Home / Compute
Technology Innovation Agency
www.tia.org.za/funding-instruments/Cloud VMcompute/technology-innovation-agencyJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON
- Free allowance
- Grant funding for technology development at TRL 3 to 8, delivered through university technology transfer offices, science councils and incubators.
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedThe fund does not take direct applications from individuals: awards run through 'University TTO/Research Councils' and 'Incubators/SMME Partners', so an applicant needs a host institution or an accredited incubator in South Africa...
- Evidence
- documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | Grant funding for technology development at TRL 3 to 8, delivered through university technology transfer offices, science councils and incubators. Regional calls publish the size: the TIA Pre-Seed Fund 2026 Eastern Cape call gives 'grant funding ranging from R50,000 to R650,000 per project', and the TIA x Savant call caps at R1,200,000 including VAT. unit none; metered on wall-clock; grant |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - write-gated (binding) The fund does not take direct applications from individuals: awards run through 'University TTO/Research Councils' and 'Incubators/SMME Partners', so an applicant needs a host institution or an accredited incubator in South Africa before a proposal exists. source
|
|---|
| Identity | institution not published |
|---|
| Egress | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
|---|
| Tooling | not stated |
|---|
| Composes with | Because awards are routed through an incubator, the practical unit is the incubator's own call rather than the national fund, so a grant seeker monitors Propella and the other named partners rather than TIA itself; that is where the R50,000 to R650,000 band is published. |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Notes | The published bands disagree by an order of magnitude across calls, from R50,000 at the Propella Eastern Cape round to R1,200,000 at the Savant round, so the fund has no single ceiling and the call matters more than the instrument. An individual innovator cannot apply directly: the partners list routes applications through HEIs, science councils or incubators. The criteria name SMEs without an ownership test, so a foreign-owned South African company may qualify, but the partner gate is the one that decides in practice. The TRL 3 to 8 window does not exclude pure software: nothing read restricts the technology type. |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | |
|---|
Evidence 5
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|
| 2026-10-22 | www.tia.org.za/funding-instruments/ | 'Funding Criteria - All projects beyond basic research - TRL: 3-8', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.tia.org.za/funding-instruments/ | 'SEED Fund Partners: University TTO/Research Councils, Incubators/SMME Partners', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | innovationbridge.info/ibportal/content/tia-pre-seed-fund-202 | 'The TIA SMME Seed Fund administered through Propella provides grant funding ranging from R50,000 to R650,000 per project', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | innovationbridge.info/ibportal/content/call-applications-tia | the TIA x Savant call is 'R1,200,000 including VAT, for a maximum', quoted |
| 2026-10-22 | www.tia.org.za/storage/2026/03/EOI-Seed-Fund-Implementing-pa | applications are submitted to '[address removed]' with a partner-based delivery model, quoted from the expression-of-interest document |
More fields 1
| facets | {"class": "government-grant","free_tier_kind": "grant","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}} |
|---|
Unknown values 7
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
- interface: the access interface was not established
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field