fshy

Home / Compute

Google TPU Research

sites.research.google/trc/about/GPU cloudcompute/google-tpu-researchJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Free Cloud TPU quota granted to an approved applicant's own Google Cloud project, 'on a temporary basis'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
cardcard required, no phone
Binding limit
retention-clampedthe TPU quota is granted 'on a temporary basis' with a time box reported at 30 to 60 days and extendable only on request, so the grant expires while the applicant is still arranging a card; a reported USD 126,720 of on-demand v3...
Evidence
documented20 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-03checked 2026-11-02 (live); stale on 2026-12-03
Free tierFree Cloud TPU quota granted to an approved applicant's own Google Cloud project, 'on a temporary basis'. The program states it 'enables researchers to access a cluster of more than 1,000 Cloud TPU devices' and that 'Researchers accepted into the TRC program will have access to Cloud TPUs at no charge'. The FAQ answers the free question exactly: 'While Cloud TPUs are free to use for TRC participants, other GCP services are not.' The same FAQ answers access: 'Anyone can express interest in joining the program by signing up at sites.research.google/trc. Invitations are sent out to approved applicants on a rolling basis. When an invitation is accepted, free Cloud TPU quota is granted to the invitee's Google Cloud Platform project on a temporary basis and is ready to use within minutes.'
unit none; metered on wall-clock; recurring-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • retention-clamped (binding) the TPU quota is granted 'on a temporary basis' with a time box reported at 30 to 60 days and extendable only on request, so the grant expires while the applicant is still arranging a card; a reported USD 126,720 of on-demand v3 capacity disappears at day 60, and one accepted applicant watched a v5e/v6e grant sit idle waiting on billing verification. source
Identitycard two gates, and the second is the real one. The application takes a free-text affiliation field and no institution check - the program's creator says an academic affiliation is not required, and a vocational-school applicant and a first-time applicant both describe filling the field by hand. But the quota lands on a Google Cloud project, and getting a project to the point where it can create a TPU VM requires GCP billing verification, which requires a card. The best evidence is a 2026-04 post from an accepted applicant: 'The TPU Research Cloud (TRC) team was awesome enough to grant me a v5e/v6e cluster quota, but I'm totally stuck on the infrastructure side. Since I'm a student in Bangladesh with a $0 budget and no international credit card, I can't pass the billing verification to actually spin up the TPU-VMs or the GCS buckets I need.' So the door is a card, not a degree, and the card obeys Google's billing rules: an authorisation request with 'a value between $0.00 and $1.00 USD' that 'is a hold, not an actual charge', prepaid cards not accepted, virtual cards possibly refused.
Egressnot stated
Retentionthe TPU quota is granted 'on a temporary basis' with a time box reported at 30 to 60 days and extendable only on request, so the grant expires while the applicant is still arranging a card; a reported USD 126,720 of on-demand v3 capacity disappears at day 60, and one accepted applicant watched a v5e/v6e grant sit idle waiting on billing verification.
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withTRC supplies the accelerator and the GCP project holds it, so the paid part is small but not zero: an n1-standard-2 host VM and a GCS bucket, both billed while the TPU exists, and both behind the same billing verification. The composition buys a 40-chip v3 cluster for an unaffiliated person at the price of a card on file with Google. It breaks at day 30 to 60, and it breaks earlier if the card cannot be produced at all.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe affiliation gate that people assume exists does not: the program's own creator says so, and both the About and FAQ pages are silent on institutions. What does gate it is a GCP billing account, because the TPU attaches to a project. A 2026-04 post from an applicant who was actually granted v5e/v6e quota is the proof - they could not provision anything without a card. Three facts now stand on quoted evidence. The shape, from an activation email quoted verbatim by an accepted applicant: 5 on-demand v3-8 hosts, 5 on-demand v2-8 hosts and 100 preemptible v2-8 hosts, free for 60 days. The value, by arithmetic over the vendor's own per-chip-hour list price: USD 126,720 of on-demand v3 capacity, preemptible quota excluded. The time box, which is the weakest-evidenced field: the vendor says only 'temporary'; applicant reports give 30 days (three sources), 60 days (two sources), and one month extended to three on request (one source). Treat 30 to 60 days as the working range. Still open: the quota a new grant is actually set to in 2026. Every quoted shape predates the v3 decommission, and the v6e report gives a slice type without a count. No page read settles that; only the activation email does. The program is live as of this read: its publications page carries September 2026 entries. The one recorded is the better-evidenced.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 20
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22sites.research.google/trc/about/'TRC enables researchers to access a cluster of more than 1,000 Cloud TPU devices. Researchers accepted into the TRC program will have access to Cloud TPUs at no charge', quoted; page returned 200
2026-10-22sites.research.google/trc/faq/'Anyone can express interest in joining the program by signing up at sites.research.google/trc. Invitations are sent out to approved applicants on a rolling basis. When an invitation is accepted, free Cloud TPU quota is granted to the invitee's Google Cloud Platform project on a temporary basis and is ready to use within minutes', quoted; no institutional requirement appears anywhere in the FAQ
