Home / AWS
AWS Cloud Credit
aws.amazon.com/government-education/research-and-technical-cGPU cloudcompute/aws-cloud-creditJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON
- Free allowance
- 'Student awards will be up to a maximum of $5,000.00.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedthe application needs an institution-issued .edu or .org address and a 90 to 120 day human review, so an unaffiliated applicant cannot submit at all.
- Evidence
- documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
| Free tier | 'Student awards will be up to a maximum of $5,000.00. Faculty and Staff awards are not capped.' Awards are AWS Promotional Credit, and 'Amazon EC2 usage supported by AWS Promotional Credit will be for on-demand and spot instances only'. Review cycle 90 to 120 days. unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - write-gated (binding) the application needs an institution-issued .edu or .org address and a 90 to 120 day human review, so an unaffiliated applicant cannot submit at all. source
|
|---|
| Identity | institution an institution-issued email address on a .edu, .org or equivalent domain, plus an eligible role at an accredited research institution (full-time faculty, full-time research staff, or an enrolled graduate/post-graduate/PhD student). The FAQ states 'Applications from non-institution domains will not be accepted.' Review takes 90 to 120 days. No card, hold, debit or prepaid term is stated: the award is credit on an AWS account the applicant already holds. |
|---|
| Egress | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
|---|
| Tooling | not stated |
|---|
| Composes with | None. The credit lands on an AWS account the applicant already holds, and the institution email is the gate that precedes the award, so no chain starts. |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Notes | A clean refutation and the most useful negative in this class, because USD 5,000 uncapped-for-staff is the kind of number a reader would otherwise chase. Two separate gates, either of which is fatal: the .edu/.org domain rule, stated as an absolute ('will not be accepted'), and the role list, which has no independent-researcher category. The program itself is alive and global outside greater China, so the verdict is fails-identity rather than dead. |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | |
|---|
Evidence 4
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "research-credit","free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field