fshy

Home / Compute

Hopx

hopx.ai/pricingContainer and VM sandboxcompute/hopxJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
USD 200 in free credits with no credit card required, described as 'Enough for ~4,000 hours of basic usage'.
Verdict
caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
Cost
free tierpaid plans from USD 49.41/month
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quotaUSD 200 one-time free credits; rate card USD 0.000014 per vCPU-second, USD 0.0000045 per GiB-second, USD 0.00000003 per GiB-second of storage
Evidence
documented18 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
Free tierUSD 200 in free credits with no credit card required, described as 'Enough for ~4,000 hours of basic usage'. No feature gates: 'Unlimited sandboxes', 'All pre-built templates'.
unit mixed; metered on wall-clock; A one-time balance spent per second. No reset and no expiry date is published. The terms page states credits 'may expire under posted program rules' without posting a rule.
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) USD 200 one-time free credits source
  • volume-quota (binding) rate card USD 0.000014 per vCPU-second, USD 0.0000045 per GiB-second, USD 0.00000003 per GiB-second of storage source
  • per-object-cap shape fixed by template; a template build accepts 1-64 cores, 512MB-64GB RAM, 1-250GB disk source
  • retention-clamped a sandbox is destroyed when its timeout expires; the default is no timeout and the ceiling is not published source
Every sandbox can carry a timeout and is destroyed when it expires. The SDK signature gives timeout_seconds a default of 'no timeout', the docs illustrate 5 minutes to 4 hours, and the marketing page claims 'Up to 30 days runtime'. No page states a maximum, so whether a 730-hour timeout is accepted is undocumented.
Bindingvolume-quota The credit is the only published bound on duration, and at the smallest published shape it lasts 123 days of 24/7, so the first thing to fail is the balance, not the platform.
Identityemail The pricing page states 'No credit card required' and '$200 free credits'; no card, no phone and no ID are mentioned. IMPORTANT: the console at console.hopx.ai (and console.hopx.dev, which the docs link to) offers ONLY 'Connect to HopX with: Google GitHub' — a browser OAuth button pair, with no email-and-password field anywhere on the page. The account is therefore created by an OAuth identity, not by an email form. No hold exists because no payment method is taken.
EgressNo egress charge or allowance is published on the pricing page; the page prices compute, memory and storage only.
Per-object capResources are set by the template, not the caller: 'Resources (vcpu, memory, disk) are always loaded from the template. You cannot specify custom resources when creating a sandbox.' A custom template can be built at 'CPU: 1-64 cores, Memory: 512MB-64GB, Disk: 1GB-250GB'.
RetentionA sandbox is destroyed when its timeout expires, and 'All data in the sandbox is lost'; pause and resume preserve state, and a stopped sandbox keeps its filesystem. No retention period for a stopped sandbox is published.
Interfacerest, cli REST API, CLI (hopx) and SDKs (Python, JavaScript/TypeScript), documented; the web console issues the API key.
Toolinghopx CLI (hopx auth, with OAuth login and API key commands); SDKs hopx_ai (Python) and @hopx-ai/sdk (JavaScript/TypeScript); the REST API directly.
Composes withnot stated
ReliabilityThe pricing page's own worked example prices a 1 vCPU / 1 GiB / 10 GiB hour at '$0.05', while its rate card gives USD 0.06768 for the same hour, a 26% understatement.
NotesArithmetic, recomputed today: 1 vCPU x USD 0.0504 + 1 GiB x USD 0.0162 + 10 GiB x USD 0.00108 = USD 0.06768 an hour. USD 200 / 0.06768 = 2,955.1 h = 123.1 days of a 1 vCPU / 1 GiB / 10 GiB box at 24/7, and a 730-hour month costs USD 49.41. The vendor's '~4,000 hours' headline counts the vCPU rate only and is 35% optimistic against its own rate card; the record uses the rate card. The vendor's own worked example also understates the same hour at '$0.05' against USD 0.06768. This is the most hours per no-card dollar of the three by a factor of four over E2B and of two and a half over Daytona at its max shape, but the box is 1 vCPU against Daytona's 4, so it is not a faster machine, only a longer-lived one. GPU trap: none to check, because no GPU product is advertised on the pricing page; the rate card is CPU only. The real caveat is identity: the console offers Google and GitHub OAuth ONLY, with no email form, so the account is tied to a Google or GitHub identity rather than an email address. Not published anywhere: the maximum template shape, the maximum timeout, the credit expiry, and any egress allowance. The 30-day runtime claim on the long-running-jobs page is marketing; the docs' own example tops out at 4 hours and no page states a ceiling, so a 730-hour timeout is untested.
Evidence notedocumented Credit, the three unit rates, the OAuth-only console, the template-bound resources and the timeout semantics were each read on a first-party page. The maximum shape and the maximum timeout are not published.
Parsed numbers
  • price USD 20.3 10 hours a day / month
  • price USD 49.41 / month
  • has-free-tier 1
  • per-object-cap 512 MB
Evidence 18
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-02hopx.ai/pricingnot published
