# Akamai Cloud

> linode.com | Storage, Egress and tunnels; 2 records: free tier, limits, identity cost and evidence.

HTML https://fshy.ajam.dev/p/linode/ | JSON https://fshy.ajam.dev/api/v1/entity/linode.json | how to read a record: https://fshy.ajam.dev/llms-full.txt

## Akamai / Linode Object Storage

- `storage/akamai-linode-object-storage` | qualifies-with-caveat | evidence documented | binding none | category object-storage
- needs card yes, phone no, ID no, institution no | verified 2026-11-03T01:28:47.499Z, checked 2026-10-21 (inherited) | stale on 2026-11-21
- url https://www.linode.com/products/object-storage/
- price USD 5 a month flat, prorated, including 250 GB of storage and 1 TB of outbound transfer added to the account's global transfer pool; storage beyond 250 GB USD 0.02 per GB a month (about USD 20 per TB), and overages may vary by data center; outbound overage USD 0.005 per GB (about USD 5 per TB), USD 0.015 per GB in Jakarta and USD 0.007 per GB in São Paulo | parsed USD 20/TB-mo
- free tier: USD 5 a month flat, prorated, for 250 GB of storage and 1 TB of outbound transfer added to the account's transfer pool; storage beyond 250 GB USD 0.02 per GB a month | unit: GB | metered on: unstated | read on: 2026-10-30 | source: [1]
- per-object cap: 5 TiB per object; a single upload is at most 5 GB, larger objects by multipart upload of up to 10,000 parts of 5 MiB to 5 GiB | bytes: 5497558138880 | source: [2] | note: Maximum Object Size under the multipart upload limits of the first-party quotas and limits page
- retention: not stated | source: [3] | note: not stated
- egress: enabling Object Storage adds 1 TB a month of transfer allowance, prorated by active hours, to the account's global network transfer pool and none to region-specific pools such as Jakarta and São Paulo; all outbound transfer from Object Storage is metered, over public IPv4 and IPv6, even to other services in the same data center; inbound transfer is free; transfer beyond the pools is billed at the end of the billing period at the rate of the service region | metered: yes | free allowance: 1 TB per month | price per TB: USD 0.005 per GB (about USD 5 per TB) beyond the pool; USD 0.015 per GB in Jakarta and USD 0.007 per GB in São Paulo
- identity: card | detail: a valid credit card on file is a requirement of the Master Services Agreement; Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover are accepted, and credit can be added from a PayPal account
- interface: s3-compatible, rclone
- limits:
  - per-object-cap: 5 TiB per object [2]
  - request-rate: 750 requests/s per bucket for all operations on E0 and E1 endpoints; on E2 and E3 by default 2,000 GET/HEAD, 500 PUT, 100 LIST and 200 DELETE requests/s per bucket; requests above the limit get HTTP 503 [2]
  - volume-quota: default capacity per account per endpoint 5 TB on E0, 100 TB on E1 and E2, 500 TB on E3; per bucket at most 1 TB on E0, 1 PB on E1 and E2, 5 PB on E3 [2]
- limits note: 5 GB per single upload; multipart parts of 5 MiB to 5 GiB, up to 10,000 parts; 1,000 buckets per account per endpoint by default; default ingress and egress throughput 2 Gbps per account per endpoint on E0 and E1 and 10 Gbps on E2 and E3; on E0 and E1 delete requests are capped at 100 per second per bucket within the 750 requests/s limit; quotas are account defaults, while product limits cannot be increased
- binding note: no named limit binds before the transfer price: the default capacity is 100 TB per account per endpoint on E1 and E2 and 500 TB on E3, objects reach 5 TiB, and a bucket takes at least 750 requests/s; the deciding terms are the storage and outbound transfer prices
- interface detail: s3
- tooling: S3 API, rclone s3 backend, any SDK. Cluster URL per region. The endpoint type (E0 to E3) is a property of the region and its endpoint hostname, chosen when a bucket is created, and is not an account-level default; most regions offer one type and a few offer several; new customers are directed to the standard E2 or E3 endpoints, and Limited Availability endpoints are opened by a support ticket.
- composes with: The 1 TB/month included egress is the free slice: enough for 33 GB/day, matching Gcore. Its real use is as a stable S3 origin behind one of the free CDNs, not as the delivery path — $5/TB egress is good but Bunny's Volume tier matches it and CacheFly/Telnyx beat it.
- reliability: requests above a bucket's rate limit are answered with HTTP 503; spreading data across buckets gives each bucket its own limit
- notes: Scales 250 GB → 5 PB per bucket, 10 billion objects, 20K RPS. Entry plan $5/mo = 250 GB + 1 TB outbound included.
- evidence note: the plan price, storage and transfer rates and the card requirement are quoted from the first-party pricing page, the transfer metering from the first-party network transfer page, and the object, request and capacity limits from the first-party quotas and limits page
- extras:
  - price_verbatim: $20/TB stored + $5/TB egress beyond the included 1 TB; entry $5/mo for 250 GB + 1 TB egress.
