LINDAT/CLARIAH-CZ (Charles University, UFAL) — DSpace language-data repository
- Free allowance
- Deposit is free with no published byte ceiling ('It is free and safe'); the only stated object limit is operational — CLARIN-family DSpace instances handle files above 2 GB by special arrangement rather than refusing them.
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institution?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- write-gatedreview and the >2 GB manual step make it a scripted-assisted path rather than a fire-a
- Evidence
- reported3 sources; a third party said so
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
| Free tier | Deposit is free with no published byte ceiling ('It is free and safe'); the only stated object limit is operational — CLARIN-family DSpace instances handle files above 2 GB by special arrangement rather than refusing them. Individual deposited corpora routinely run to tens of GB. unit GB; metered on unstated |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
Account is the gate, not bytes: you need an eduGAIN institutional login, a CLARIN account, or a manually granted local account. Files >2 GB need help-desk handling. Every deposit signs a Distribution License Agreement and must carry adequate metadata, so bulk dumping of undocumented blobs will be rejected. |
| Identity | institution (inferred, not read) not published |
| Egress | Free. Public items download without login; licence-gated items need an account and an e-signed licence. No metering, no egress pricing — this is a national research-infrastructure node. |
| Per-object cap | not stated |
| Retention | not stated |
| Interface | rest rest |
| Tooling | DSpace REST/OAI-PMH plus a documented submission workflow (repository/mydspace); handles as PIDs; SWORD-style deposit contract per collection ('Distribution License Agreement'). CLARIN SPF / eduGAIN SSO, and a local account on request. |
| Composes with | Unlimited items per depositor x no per-item byte cap. Multiple CLARIN centres (LINDAT, CLARIN.SI, CLARIN-D, plus 20+ national nodes) each run their own DSpace with the same open door, so the chain is 'one account per centre'. |
| Reliability | Run by UFAL with an explicit preservation policy since 2010; stable, but the metadata/contract review and the >2 GB manual step make it a scripted-assisted path rather than a fire-and-forget API. |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 3
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-21 | lindat.cz/faq-repository | 'It is free and safe'; 'If you don't have an academic account that works with us, let us know. We will make you a local account.' |
| 2026-10-21 | lindat.cz/faq-repository#sign-up | institutional login via eduGAIN, or CLARIN account, or local account via Help Desk |
| 2026-10-21 | lindat.cz | live Deposit link to lindat.mff.cuni.cz/repository/mydspace |
Unknown values 4
- per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read