- Free allowance
- Three SX models, all with SATA HDD plus NVMe.
- Verdict
- paidno free allowance; listed for its price
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- per-ip-shapingTraffic is unlimited and free of charge and the port is 1 Gbit/s, so throughput is the wall, not a byte allowance. The page adds that the unlimited policy does not apply to servers with the 10G uplink addon, where usage over 20 TB is...
- Evidence
- documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-24checked 2026-10-24 (live); stale on 2026-11-24
| Free tier | Three SX models, all with SATA HDD plus NVMe. SX65: 4 x 16 TB up to 4 x 22 TB SATA, 2 x 1 TB NVMe, 128 GB DDR4 ECC, Ryzen 7 3700X, from EUR 84.00 to EUR 159.00/month excl. VAT, EUR 39.00 one-time setup. SX135: 8 x 16 TB up to 8 x 22 TB, 2 x 1.92 TB NVMe, 256 GB, Ryzen 9 3900, EUR 289.00 to EUR 309.00/month, EUR 144.00 setup. SX295: 14 x 22 TB SATA (308 TB), 2 x 7.68 TB NVMe, EPYC 7502P, EUR 599.00 to EUR 879.00/month, EUR 439.00 setup. Traffic is unlimited and the port is 1 Gbit/s. unit GiB; metered on wall-clock; none |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - per-ip-shaping (binding) Traffic is unlimited and free of charge and the port is 1 Gbit/s, so throughput is the wall, not a byte allowance. The page adds that the unlimited policy does not apply to servers with the 10G uplink addon, where usage over 20 TB is charged at EUR 1.00/TB. source
|
|---|
| Identity | card card, SEPA mandate, bank transfer or PayPal at order; no hold amount published; the payment page lists 'Credit card' with VISA, Mastercard, AMEX and UnionPay and names no debit card, so debit is not stated; prepaid is not stated; identity: Hetzner may require either a copy of a government-issued ID or an advance credit-card payment before it processes an order, and asks for a paid email domain and no VPN at signup |
|---|
| Egress | unlimited and free of charge on the 1 Gbit/s port; over 20 TB is charged at EUR 1.00/TB only on servers with the 10G uplink addon |
|---|
| Interface | ssh inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
|---|
| Tooling | a dedicated server with root, rescue system, VNC install and an installimage script; rsync, rclone, ssh, NFS and MinIO all run on it |
|---|
| Composes with | 308 TB for EUR 599.00 a month is the largest single machine and the cheapest per terabyte at that size. |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Notes | The two prices per card are read as a low and a high configuration of the same model, because the card says '3 Types' for SX65 and '1 Type' for SX295, but the page never prints a price beside a disk count. A per-TB figure for SX65 or SX135 would therefore be an inference about which price pairs with which drive set, so only SX295 is given one. Hetzner also sells a Storage Box on the same page at EUR 3.20/TB (1 TB), EUR 10.90 (5 TB), EUR 20.80 (10 TB) and EUR 40.60 (20 TB); that is a managed NAS product, not a rented machine, and it is out of this document's scope. The identity cost is documented from the billing and fraud-prevention docs. The material finding is not the card but the ID gate: Hetzner may demand a copy of a government-issued ID or an advance card payment before processing an order, and asks for a paid email domain and no VPN at signup. |
|---|
| Evidence note | documented Payment facts re-read on 2026-10-24: the card types, the hold and the identity gate each come from a first-party page quoted in evidence[]. |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | - has-free-tier 0
- per-ip-shaping 20 TB
|
|---|