fshy

Home / Compute

O'Shaughnessy Fellowship

www.osvfellowship.com/Cloud VMcompute/o-shaughnessy-fellowshipJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
'1 Year. Up to $100,000.' The site states 'All Fellows receive up to $100,000 equity-free' and 'Every year, dozens of Fellows receive between $10,000 - $100,000 in equity-free funding, tailored to the scope of their vision'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gateda three-stage competitive selection with a published ratio of 24 fellows chosen from 11,813 applications fails first, so the constraint is the odds rather than the identity or the money.
Evidence
documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tier'1 Year. Up to $100,000.' The site states 'All Fellows receive up to $100,000 equity-free' and 'Every year, dozens of Fellows receive between $10,000 - $100,000 in equity-free funding, tailored to the scope of their vision'. A sister grants lane pays 'at-least $10,000' to about 20 more people a year, and 'All Fellowship applicants are automatically considered for Grants'.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-grant
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) a three-stage competitive selection with a published ratio of 24 fellows chosen from 11,813 applications fails first, so the constraint is the odds rather than the identity or the money. source
Identityemail an adult individual anywhere in the world. The FAQ says 'open to adults worldwide, regardless of their background', the application is online, the program is remote, and the published winners list carries fellows resident in Nepal, India, Japan, Ireland, Australia and Canada beside the United States, which is observable proof that a non-US individual is selected.
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withWhat it cannot do is be relied on, because the odds are about one in 270.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe strongest sibling found, and the one that makes this class worth a document. It is better shaped than the Open Intelligence Foundation offer on four counts the operator states itself: the top amount is an order of magnitude larger, the payment is cash rather than a donated machine, the recipient keeps the IP, and the winner list is public, so selection is observable rather than anecdotal. The failure mode is arithmetic and must travel with the number: 24 fellows selected from 11,813 applications is 0.20 percent, and adding the roughly 20 grants lifts the ceiling to about 0.37 percent. The window has closed for 2026: applications ran 1 January to 30 April 2026 and the FAQ states 'There will be no deadline extensions'. Reopening on 1 January 2027 is an expectation from the posting pattern, not a published commitment; no 2027 dates appeared on any page read. One internal tension worth noting: the page's 'No committee approvals' line sits against a published three-stage process that runs through a team call and a deeper conversation before a decision, so read that line as framing rather than as a statement about process.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 5
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22www.osvfellowship.com/'1 Year. Up to $100,000.'; 'All Fellows receive up to $100,000 equity-free'; 'No equity. No corporate overlords. No thesis requirements. No committee approvals.'; 'Every year, dozens of Fellows receive between $10,000 - $100,000 in equity-free funding'; 'Applications closed on April 30, 2026'; '11,813 people applied this year'; quoted; page 200
2026-10-22help.osv.llc/article/10-faqs'The fellowship is open to adults worldwide, regardless of their background.'; 'No. The fellowships are aimed primarily at individuals.'; 'You do. OSV makes no claims to any of the output created by you'; 'You can use the funds for reasonable living and other expenses'; 'About 10 fellows and 20 grantees each year'; 'Yes. The Fellowships and Grants are entirely remote.'; quoted; page 200.
2026-10-22www.osvfellowship.com/mapthe applicant geography page reads '11813 Total Applications', '181 Countries', '3136 Cities', '24 2026 Fellows Selected' as of Oct 22, 2026, quoted from a rendered page
2026-10-22www.osvfellowship.com/winnersthe winners table puts a country beside every name, including fellows listed against India, Nepal, Japan, Australia, Canada and Ireland; the table footer reads 'Showing 25 of 101'
2026-10-22newsletter.osv.llc/p/apply-today-oshaughnessy-fellowshipsnot published
More fields 1
facets{"class": "independent-grant","free_tier_kind": "one-time-grant","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field