OVHcloud, VPS-1 (2027 range)
Sibling records disagree:
- verdict:
compute/ovhcloud-2says paid-only, compute/ovhcloud-vps-1-2027 says qualifies-with-caveat - verdict:
compute/ovhcloud-vps-1-2027says qualifies-with-caveat, compute/ovhcloud-windows says paid-only
- Free allowance
- No free tier; VPS-1 is the entry rung of the 2027 range at USD 4.54 a month on 12-month upfront
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- USD 4.54/monthparsed from the record, in USD
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quota500 GB a month in Mumbai, Singapore and Sydney, then capped at 10 Mbps; unlimited elsewhere
- Evidence
- documented8 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-24checked 2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
| Free tier | no free tier; VPS-1 is the entry rung of the 2027 range at USD 4.54 a month on 12-month upfront unit none; metered on none |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Binding | volume-quota unlimited in the EU and US, so the traffic term only binds if the box is placed in APAC. |
| Identity | card the order goes through a configurator that requires an OVHcloud account with billing details; a card is the standard rail. No ID document is stated on the pricing page. Card hold not stated: unverified rather than none. |
| Egress | 'Unlimited traffic' with a '500 Mbps public bandwidth' port on VPS-1. The footnote carves out the Asia-Pacific regions: '500 GB for VPS-1 ... Beyond this, the bandwidth is capped at 10 Mbps' free allowance: unlimited outside APAC; 500 GB a month in Mumbai, Singapore and Sydney |
| Retention | the disk persists while the plan is paid; a daily backup of the previous 24 hours is included and replicated three times in the same datacentre |
| Interface | ssh, rest root SSH, the OVHcloud control panel, and the OVHcloud API |
| Tooling | any SSH client; OVHcloud API and CLI |
| Composes with | a 4 GiB box with genuinely unmetered EU traffic, which makes it the one row here that can serve bytes rather than only compute |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | CHANGED in shape, not in price. USD 4.54 a month is confirmed and it is the 12-month-upfront rate. But VPS-1 is 4 GB of RAM and 2 vCPU, not 8 GiB: it is under the line on price and under the beefy bar on memory, so it does not compete with the 8 GiB rows. The next rung up, VPS-2 at USD 8.50, is 8 GB and 4 vCPU and over the line. Two things were not settled: the renewal after the 12-month term (the configurator that would show it refused to load), and whether VAT is added (the page prints no VAT line at all, and the 'World [$]' locale implies no EU VAT for a non-EU buyer). Worst case exposure is not computable without the renewal. |
| Evidence note | documented price, shape, port and the APAC quota carve-out are quoted from the vendor's own pricing page read. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 8
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/ | quoted: 'VPS-1 From $4.54 /month', '2 vCores', '4 GB RAM', '40 GB SSD NVMe', 'Daily backup of the previous 24 hours', 'Unlimited traffic', '500 Mbps public bandwidth' |
| 2026-10-24 | api.ovh.com/v1/order/catalog/public/vps?ovhSubsidiary=IE | price catalogue for planCode vps-2027-model1: 'default 1 month 449000000' (EUR 4.49/month ex-VAT) and 'upfront12 1 month 381000000' (EUR 3.81/month ex-VAT on a 12-month upfront) |
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/terms-and-conditions/payment/ | quoted: 'Credit/Debit cards', 'Cards accepted are Visa, Mastercard, Maestro', 'Paypal', 'Prepaid account' |
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/ | quoted: 'Our VPS solutions in the Asia-Pacific region (Mumbai, Singapore, Sydney) come with a set monthly quota: 500 GB for VPS-1' |
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/ | quoted from the VPS-1 card: 'VPS-1 / From $4.54 /month / 2 vCores / 4 GB RAM / 40 GB SSD NVMe / Daily backup of the previous 24 hours / Unlimited traffic / 500 Mbps public bandwidth' |
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/ | the Configure link carries 'pricing=upfront12', so the USD 4.54 is the 12-month-upfront rate rather than a monthly rate |
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/ | quoted footnote: 'Our VPS solutions in the Asia-Pacific region (Mumbai, Singapore, Sydney) come with a set monthly quota: 500 GB for VPS-1, 1 TB for VPS-2 and VPS-3, 3 TB for VPS-4. Beyond this, the bandwidth is capped at 10 Mbps.' |
| 2026-10-24 | www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/ | the page's own language map: 'en' maps to {"currencyCode":"USD","country":"World"}, so the '$' figures are USD for a rest-of-world visitor |
More fields 25
| shape | {"vcpu": 2,"ram_gib": 4,"disk_gib": 40,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null} |
|---|---|
| billing model | 12-month upfront or monthly |
| term | 12 months upfront for the USD 4.54 figure |
| m10h usd | 4.54 |
| m24h usd | 4.54 |
| price arithmetic | USD 4.54 a month on the 12-month-upfront term ('pricing=upfront12' in the Configure link). x 12 = USD 54.48 out of pocket. It is a VPS, so no 730-hour multiplication. No conversion was needed: the page prints USD for the World locale. |
| out of pocket usd | 54.48 |
| out of pocket note | USD 54.48 is the vendor's own USD rate ($4.54) x 12 on the .com storefront. The EU catalogue price converts to USD 51.17. The two differ because OVHcloud's internal EUR/USD rate sits near 1.19, above the ECB 1.1193; the vendor's own USD figure is the one a buyer on the English site pays. |
| renewal usd | not published |
| renewal note | not published on the pricing page. So the post-12-month price is unverified rather than absent. |
| promo | no |
| fx | {"pair": "EUR/USD","rate": 1.1193,"date": "2026-10-23","source": "ECB reference via frankfurter.app"} |
| port mbps | 500 |
| ipv4 included | yes |
| ipv6 | not stated on the pricing card |
| vat | the page prints no VAT line and the 'en' locale is 'World [$]', so the USD figures are for a non-EU buyer. Not verified in a cart |
| free tier kind | none |
| network out | {"allow_outbound": true,"allow_inbound_listen": true,"ports": "all","static_ip": true,"ipv6": false,"per_session_bytes": null} |
| session cap | {"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "none; it is a VPS"} |
| signup url | https://www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/configurator/?planCode=vps-2027-model1&brick=VPS%2BModel%2B1&pricing=upfront12 |
| cart url | https://www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/configurator/?planCode=vps-2027-model1&brick=VPS%2BModel%2B1&pricing=upfront12 |
| worst case note | not computable: the renewal is not readable. The unknown is the exposure. |
| payment methods | not read: the configurator was unreachable. OVHcloud is an incumbent and takes cards; the specific rails were not verified today. unverified |
| stock | in stock: the pricing page renders a Configure button for every rung and no sold-out flag. Read at https://www.ovhcloud.com/en/vps/ |
| ladder | {"VPS-1": {"ram_gib": 4,"vcpu": 2,"disk_gib": 40,"usd_mo": 4.54,"port_mbps": 500},"VPS-2": {"ram_gib": 8,"vcpu": 4,"disk_gib": 75,"usd_mo": 8.5,"port_mbps": 1000},"VPS-3": {"ram_gib": 12,"vcpu": 6,"disk_gib": 100,"usd_mo": 12.32,"port_mbps": 2000},"VPS-4": {"ram_gib": 24,"vcpu": 8,"disk_gib": 200,"usd_mo": 23.37,"port_mbps": null}} |
Unknown values 2
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed