Amazon CloudFront free tier (as the egress layer for any origin)
- Free allowance
- 1 TB/month data transfer out + 10,000,000 HTTP/HTTPS requests + 2,000,000 CloudFront Function invocations, free every month, explicitly 'no longer limited to the first 12 months after signup'.
- Verdict
- fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- volume-quota1 TB data transfer out and 10 Million HTTP or HTTPS requests per month, always free; usage beyond it is billed
- Evidence
- documented8 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | 1 TB/month data transfer out + 10,000,000 HTTP/HTTPS requests + 2,000,000 CloudFront Function invocations, free every month, explicitly 'no longer limited to the first 12 months after signup'. unit TB; metered on unstated |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
Separately from the always-free allowance, CloudFront flat-rate plans carry a monthly data transfer allowance of 100GB (Free), 50TB (Pro), 50TB (Business) and 50TB (Premium, configurable up to 600TB for a new flat-rate price). Beyond the always-free allowance, pay-as-you-go usage is billed. |
| Binding | volume-quota data transfer out is free only up to 1 TB per month; the allowance is a monthly volume, not a daily one |
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
| Egress | This IS the egress allowance: 1 TB/month free to the internet from 300+ PoPs, worldwide except China PoPs. free allowance: 1 TB per month |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Interface | s3, rest, oci, cli rest |
| Tooling | CloudFront distributions in front of any HTTP origin (S3, an OCI VM, a block-volume nginx); terraform/CLI; signed URLs and signed cookies for access control. |
| Composes with | CloudFront can use any publicly accessible URL as its origin, so it can front a non-AWS origin, such as another provider's free tier, and serve cacheable responses from edge locations. |
| Reliability | Mature CDN, no ban risk; the only issue is that 1 TB/month is a ceiling, not a service level. |
| Evidence note | documented The 2026-11-03 evidence rows read https://aws.amazon.com/free/networking/ (1 TB data transfer out and 10 million requests per month, always free) and https://aws.amazon.com/cloudfront/pricing/ (flat-rate plans and allowances, any public origin). The fields that decide the verdict cite those captures; the identity requirement and the CloudFront Function allowance were not read. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 8
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/aws-free-tier-data-transfer-expansi | 'Data Transfer from Amazon CloudFront is now free for up to 1 TB of data per month ... and is no longer limited to the first 12 months after signup' |
| 2026-11-03 | aws.amazon.com/free/networking/ | the always-free allowance is 1 TB data transfer out and 10 million HTTP or HTTPS requests per month |
| 2026-11-03 | aws.amazon.com/cloudfront/pricing/ | flat-rate monthly prices per distribution: $0, $15, $200 and $1,000, no overage charges |
| 2026-11-03 | aws.amazon.com/free/networking/ | the always-free allowance is 1 TB data transfer out and 10 million requests per month |
| 2026-11-03 | aws.amazon.com/cloudfront/pricing/ | flat-rate plans carry a monthly data transfer allowance of 100GB, 50TB, 50TB and 50TB |
| 2026-11-03 | aws.amazon.com/cloudfront/pricing/ | the application behind CloudFront may be on any publicly accessible URL, not only on AWS |
| 2026-11-03 | aws.amazon.com/cloudfront/pricing/ | any publicly accessible URL can be the origin |
| 2026-11-04 | aws.amazon.com/free/networking/ | the always-free allowance is 1 TB data transfer out and 10 million HTTP or HTTPS requests per month |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "1 TB/month data transfer out + 10,000,000 HTTP/HTTPS requests + 2,000,000 CloudFront Function invocations, free every month, explicitly 'no longer limited to the first 12 months after signup'.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 4
- per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read