fshy

Home / Compute

LCCF Horizon Leadership

lccf.tacc.utexas.edu/allocations/National HPC allocationcompute/lccf-horizon-leadershipJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Large allocations from 125,000 to 500,000 SUs on Horizon and up to 50,000 SUs on Vista for six months, with submissions opening 15 April 2026 and rolling review from 15 May 2026, on a system carrying 4,750 Vera CPU nodes and 2,000 Grace-Blackwell GPU nodes.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedHorizon is open to US researchers working in open research and the PI is typically faculty or a research scientist at a US academic institution; the page also requires current peer-reviewed research funding to support the allocated work.
Evidence
documented3 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierLarge allocations from 125,000 to 500,000 SUs on Horizon and up to 50,000 SUs on Vista for six months, with submissions opening 15 April 2026 and rolling review from 15 May 2026, on a system carrying 4,750 Vera CPU nodes and 2,000 Grace-Blackwell GPU nodes.
unit none; metered on wall-clock; merit-reviewed allocation
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) Horizon is open to US researchers working in open research and the PI is typically faculty or a research scientist at a US academic institution; the page also requires current peer-reviewed research funding to support the allocated work. source
Identityinstitution not published
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe non-US route is as a collaborator with substantive intellectual participation by the US partner, which is the same shape as the ACCESS escape hatch and equally dependent on a US collaborator existing.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThe largest US number found after INCITE: 500,000 SUs on the newest NSF leadership system. SUs are a site-defined service unit, not GPU-hours or core-hours, so converting them would be invention.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22lccf.tacc.utexas.edu/allocations/'Large allocations from 125,000 to 500,000 SUs (Horizon) and up to 50,000 (Vista) for six months duration'; 'must demonstrate readiness ... as well as current peer-reviewed research funding', quoted
2026-10-22lccf.tacc.utexas.edu/allocations/'Horizon is broadly available to any U.S. researcher working in open research'; 'Collaborative projects involving non-U.S. researchers are allowed provided they include substantive intellectual participation by the U.S. researchers', quoted
2026-10-22lccf.tacc.utexas.edu/allocations/system composition '4,750 Dell/NVIDIA Vera CPU nodes, and 2,000 Dell/NVIDIA Grace-Blackwell nodes'; submissions 15 April 2026 to 15 June 2026
More fields 1
facets{"class": "national-hpc","free_tier_kind": "merit-reviewed allocation","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": "NVIDIA Grace-Blackwell","gpu_count": null}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field