2026-10-22sites.research.google/trc/faq/'While Cloud TPUs are free to use for TRC participants, other GCP services are not. Participants can expect to utilize small VM instances (n1-standard-2) to drive their TPUs as well as Google Cloud Storage (GCS) buckets to hold training data', quoted; the host VM and the bucket are billed
2026-07-20note.com/noted_dietes5767/n/n01170527f677?hl=ena first-year vocational-school student in Japan describes applying with an Affiliation field filled as 'HAL Osaka 2nd Year Student Researcher' and reports the program is 'Open to students, individual researchers, and tinkerers (not limited to university PhDs)'. Applicant report, not an acceptance
2026-10-22vladlialin.com/blog/tpus/an accepted applicant quotes the activation email verbatim: 'Your Google Cloud project tokyo-carving-231908 now has access to the following quota free of charge for 60 days: 5 on-demand Cloud TPU v3-8 device(s) in zone europe-west4-a; 100 preemptible Cloud TPU v2-8 device(s) in zone us-central1-f; 5 on-demand Cloud TPU v2-8 device(s) in zone us-central1-f'. Page read 2026-10-22, article undated but its body refers to July 2023, so the grant is from that period
2026-10-22far.in.net/tpu-go-brrr'The TPU VMs are free for 30 days after they are granted ... they granted me an extension from October 7th to December 1st', quoted; an applicant report where the renewal was granted on request, which is the only evidence found that the time box is extendable
2026-10-22cloud.google.com/tpu/pricing/'TPU v3 device' at 'USD 2.20' per chip-hour in europe-west4 (Netherlands) on demand, and 'TPU v2 device' at 'USD 1.2375' per chip-hour, quoted from the vendor price table; used only to price the reported grant, not as a claim about the grant
2026-10-22sites.research.google/trc/publications/the program is demonstrably alive and publishing: the page lists TRC-supported papers dated September 2026, including 'SeeQ: Training Generalist Value Functions for Long-Horizon Robotic Manipulation' and 'vidax: A Unified JAX Framework for Video Generative Models on Accelerator Meshes'; page 200, 12,986 words
2026-07-01discuss.google.dev/t/blocked-by-automated-gpu-quota-denials-a postdoctoral researcher on a Google Cloud Educational Grant had every GPU quota increase auto-denied, and support said it could not override; the poster confirms unresolved on 2026-08-18
2026-10-22sites.research.google/trc/faq/vendor wording: 'free Cloud TPU quota is granted to the invitee's Google Cloud Platform project on a temporary basis'
2026-10-22news.ycombinator.com/item?id=36937636not published
2026-10-22lucaslingle.substack.com/p/upgrading-to-tpu-v6e'TPU v3 chips have recently been decommissioned by TRC in favor of v4, v5e, and v6e', quoted
2026-10-22basicv8vc.github.io/posts/trc-program/an accepted applicant reports the grant as '5 Cloud TPU v2-8 and 5 Cloud TPU v3-8, plus 100 preemptible Cloud TPU v2-8', free for 60 days
2026-10-22discuss.google.dev/t/student-researcher-blocked-have-trc-tpuan accepted applicant reports being granted 'a v5e/v6e cluster quota' and being unable to use it: 'I can't pass the billing verification to actually spin up the TPU-VMs or the GCS buckets I need to store the activations'; 'a student in Bangladesh with a $0 budget and no international credit card'.
2026-10-22news.ycombinator.com/item?id=31323171the Cloud TPU program's founder states the only stated condition in his own words: 'If you'd like to experiment with TPU VMs for free and are willing to share your work with the world somehow (e.g. via publications or open-source projects), you can apply to participate in the TPU Research Cloud (TRC) program'.
2026-10-22discuss.google.dev/t/student-researcher-blocked-have-trc-tpunot published
2026-11-02cloud.google.com/free/docs/free-cloud-featuresthe authorisation at signup withdraws nothing
2026-11-02cloud.google.com/free/docs/free-cloud-featuresthe card demanded by billing verification carries the published hold
2026-11-02cloud.google.com/billing/docs/how-to/payment-methodsprepaid cards are refused for a Google Cloud billing account
2026-11-02cloud.google.com/billing/docs/how-to/payment-methodsthe accepted card classes for the billing account
More fields 2
facets{"class": "research-credit","free_tier_kind": "recurring-credit","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": "Cloud TPU","gpu_count": null,"tpu_generation": "v4/v5e/v6e as of 2025-10; v2 and v3 were the grant generations through 2023 and v3 was decommissioned","tpu_slice_shape": "per-applicant quota, not a fixed shape. A quoted activation email grants '5 on-demand Cloud TPU v3-8 device(s) in zone europe-west4-a', '100 preemptible Cloud TPU v2-8 device(s) in zone us-central1-f' and '5 on-demand Cloud TPU v2-8 device(s) in zone us-central1-f' - that is 40 v3 chips on demand, 40 v2 chips on demand and 800 v2 chips preemptible. A 2025 grant reports moving to v6e-64 through the Queued Resource API."}}
payment methods{"card_at_signup": "yes, for the Google Cloud billing account the quota lands on","debit": "accepted-with-condition","prepaid": "refused","virtual": "may be refused","hold_amount": "USD 0.00 to USD 1.00","hold_detail": "the TPU quota is free, but the project must pass Google Cloud billing verification first, and Google submits an authorisation request that 'is a hold, not an actual charge' with 'a value between $0.00 and $1.00 USD'. The host VM and the GCS bucket are billed normally. Prepaid cards are refused and virtual cards may be refused.","identity": "the programme takes a free-text affiliation and no institution check; the card is demanded by Google Cloud billing verification, not by the programme","source_url": "https://cloud.google.com/free/docs/free-cloud-features","read_on": "2026-11-02"}
Unknown values 5
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field