- evidence:
  - [4] 2026-10-21: → resolves to https://www.akamai.com/products/object-storage: 'Scale from 250 GB to 5 PB per bucket', 'up to 20K RPS', 'free inbound transfer and up to 1TB outbound is included'
  - withheld 2026-10-21: 
  - [1] 2026-10-30: USD 5 a month flat, prorated, for 250 GB; storage beyond it USD 0.02 per GB and may vary by data center; 1 TB of transfer is added to the global pool; overage USD 0.005 per GB, Jakarta USD 0.015, Sao Paulo USD 0.007 | capture: sha256:404db7a35989f79f9cf6a42f8f9e86379810802cfe8f7ad9d4f66c831bcaa365 | quote: Object Storage costs a flat rate of $5 a month, and includes 250 GB of storage.
  - [5] 2026-10-30: all Object Storage egress is metered, even within the data center; Object Storage adds 1 TB a month to the global pool and none to Jakarta or Sao Paulo pools; inbound is free | capture: sha256:fe9ae768d30ec941b0492ccf8138ec90573ed7daede9e19727e716b3e83857f7 | quote: * Outbound transfer from Object Storage (over both public IPv6 and public IPv4), even to other services within the same data center.
  - [1] 2026-10-30: outbound overage is USD 0.005 per GB, USD 0.015 in Jakarta and USD 0.007 in Sao Paulo | capture: sha256:404db7a35989f79f9cf6a42f8f9e86379810802cfe8f7ad9d4f66c831bcaa365 | quote: Any outbound network transfer overages are billed at the rate $0.005/GB for all data centers except for Jakarta ($0.015/GB) and São Paulo ($0.007/GB).
  - [1] 2026-10-30: a valid credit card on file is required by the Master Services Agreement; Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover are accepted and PayPal can add credit | capture: sha256:404db7a35989f79f9cf6a42f8f9e86379810802cfe8f7ad9d4f66c831bcaa365 | quote: Maintaining a valid credit card on file with your account is a requirement of our
  - [2] 2026-10-30: the per-object cap is 5 TiB; a single upload is at most 5 GB and multipart allows 10,000 parts of 5 MiB to 5 GiB | capture: sha256:b56ca5428388138f0deb8eb4e6d65f61f89142ba36c16ccb18b5bd6455d8ac13 | quote: * Maximum Object Size. 5 TiB
  - [2] 2026-10-30: E0 and E1 buckets take 750 requests/s for all operations; E2 and E3 default to 2,000 GET/HEAD, 500 PUT, 100 LIST and 200 DELETE requests/s per bucket | capture: sha256:b56ca5428388138f0deb8eb4e6d65f61f89142ba36c16ccb18b5bd6455d8ac13 | quote: For E0 and E1 endpoints all operations count towards one rate limit for the bucket.
  - [2] 2026-10-30: default capacity per account per endpoint is 5 TB on E0, 100 TB on E1 and E2 and 500 TB on E3; per bucket 1 TB on E0, 1 PB on E1 and E2, 5 PB on E3 | capture: sha256:b56ca5428388138f0deb8eb4e6d65f61f89142ba36c16ccb18b5bd6455d8ac13 | quote: Quotas are account-level limits placed on usage for Object Storage.
  - [2] 2026-10-30: product limits are fixed while quotas are defaults; the page gives the upload, part, bucket-count and delete-rate limits | capture: sha256:b56ca5428388138f0deb8eb4e6d65f61f89142ba36c16ccb18b5bd6455d8ac13 | quote: Unlike account-level quotas, these product limits cannot be increased.
  - [2] 2026-10-30: rate-limited requests receive HTTP 503, and each bucket has its own limit | capture: sha256:b56ca5428388138f0deb8eb4e6d65f61f89142ba36c16ccb18b5bd6455d8ac13 | quote: Any requests that are rate limited will receive a 503 response.
  - [1] 2026-10-30: USD 0.02 per GB stored and USD 0.005 per GB out after the first 1 TB each month; the same page requires a credit card on file and calls the service S3-compatible | capture: sha256:404db7a35989f79f9cf6a42f8f9e86379810802cfe8f7ad9d4f66c831bcaa365 | quote: | $0.02/GB | $0.005/GB with the first 1TB free each month. | [Sign up](https://login.linode.com/signup) |
  - [6] 2026-10-30: the sign-up form asks for an email address, a username and a password, or a Google or GitHub sign-in | capture: sha256:55fb90e5f7d6a2b77dbcebb92a5939794cf885b051f85889d285346a5239c504 | quote: Sign up with email
  - [7] 2026-11-03: the vendor directs new customers to the standard E2 or E3 endpoints; no account-level default type is stated | capture: sha256:578962703b575a00524082618a0222408df59edb1e6392c9b2ae0d4bdf83c192 | quote: All new customers or projects should start with the standard endpoints (E2 or E3) to take advantage of increased performance and new features.
  - [8] 2026-11-03: the endpoint type is shown at bucket creation and follows the chosen region, not an account setting | capture: sha256:af54b206fd3aae6bf6607b1eccdc4c44aa01fd4588c7176e6e7c958e82f02cb1 | quote: Most regions only support one endpoint type
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.akamai.com/cloud/pricing/object-storage
  - [2] https://techdocs.akamai.com/cloud-computing/docs/object-storage-product-limits
  - [3] https://www.akamai.com/products/object-storage
  - [4] https://www.linode.com/products/object-storage/
  - [5] https://techdocs.akamai.com/cloud-computing/docs/network-transfer-usage-and-costs
  - [6] https://login.linode.com/signup
  - [7] https://techdocs.akamai.com/cloud-computing/docs/endpoint-types
  - [8] https://techdocs.akamai.com/cloud-computing/docs/create-and-manage-buckets

