fshy

Home / Compute

Hume AI

dev.hume.aiInference APIcompute/hume-aiJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
The API is no longer self-serve: 'The API is currently in limited release; contact our team to request access', on the Expression Measurement overview.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutionno card, no phone
Binding limit
write-gatedaccess is granted by a sales conversation: 'contact our team to request access' means the free allowance that existed in September 2026 cannot be signed up for in October 2026, and a person with an email address has no route in without...
Evidence
documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
Free tierThe API is no longer self-serve: 'The API is currently in limited release; contact our team to request access', on the Expression Measurement overview. The pricing URL no longer exists as a page: https://www.hume.ai/pricing and https://platform.hume.ai/pricing both land on the marketing home page, which now sells a voice-AI evaluation platform rather than an API. Third-party readings of the pricing page from September 2026 recorded a Free plan at '10,000 characters per month, 5 EVI minutes, 15 requests per minute, 1 concurrent connection' plus USD 20 of new-account credits.
unit minutes; metered on wall-clock; application-gated
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) access is granted by a sales conversation: 'contact our team to request access' means the free allowance that existed in September 2026 cannot be signed up for in October 2026, and a person with an email address has no route in without an approved application. source
Identityinstitution not published
Egressnot stated
Interfacerest inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withthe interesting part of the September free tier was 10,000 characters of Octave TTS plus 5 EVI minutes on one email; with the gate now in place, the only route is to substitute ElevenLabs or Cartesia, both recorded at 10,000 and 20,000 monthly credits.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesThese are inference credits, not general compute. The finding is the withdrawal of a self-serve free tier behind an access request, which is why the verdict is fails-identity rather than dead: Hume sells and its evaluation product is live, but the API needs an approved conversation. Data point worth carrying: the site's own benchmark page labels one model view 'Illustrative, not real data', so the leaderboard numbers on the new home page are not measurements.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 5
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22dev.hume.ai'The API is currently in limited release; contact our team to request access', quoted from the Expression Measurement API overview
2026-10-22www.hume.ai/pricingrequesting the pricing URL returned final_url https://www.hume.ai/ with the title 'Measure and improve real-world voice AI performance'; the page sells an evaluation platform and states no prices or free tier
2026-10-22platform.hume.ai/pricingthe platform pricing URL also returned final_url https://www.hume.ai/, the same marketing home page
2026-10-22freedom251.com/apps/hume-octave/pricing/'Free | billed monthly - 10,000 characters per month - 5 EVI minutes - 15 RPM', read by that site on 2026-09-20, reported and no longer reproducible from the vendor
2026-10-22costbench.com/software/voice-apis/hume-ai/'Free - 10,000 characters of TTS/month (Octave 1 & Octave 2) - 5 minutes of EVI included - 15 requests per minute - 1 concurrent connection', reported, corroborating the September reading
More fields 1
facets{"class": "refutation","free_tier_kind": "application-gated","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": 0}}
Unknown values 6
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field