Home / Compute
Lapdev
lap.dev/pricing/Dev environmentcompute/lapdevJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON
- Free allowance
- Free during public beta, with unlimited developers and catalogs, installed into a user's own Kubernetes clusters
- Verdict
- self-hosted, last resortverdict qualifies-with-caveat: usable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path. Self-hosted options are listed last, because this site is for users who have no hardware.
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
- Binding limit
- write-gateda user installs lapdev-kube-manager into their own cluster, so there is no hosted compute
- Evidence
- documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | free during public beta, with unlimited developers and catalogs, installed into a user's own Kubernetes clusters unit unlimited; metered on none |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - retention-clamped free only during public beta; the page says so as a state rather than a term source
- write-gated (binding) a user installs lapdev-kube-manager into their own cluster, so there is no hosted compute source
not stated |
|---|
| Identity | email (placeholder) not published |
|---|
| Egress | not published: no egress allowance or overage price on https://lap.dev/pricing/ and https://docs.lap.dev |
|---|
| Per-object cap | not stated |
|---|
| Retention | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | cli lapdev CLI (Devbox) and the dashboard at app.lap.dev; no REST API or SSH documented on the pages read |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Evidence note | documented the pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and states that the product is free during beta and runs in a user's own clusters. The free half is the software, and the end of beta is the… |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | |
|---|
Evidence 4
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|
| 2026-10-02 | lap.dev/pricing/ | not published |
| 2026-10-22 | lap.dev/pricing/ | 'Lapdev is currently in public beta and free to use. Install lapdev-kube-manager in your own clusters and keep using the manifests you already ship.' and 'Unlimited developers · Unlimited catalogs', quoted |
| 2026-11-03 | lap.dev/pricing/ | the pricing page prints no egress allowance or overage price; network cost is the user's own cluster cost |
| 2026-11-03 | docs.lap.dev/how-to-guides/local-development-with-devbox.md | a CLI (lapdev) is documented; the dashboard is at app.lap.dev |
More fields 5
| keep rate basis | no field in the source |
|---|
| billing model | unclassified |
|---|
| session cap | {"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "environments are namespaces in a user's cluster; a user's cluster sets the clocks"} |
|---|
| free tier kind | allowance |
|---|
| ps | {"gib": null,"price": "a user's own cluster storage","durability": "a user's own volumes","on_stop": true,"on_destroy": false,"max_retention": "as long as a user keeps it"} |
|---|
Unknown values 8
- chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- limits note: a source was read and is silent on this field
- per object cap stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
- reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
- retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
- retention stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
- tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field