gets '~27' minutes a month at '2' concurrent requests, Ink-2 speech to text gets '~1h 51m' a month at '8' concurrent requests, and managed agents get 17 minutes at USD 0.06 a minute. The FAQ gives the unit: 'Sonic text-to-speech: One minute of audio generation requires 750-800 credits. 1 credit equals 1 character' and 'Ink speech-to-text: 3 credits equals 1 second of audio'.
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; recurring-monthly-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) 27 minutes of generated speech a month, then the pool is empty; the 2-request TTS concurrency ceiling means a batch of short clips still cannot be pushed in one afternoon without queueing, but the volume runs out first. source
Identityemail not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes witha free plan here covers the STT side of a demo better than the TTS side, because 20,000 credits at 3 credits a second is 1h51m of transcription while the same pool is only 27 minutes of speech. What breaks: any repeated synthesis, since 27 minutes a month does not accumulate and the plan is monthly rather than annual.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThese are inference credits, not general compute. The vendor converts credits to minutes on the page, so the figure is theirs. Rollover exists but caps at 2x the monthly rate, which on a 20,000-credit pool adds at most 27 more minutes of speech. Not established: whether a card is demanded at signup; The 17 free agent minutes carry a phone-number line item at USD 0.014 a minute for Cartesia-provisioned numbers, which the free allocation does not cover if a number is requested.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • volume-quota 27 minutes
Evidence 4
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22cartesia.ai/pricingthe plan block prints '$0 /mo ... 20K credits / month ... $1 prepaid agents / month' for the Free plan, quoted
2026-10-22cartesia.ai/pricingthe comparison table prints 'Sonic-3.6 Minutes included monthly ~27' with 'Concurrent requests 2', and 'Ink-2 Hours included monthly ~1h 51m' with 'Concurrent requests 8', quoted
2026-10-22cartesia.ai/pricing'One minute of audio generation requires 750-800 credits. 1 credit equals 1 character' and 'Ink speech-to-text: 3 credits equals 1 second of audio', quoted
2026-10-22cartesia.ai/pricing'Free Plan - 17 minutes' of agent calls at '$0.06 per minute', quoted from 'How many voice agent minutes do I get per plan?'
More fields 1
facets{"class": "credit-too-small-for-a-workload","free_tier_kind": "recurring-monthly-credit","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": 0}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field

cartesia.ai/pricingText to speech and speech to text API, monthly free credit poolinference/cartesiaJSONcomparereport an error

Free allowance
Free plan at USD 0 a month with 20K credits per month plus USD 1 of prepaid voice-agent usage per month.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, phone unknown
Binding limit
volume-quota20K credits per month on the Free plan, shared by text-to-speech and speech-to-text, plus USD 1 per month of prepaid voice-agent usage; with overages off, new requests are blocked once the credits run out
Evidence
documented14 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
Free tierFree plan at USD 0 a month with 20K credits per month plus USD 1 of prepaid voice-agent usage per month. The credits are spent on text-to-speech at 1 credit per character (about 750 to 800 credits per minute of audio, which the plan table puts at about 27 minutes of Sonic-3.6 a month) or on speech-to-text at 3 credits per second of audio (about 1h 51m of Ink-2 a month); the USD 1 of agent usage is about 33 minutes at USD 0.03 a minute, before telephony and language-model usage.
unit credits; metered on unstated; models: text-to-speech sonic-3.6 (44 languages; sonic-3.5 and sonic-3 also accepted by the API) and speech-to-text Ink-2; managed voice agents. unverified: whether unused Free credits roll over, because the pricing page describes rollover only in terms of paid plans
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) 20K credits per month on the Free plan, shared by text-to-speech and speech-to-text, plus USD 1 per month of prepaid voice-agent usage; with overages off, new requests are blocked once the credits run out source
  • request-rate Free plan concurrency: 2 concurrent text-to-speech requests and 8 concurrent speech-to-text requests; on Free plans a request over the limit returns 429 immediately, where paid plans queue it source
Bindingvolume-quota about 27 minutes of Sonic-3.6 speech or about 1h 51m of Ink-2 transcription per month runs out before the concurrency caps matter
Identityemail the signup form asks for a first name, last name, email address and password, or a GitHub or Google account; the pricing page names no card for the Free plan and the signup form shows none; unverified: whether a phone number, a card or a verification step is asked after the form
Egressnot published
Interfacerest REST (POST /tts/bytes and sibling TTS and STT routes) and WebSocket at api.cartesia.ai, versioned by a Cartesia-Version header; Python and JavaScript quickstarts
Toolingraw HTTP and WebSocket with an API key (sk_car_...) from the playground, or the Python and JavaScript quickstarts
Composes withthe monthly pool covers the speech-to-text side of a demo better than the text-to-speech side, because 20K credits is about 1h 51m of Ink-2 transcription but only about 27 minutes of Sonic-3.6 speech; run it from a free CI job for small voice-over or transcription batches. Unlike a one-time credit it renews each month.
Reliabilitya Free-plan request over the concurrency limit fails with 429 instead of queuing
Evidence notedocumented the credit pool, the credit costs, the converted minutes and the concurrency table are quoted from vendor pages; rollover on Free and the card requirement at signup are unverified.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 14
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-11-03cartesia.ai/pricingthe Free plan includes 20K credits a month
2026-11-03cartesia.ai/pricingFree includes USD 1 of voice-agent usage a month
2026-11-03cartesia.ai/pricingtext-to-speech costs 1 credit per character, about 750 to 800 credits per minute
2026-11-03cartesia.ai/pricingspeech-to-text costs 3 credits per second of audio
2026-11-03cartesia.ai/pricingthe plan table converts the Free speech-to-text allowance to about 1h 51m a month
2026-11-03cartesia.ai/pricingthe Free agent allowance is about 33 minutes at the standard rate
2026-11-03cartesia.ai/pricingoverages are a paid-plan feature and requests are blocked at zero credits when they are off
2026-11-03docs.cartesia.ai/use-the-api/concurrency-limits-and-timeoutsFree plan concurrency is 2 text-to-speech and 8 speech-to-text requests
2026-11-03docs.cartesia.ai/use-the-api/concurrency-limits-and-timeoutsFree plans fail immediately with 429 over the concurrency limit
2026-11-03docs.cartesia.ai/build-with-cartesia/tts-models/latestsonic-3.6 is the current text-to-speech model with 44 languages
2026-11-03docs.cartesia.ai/Ink 2 is the speech-to-text model
2026-11-03docs.cartesia.ai/the playground issues an API key
2026-11-03docs.cartesia.ai/api-reference/tts/bytesthe production API host is api.cartesia.ai
2026-11-03play.cartesia.ai/sign-upthe signup form asks for an email address
Unknown values 3
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer