# Puter.js AI

> puter.com | Inference, Storage; 2 records: free tier, limits, identity cost and evidence.

HTML https://fshy.ajam.dev/p/puter/ | JSON https://fshy.ajam.dev/api/v1/entity/puter.json | how to read a record: https://fshy.ajam.dev/llms-full.txt

## Puter.js AI (user-pays)

- `inference/puter-js-ai` | qualifies-with-caveat | evidence documented | binding request-rate | category inference SDK, user-pays, guest accounts
- identity a placeholder: card and phone unknown | verified 2026-10-28T04:36:18.974Z (live) | stale on 2026-11-28
- url https://docs.puter.com/
- free tier: Every account gets a free monthly allowance, shown in the dashboard; AI requests per 10 s are 20 for an anonymous (guest) account, 30 for a free account and 200 for a paid one | unit: mixed | metered on: unstated | read on: 2026-10-28 | source: [1] | note: the size of the monthly allowance is not stated on the pages read: unverified
- per-object cap: not applicable
- retention: not applicable
- egress: metered: no
- identity: anonymous | detail: unverified: the rate-limit page names an anonymous tier that is a temporary (guest) account, and the tutorial says users authenticate with their Puter account; whether a guest account can spend the monthly allowance on chat, and what a full signup collects, were not read
- interface: unknown
- limits:
  - request-rate (binding): AI requests per 10 s: 20 anonymous, 30 free, 200 paid; concurrent AI requests: 2 anonymous, 3 free, 20 paid [1]
- binding note: the guest-account ceiling of 20 requests per 10 s and 2 concurrent binds; the monthly credit is a second, unquantified gate
- endpoint: https://js.puter.com/v2/
- tooling: Puter.js, puter.ai.chat(prompt, {model}) from a browser or Node.js; there are no API keys, and each user's own Puter account carries the cost. A REST route for a non-browser client was not read
- composes with: pairs with browser apps; the cost lands on the signed-in or guest account, not on a developer key
- reliability: a call that runs out of credit answers 402 insufficient_funds and the SDK shows the user an upgrade prompt
- evidence note: all values are from first-party documentation; no request was sent to a Puter endpoint
- evidence:
  - [2] 2026-10-28: AI calls are made under each user's Puter account with no developer API key | capture: sha256:6472bbdfdf3d310105e64b4ec90b2710b58fcf654ce227b4bf6f388d5dceab34 | quote: Puter.js uses the [User-Pays model](https://docs.puter.com/user-pays-model/), where users authenticate with their Puter account and cover their own AI costs.
  - [3] 2026-10-28: every user has a free monthly allowance, with no number given | capture: sha256:bbeb4a70ef8aaefe5efe2636806db07dc6afa0a131b36aad91dcc77bddc45e3f | quote: - Every user starts with a free monthly allowance, enough to test out the platform and use apps built with Puter.js.
  - [1] 2026-10-28: anonymous means a temporary guest account | capture: sha256:4acd635f608b6867c358d6ffa8dcbe66ccc7cc47b85030d3d9275cacba4edaa2 | quote: Where a table shows three numbers, they are paid / free / anonymous. Paid is any subscription tier. Anonymous is a temporary (guest) account.
  - [1] 2026-10-28: AI requests per 10 s are 200 paid, 30 free and 20 anonymous | capture: sha256:4acd635f608b6867c358d6ffa8dcbe66ccc7cc47b85030d3d9275cacba4edaa2 | quote: | Requests per 10 s | 200 | 30 | 20 |
  - [1] 2026-10-28: concurrent AI requests are 20 paid, 3 free and 2 anonymous | capture: sha256:4acd635f608b6867c358d6ffa8dcbe66ccc7cc47b85030d3d9275cacba4edaa2 | quote: | Concurrent requests | 20 | 3 | 2 |
- sources:
  - [1] https://docs.puter.com/rate-limits-and-quotas/
  - [2] https://developer.puter.com/tutorials/free-unlimited-ai-api/
  - [3] https://docs.puter.com/user-pays-model/

## Puter (puter.com / Puter.js) — user-pays cloud storage

- `storage/puter-user-pays-cloud-storage` | fails-quota | evidence reported | binding per-object-cap | category paas
- identity a placeholder: card and phone unknown | verified 2026-10-21 (inherited) | stale on 2026-11-05
- url https://developer.puter.com/pricing/
- free tier: Free tier shown on puter.com as '25 MB Storage' (the 100 GB / 500 GB / 2 TB figures on that page are the paid tiers — verified by reading the raw HTML, not the rendered summary). Developer-side cost is $0: 'Puter doesn't charge developers for infrastructure. Storage, database, and AI usage are metered to each signed-in user's own Puter account.' | unit: TB | metered on: stored-bytes | read on: 2026-10-21 | source: [1]
- per-object cap: per-object-cap: not documented, but the free allowance is 25 MB | bytes: 25000000 | source: [1] | note: not stated
- retention: not stated | source: [1] | note: not stated
- egress: Not metered per-GB to the developer; metered to the end user's Puter allowance. No egress line found. | metered: yes
- identity: card
- interface: s3, rest, webdav, sftp
- limits:
  - per-object-cap (binding): per-object-cap: not documented, but the free allowance is 25 MB [1]
- limits note: per-object-cap: not documented, but the free allowance is 25 MB total, which is the real cap. Request-rate: the vendor states that 'Anti-abuse, rate limiting, and fraud detection are also built into the Puter account layer, so bots and fake sign-ups are filtered before they reach your app'. In neutral terms, its signup layer screens for excess use and automated signups, so free identities are NOT unlimited here. Retention: not documented.
- interface detail: rest
- tooling: Puter.js — a single <script> tag or the @heyputer/puter.js npm module, keyless. puter.fs.write / read / mkdir give a browser-side filesystem API; auth is 'sign in with Puter'. No S3/WebDAV/SFTP shim.
- composes with: The interesting multiplier is the opposite of the usual one: because storage is metered to each signed-in user's account, an app with N users gets N x (that user's allowance) and the developer pays nothing. But the free allowance per user is 25 MB, so the chain only works if a user also controls the user accounts — i.e. it is a way to make storage free for an app's users, not a way to get 10 TiB.
- reliability: Explicitly blocks the several-accounts route: Puter markets that 'usage is metered to each user's own account, so a bad actor has no free resources to farm', plus automated-signup filtering. That removes the second-account allowance this niche usually relies on.
- notes: the same as the free tier
- extras:
  - dead_end.failure_class: egress
  - dead_end.why: Free tier shown on puter.com as '25 MB Storage' (the 100 GB / 500 GB / 2 TB figures on that page are the paid tiers — verified by reading the raw HTML, not the rendered summary). Developer-side cost is $0: 'Puter doesn't charge developers for infrastructure. Storage, database, and AI usage are metered to each signed-in user's own Puter account.'
  - dead_end.first_recorded: 2026-10-21
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-21: free tier '25 MB Storage'; paid tiers 100 GB / 500 GB / 2 TB
  - [2] 2026-10-21: 'Storage, database, and AI usage are metered to each signed-in user's own Puter account, so your costs don't grow with your user count'
  - [3] 2026-10-21: puter.fs.write / puter.fs.read / puter.fs.mkdir cloud storage API
- sources:
  - [1] https://puter.com/
  - [2] https://developer.puter.com/pricing/
  - [3] https://docs.puter.com/
