nsf access
access-ci.org · 2 records in Compute, Storage · JSON
Records 2
- fails: identityACCESS
Computefree tieridentity institutioncard?limit write-gatedevidence documentedstale on 2026-11-22
- fails: identitynsf access / open storage network (as an individual route)
Storagefree tieridentity institutionno cardevidence documentedstale on 2026-12-05
ACCESS
Compute- Free allowance
- Explore ACCESS provides up to 400,000 ACCESS Credits, accepted anytime with no deadline, reviewed in one to two business days, lasting 12 months; Discover ACCESS 1,500,000 and Accelerate ACCESS 3,000,000 credit tiers sit above it.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutioncard unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- write-gatedThe allocations portal refuses a request from any person based outside the US or holding a non-organisational email address, and the policy bans unaffiliated, self-employed and retired people outright, so no identity a user can produce...
- Evidence
- documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | Explore ACCESS provides up to 400,000 ACCESS Credits, accepted anytime with no deadline, reviewed in one to two business days, lasting 12 months; Discover ACCESS 1,500,000 and Accelerate ACCESS 3,000,000 credit tiers sit above it. unit none; metered on wall-clock; merit-light credit allocation |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Identity | institution institution: the allocations policy states 'Principal Investigators (PIs) and users must now be affiliated with an eligible organization' and 'Unaffiliated individuals are no longer eligible to request or be added to an ACCESS allocation'; A card, hold, phone number or ID document is not mentioned in any evidence row: unknown. Country: United States only. |
| Egress | not stated |
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
| Tooling | not stated |
| Composes with | None available for a user as a PI. The only route in is as a named user on a project led by an eligible US-based researcher, which requires a US collaborator and PI justification for each non-US user. |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | Refutation of the common claim that ACCESS is open to anyone with an email. Before July 2025 the programme was far more open; NSF Important Notice No. 149 tightened affiliation, email domain and international restrictions. Tier sizes come from a resource provider's documentation rather than the ACCESS site itself, so the 400K/1.5M/3M figures sit one rung below the policy quotes. No GPU-hour figure is published because credits convert to different resource units per provider; a conversion would be invented, so the field is null. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 5
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | 'Principal Investigators (PIs) and users must now be affiliated with an eligible organization. Unaffiliated individuals are no longer eligible to request or be added to an ACCESS allocation', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | 'If you are based outside of the U.S., regardless of your institutional affiliation (and this includes international campuses of U.S. institutions), you are not eligible to lead an ACCESS allocated project', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | 'The allocations website will not permit non-U.S.-based persons or persons with generic email addresses to initiate allocations requests', quoted; changes attributed to NSF Important Notice No. 149 of 10 July 2025 |
| 2026-10-22 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | docs.jetstream-cloud.org/alloc/overview/ | credit thresholds by tier: Explore 400,000, Discover 1,500,000, Accelerate 3,000,000, reported by the Jetstream2 provider documentation |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "national-hpc","free_tier_kind": "merit-light credit allocation","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field
- Free allowance
- 10 TB to 50 TB of S3-compatible storage per project through the ACCESS allocation process, at no cost to researchers; an allocation needs an eligible ACCESS project.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- noneno named constraint binds
- Evidence
- documented18 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | 10 TB to 50 TB of S3-compatible storage per project through the ACCESS allocation process, at no cost to researchers; an allocation needs an eligible ACCESS project. unit TB; metered on stored-bytes; ACCESS allocates resources at no cost to researchers, OSN storage included; the OSN documentation gives a rate of 3,000 ACCESS credits per 1 TB. |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Binding | none the allowance reaches the stored-bytes need; the eligibility gate (organisational affiliation, U.S.-based PI) is what blocks an unaffiliated individual |
| Identity | institution A PI must be a researcher or educator based in the U.S. and affiliated with an eligible organisation; persons based outside the U.S. cannot request or lead an allocation, and users must be affiliated with an eligible organisation. |
| Egress | not recorded |
| Retention | Bucket storage is never purged and not backed up. |
| Interface | s3-compatible S3-compatible buckets with an endpoint URL, a bucket name and up to two key pairs; no shell or mounted filesystem. |
| Tooling | AWS CLI, Cyberduck, Rclone and Restic against the bucket endpoint; buckets and keys are created in the OSN portal. |
| Composes with | not recorded |
| Reliability | Eligibility changed under NSF Important Notice No. 149 (July 10, 2025): an organisational affiliation is required and persons based outside the U.S. cannot lead an allocation. |
| Notes | OSN storage is allocated through ACCESS credits; the OSN documentation gives a first exchange of 10 TB and supplements up to 50 TB; above 50 TB the OSN team is contacted. |
| Evidence note | documented documented: the project allocation range, the S3-compatible bucket storage and the per-project quota were read on 2026-11-03 at https://support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn, and the organisational-affiliation and U.S.-based PI requirements at https://allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 18
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | OSN was 1-50 TB via ACCESS. ACCESS has since tightened under NSF Important Notice No. 149 (2025-07-10) for users based outside the U.S. |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | OSN project allocations run from 10 TB to 50 TB through ACCESS |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | unit is TB |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | quota is on stored bytes |
| 2026-11-03 | openstoragenetwork.github.io/docs/allocations/ | allocation is at no cost |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | S3-compatible object storage |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | the resource is S3-compatible object storage with no shell or mount paths |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | client tools |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | purge and backup policy |
| 2026-11-03 | support.access-ci.org/documentation/resources/osn | part of the text of Limits, above |
| 2026-11-03 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | an ACCESS allocation needs an eligible organisational affiliation |
| 2026-11-03 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | non-U.S. persons cannot lead allocations |
| 2026-11-03 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | the 10 TB to 50 TB allowance reaches the need but an unaffiliated individual cannot hold or join an allocation |
| 2026-11-03 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | eligibility was tightened under the notice |
| 2026-11-03 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | eligibility binds, not a named limit |
| 2026-11-03 | openstoragenetwork.github.io/docs/allocations/ | limit above 50 TB |
| 2026-11-03 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | ACCESS eligibility requires an affiliation |
| 2026-11-04 | allocations.access-ci.org/allocations-policy | persons based outside the U.S. cannot request or lead ACCESS allocations |
More fields 1
| dead end | {"failure_class": "quota","why": "OSN was 1-50 TB via ACCESS. ACCESS has since tightened under NSF Important Notice No. 149 (2025-07-10) for users based outside the U.S.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"} |
|---|
Unknown values 4
- chaining: no value was recorded for this field
- egress terms: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap notes: no value was recorded for this field
- per object cap stated: no value was recorded for this field