## Akamai Cloud (Linode)

- `egress/akamai-cloud-linode` | trial-only | evidence reported | binding volume-quota | category trial credit (provider VM) | tier free
- needs card yes, phone no, ID no, institution no | verified 2026-10-23 (live) | stale on 2026-11-07
- url https://www.linode.com/pricing/
- price USD 100 of credit
- free tier: Create an account to try this guide with a $100 credit. This credit will be applied to any valid services used during your first 60 days. | unit: mixed | metered on: downloaded-bytes | read on: 2026-10-23 | source: [1]
- per-object cap: not applicable | source: [1]
- retention: not applicable | source: [1]
- egress: $100 of credit at $0.005 per GB is 18.2 TiB, or 9.1 TiB a month across the 60-day window, plus the plan's included transfer of 0 to 20 TB a month; ingress: udp | metered: yes | free allowance: $100 of credit at $0.005 per GB is 18.2 TiB, or 9.1 TiB a month across the 60-day window, plus the plan's included transfer of 0 to 20 TB a month | source: [1]
- identity: card | detail: Maintaining a valid credit card on file with your account is a requirement of our Master Services Agreement. | country: None
- interface: cli, rest
- limits:
  - volume-quota (binding): $100 of egress at $0.005 per GB is 18.2 TiB, and the credit expires at 60 days [1]
- binding note: the 60-day expiry binds, not the volume: at 1 TiB a month the 60 days spend 2 TiB of an 18.2 TiB credit. At a user's volume the credit is nine times larger than the window it lives in.
- interface detail: the Linode CLI and API, and the Cloud Manager
- tooling: wg-quick on the instance; the Linode CLI or API
- composes with: one instance for 60 days with 18.2 TiB of metered egress behind it, or a plan with a 20 TB bundle and no credit needed
- reliability: unused promo credit expires at 60 days; plans that bundle no transfer bill every outbound byte
- notes: Arithmetic: $100 over $0.005 a GB is 20,000 GB = 20 TB = 18.19 TiB in total, or 9.09 TiB a month across 60 days. If the rate is $0.01 instead the credit is 10,000 GB = 9.09 TiB total and 4.55 TiB a month, which still clears the test, so the verdict does not depend on which of the two rates is right. The included transfer is the second lever: a plan that bundles 20 TB a month makes the credit irrelevant at 1 TiB a month, and the pricing page confirms bundles run 'from 0 TB to 20 TB per month'.
- evidence note: the $100 and 60 days come from an archived copy of Linode's own documentation; the current /lp/free-credit/ path returns 404 and the pricing page renders no credit line. The $0.005 overage rate is third-party. A current first-party page carrying both would raise this to documented
- extras:
  - wg_path: native-conf
  - wg_detail: a Compute Instance with a public IPv4; wg-quick binds UDP with no vendor component in the path
  - ingress: udp
  - volume_tib_month: 9.09
  - volume_stated: $100 of credit at $0.005 per GB is 18.2 TiB, or 9.1 TiB a month across the 60-day window, plus the plan's included transfer of 0 to 20 TB a month
  - bytes_transit: yes
  - transit_note: outbound bytes cross Akamai's network and draw on a global transfer pool before any overage is billed
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-23: 'Older plans include transfer that scales based on plan family and size, from 0 TB to 20 TB per month. G8 and GPU accelerated plans do not include bundled transfer or egress with the plan' and 'Maintaining a valid credit card on file with your account is a requirement'
  - [2] 2026-10-23: 'You are only billed for additional network transfer if your usage exceeds the global or data center-specific pools during a billing period'
  - [3] 2026-10-23: archived Linode documentation: 'Create an account to try this guide with a $100 credit. This credit will be applied to any valid services used during your first 60 days.'
  - [4] 2026-10-23: third party: 'In North America the overage price is US$0.005 per GB', with pooled transfer and only outbound metered
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.linode.com/pricing/
  - [2] https://techdocs.akamai.com/cloud-computing/docs/network-transfer-usage-and-costs
  - [3] https://archive.ph/4yiBQ
  - [4] https://wiki.licenseware.io/wiki/akamai-cloud-pricing-and-billing/