2026-10-22hopx.ai/pricing'No subscriptions. No minimum commitments. No idle charges. Launch sandboxes in milliseconds, pay by the second, scale to zero when done.' with 'No credit card required, $200 free credits', 'Compute (vCPU) $0.00001400/second', 'Memory (GiB) $0.00000450/second', 'Storage (GiB) $0.00000003/second' and 'Enough for ~4,000 hours of basic usage', quoted
2026-10-24hopx.ai/pricingquoted: 'No credit card required', '$200 free credits', 'Compute (vCPU) $0.00001400/second', 'Memory (GiB) $0.00000450/second', 'Storage (GiB) $0.00000003/second', 'Enough for ~4,000 hours of basic usage', and the example '1 vCPU, 1GB RAM, 10GB storage ... $0.05'.
2026-10-24docs.hopx.ai/core-concepts/sandboxes/creating.mdquoted: 'Resources (vcpu, memory, disk) are always loaded from the template. You cannot specify custom resources when creating a sandbox. To use different resources, create a custom template first.'
2026-10-24docs.hopx.ai/core-concepts/sandboxes/timeout.mdquoted: 'Sandboxes can be configured with automatic timeout values that determine when they are automatically destroyed'; 'When a timeout expires, the sandbox is automatically destroyed. All data in the sandbox is lost.'
2026-10-24hopx.ai/pricingquoted: 'No credit card required $200 free credits Cancel anytime' and the rate card '$0.00001400/second' per vCPU, '$0.00000450/second' per GiB of memory, '$0.00000003/second' per GiB of storage
2026-10-24hopx.ai/pricingquoted: 'No credit card required', '$200 free credits', 'Compute (vCPU) $0.00001400/second', 'Memory (GiB) $0.00000450/second', 'Storage (GiB) $0.00000003/second', 'Enough for ~4,000 hours of basic usage', 'Unlimited sandboxes', 'All pre-built templates', and the worked example '1 hour of sandbox runtime / 1 vCPU, 1GB RAM, 10GB storage / $0.05'
2026-10-24console.hopx.aithere is no email input.
2026-10-24docs.hopx.ai/core-concepts/sandboxes/timeout.mdquoted: 'When a timeout expires, the sandbox is automatically destroyed. All data in the sandbox is lost.' with examples at 5 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hour and 4 hours and no stated maximum
2026-10-24docs.hopx.ai/core-concepts/templates/configuration.mdquoted: '# Resource limits depend on your plan / # Typical ranges: / # - CPU: 1-64 cores / # - Memory: 512MB-64GB / # - Disk: 1GB-250GB'
2026-10-24hopx.ai/use-cases/long-running-jobs/quoted: 'No credit card required Up to 30 days runtime Pay per second' and 'Run Jobs for Hours or Days — No Timeouts'
2026-10-24hopx.ai/features/preview-urls/quoted: 'Expose any port via public URLs instantly. No tunnels, no configuration' with the example 'https://8080-abc123.us-east.vms.hopx.dev/'
2026-10-24hopx.ai/termsquoted: 'Promotional/free compute credits (e.g., "$200 free") are one-time, non-transferable, have no cash value, and may expire under posted program rules.' No program rule with a duration is posted.
2026-10-24docs.hopx.ai/cli/commands/authquoted: '--provider TEXT - OAuth provider: GoogleOAuth, GitHubOAuth (default: GoogleOAuth)', confirming the identity is a Google or GitHub account
2026-11-03docs.hopx.ai/api-key.mdthe HopX API is reachable by REST API and CLI, with SDKs
2026-11-03hopx.ai/pricingpricing page prices per-second usage of compute, memory and storage; no egress line
2026-11-04docs.hopx.ai/api-key.mdthe API key page documents SDK, CLI and REST access
2026-11-04docs.hopx.ai/cli/commands/auththe hopx CLI is documented
More fields 24
keep rate{"value": 0.0,"basis": "a paused sandbox is not billed; the pricing page promises 'No idle charges' and 'scale to zero when done'","source": "https://hopx.ai/pricing"}
billing modelper-second
shape{"vcpu": 1,"ram_gib": 1,"disk_gib": 10,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null}
session cap{"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "timeout is settable and extendable and defaults to none; the ceiling is not published"}
persistent storage{"included_gib": null,"price_gib_month": "USD 0.00000003 per GiB-second","durability": "sandbox disk; pause preserves state, a timeout destroys it","survives_stop": true,"survives_destroy": false,"max_retention": "not published"}
network out{"allow_outbound": true,"allow_inbound_listen": true,"ports": "any port via preview URLs","static_ip": null,"ipv6": null,"per_session_bytes": null}
free tier kindone-time-credit
granularity{"min_billed_s": 0,"rounding_s": null}
burst x1.0
ps{"gib": 10,"price": "$0.00000003 a GiB-second","durability": "sandbox storage","on_stop": true,"on_destroy": false,"retention": "until deleted"}
termone-time credit
m10h usd20.3
m24h usd49.41
price arithmetic0.000014 x 3600 = 0.0504; 0.0000045 x 3600 = 0.0162; 10 x 0.00000003 x 3600 = 0.00108; total 0.06768/h; 200 / 0.06768 = 2955.1 h = 123.1 days; x 730 = 49.41
credit usd200
credit months at shape4.05
credit hours at shape2955.1
credit expirynot stated on the pricing page; the terms say credits 'may expire under posted program rules' and no rule is posted
shape max{"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"disk_gib": null,"note": "not published; a template build accepts 1-64 cores, 512MB-64GB RAM, 1-250GB disk as 'typical ranges'"}
price basis10 h/day x 30 = 300 h; 24/7 x 30 = 730 h
vendor claim hours4000
vendor claim vs arithmetic4000 h against 2955 h computed from the rate card, a 35% overstatement
signup urlhttps://console.hopx.ai (docs also link console.hopx.dev; both redirect to /auth/login)
signup formGoogle or GitHub OAuth only; no email field, no phone, no card
Unknown values 1
  • chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field