fshy

Home / Microsoft

Microsoft AI

www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-gooGPU cloudcompute/microsoft-aiJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
'a total of $5 million in Azure service credits' across a 'two-year program', with 'scientific collaboration with the Microsoft AI for Good Lab'.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedthe geographic condition - based in or benefiting Washington State - is the failure, not the identity: an applicant outside Washington cannot meet it however strong the project.
Evidence
documented2 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tier'a total of $5 million in Azure service credits' across a 'two-year program', with 'scientific collaboration with the Microsoft AI for Good Lab'. Eligibility is broad on identity and narrow on place: 'entities and/or projects must be based in or benefit Washington State and its residents. Eligible entities include nonprofits, academic institutions, individual researchers, startups, and businesses'.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; one-time-credit
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) the geographic condition - based in or benefiting Washington State - is the failure, not the identity: an applicant outside Washington cannot meet it however strong the project. source
Identityemail not published
Egressnot stated
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withAzure credits compose with nothing in the TPU class and only weakly with the rest, because the credits buy Azure list-price capacity rather than a quota.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe one Microsoft program found that names 'individual researchers' as an eligible entity, which is exactly why the location clause matters: the door is open to an individual and shut to anyone outside Washington State. A per-award figure of about USD 250,000 is inferred from USD 5,000,000 split across 'about 20 projects' in a press account, and is reported as an estimate, not as a published amount.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 2
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/academic-program/ai-for-goo'a total of $5 million in Azure service credits'; 'entities and/or projects must be based in or benefit Washington State and its residents'; 'Eligible entities include nonprofits, academic institutions, individual researchers, startups, and businesses'; quoted; page 200
2026-10-22www.geekwire.com/2025/microsoft-launches-5m-grant-program-fo'the pool of $5 million in Azure credits will probably be split up among about 20 projects and organizations', and the 2025 round closed on Feb.
More fields 1
facets{"class": "research-credit","free_tier_kind": "one-time-credit","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}}
Unknown values 6
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field