# PRACE

> eurohpc-ju.europa.eu | Compute, Storage; 7 records: free tier, limits, identity cost and evidence.

HTML https://fshy.ajam.dev/p/eurohpc-ju-europa-eu/ | JSON https://fshy.ajam.dev/api/v1/entity/eurohpc-ju-europa-eu.json | how to read a record: https://fshy.ajam.dev/llms-full.txt

## EuroHPC AI Factories

- `compute/eurohpc-ai-factories` | fails-identity | evidence documented | binding write-gated | category national HPC allocation
- needs card no, phone no, ID no, institution yes | verified 2026-10-22 (live) | stale on 2026-11-22
- url https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/ai-factories/ai-factories-access-modes/fast-lane-access-ai-factories_en
- free tier: Fast Lane access offers up to 50,000 GPU hours for a maximum of three months, with approval within four working days on a rolling first-in-first-out basis and expert support from the hosting AI Factory; Playground access sits below it for entry-level users. | unit: hours | metered on: wall-clock | read on: 2026-10-22 | source: [1] | note: fast-turnaround allocation
- per-object cap: not applicable | source: [1]
- retention: not applicable | source: [1]
- egress: not stated | metered: no | source: [1]
- identity: institution
- interface: unknown
- limits:
  - write-gated (binding): The call requires the applicant organisation to prove its status with a valid VAT number and a Participant Identification Code, and requires the PI to hold an employment contract in that organisation, which excludes a person with no registered company. [1]
- limits note: The call requires the applicant organisation to prove its status with a valid VAT number and a Participant Identification Code, and requires the PI to hold an employment contract in that organisation, which excludes a person with no registered company.
- binding note: the same as limits note
- interface detail: inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
- tooling: not stated
- composes with: Playground access is explicitly pitched as the way to gather the technical data that a Fast Lane or Large Scale application needs, so the two tiers form a ladder from a small test to 50,000 GPU hours, provided the applicant is a company.
- reliability: no reliability event recorded
- notes: This is the largest single GPU-hour number found that is not gated on peer-reviewed science: 50,000 GPU hours, four working days, no competitive selection. The binding constraint here is not the industry framing, it is the VAT number and PIC, which is the concrete thing a single person lacks. The Playground per-application GPU-hour cap is published only in a system table that did not render, so it is null here.
- extras:
  - facets.class: national-hpc
  - facets.free_tier_kind: fast-turnaround allocation
  - facets.shape.gpu_class: system-dependent (LUMI MI250X, JUPITER GH200, Leonardo A100, MareNostrum 5 H100)
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-22: 'requiring up to 50,000 GPU hours for a maximum of 3 months' with approval within 4 working days on FIFO, quoted
  - [2] 2026-10-22: 'The status of the organization will need to be proven by providing the valid organization VAT number and, if applicable, the Participant Identification Code (PIC)', quoted
  - [2] 2026-10-22: 'the Principal Investigator has an employment contract in the organisation at the time of proposal submission and valid for at least 3 months after the end of the allocation period', quoted
  - [3] 2026-10-22: 'The Industrial Innovation Access modes are open and free-of-charge to AI SMEs (including startups) for innovation purposes', quoted
  - [4] 2026-10-22: 'For More than 50,000 GPU hours'; 'Access is granted within 10 working days from cut-off date'; allocations for 3, 6 or 12 months, quoted
  - [4] 2026-10-22: deadline model multiple cut-off, roughly two per month from 30 Jan 2026 through 4 Jan 2027, quoted
  - [5] 2026-10-22: 'Your organization must be a startup, SME or other industrial organization. AI for Industrial Innovation calls are not open for academic use or public sector organizations'; 'Your organization must have a valid VAT number'; 'must be incorporated in a Horizon 2020 country', quoted
  - [6] 2026-10-22: LUMI AI Factory Large Scale gives 'over 50.000 GPU hours, up to 1 year' free of charge for eligible companies, reported by the hosting entity
  - [5] 2026-10-22: AI Factory call table: Playground '<= 5,000' GPU hours, Fast Lane '5,001 - 50,000', Large Scale '> 50,000', published by the LUMI hosting entity
  - [7] 2026-10-22: 'Applications will be processed in the order they are received. There is no competitive selection process and access can be granted within two working days'; allocations for 1, 2 or 3 months, quoted
  - [8] 2026-10-22: 'The AI Factories for Industrial Innovation call is open for applicants coming from industrial sector only'; 'Access time offered via the EUROHPC JU access calls is free of charge', quoted
  - [9] 2026-10-22: 'Please note that individual persons or temporary teams are not entitled to our services', quoted
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/ai-factories/ai-factories-access-modes/fast-lane-access-ai-factories_en
  - [2] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/document/download/bd7aa666-bdf3-4436-b5ec-0b34a781e817_en?filename=Terms%20of%20Reference%20-%20AIF%20Access%20Calls.pdf
  - [3] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/ai-factories/ai-factories-access-modes_en
  - [4] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/large-scale-access-ai-factories_en
  - [5] https://lumi-supercomputer.eu/technical-guide-for-compute-proposals/
  - [6] https://lumi-ai-factory.eu/large-scale-access-to-lumi-ai-factory/
  - [7] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/playground-access-ai-factories_en
  - [8] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/ai-factories/faqs-ai-factories_en
  - [9] https://lumi-ai-factory.eu/pricing-and-eligibility/

## EuroHPC JU Benchmark

- `compute/eurohpc-ju-benchmark` | fails-identity | evidence documented | binding write-gated | category national HPC allocation
- needs card no, phone no, ID no, institution yes | verified 2026-10-22 (live) | stale on 2026-11-22
- url https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark-access_en
- free tier: A continuously open call with monthly cut-offs, giving a limited number of node hours for code scalability tests or AI application tests before applying for Regular or Extreme Scale access; the maximum allocation period is three months, with a maximum time-to-resources-access of two to three weeks. | unit: hours | metered on: wall-clock | read on: 2026-10-22 | source: [1] | note: exploratory / benchmark allocation
- per-object cap: not applicable | source: [1]
- retention: not applicable | source: [1]
- egress: not stated | metered: no | source: [1]
- identity: institution
- interface: unknown
- limits:
  - write-gated (binding): The benchmark tier is the cheapest door in the EuroHPC stack, but it is still awarded through a proposal evaluated by the Access Resource Committee, and the call text targets researchers and HPC application developers established in an EU Member State or a Horizon-associated country. [1]
- limits note: The benchmark tier is the cheapest door in the EuroHPC stack, but it is still awarded through a proposal evaluated by the Access Resource Committee, and the call text targets researchers and HPC application developers established in an EU Member State or a Horizon-associated country.
- binding note: the same as limits note
- interface detail: inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
- tooling: not stated
- composes with: The benchmark result is designed to feed a Regular or Extreme Scale proposal, so the tier's real value is the scaling data it produces, not the node hours.
- reliability: no reliability event recorded
- notes: The maximum node-hour figure per system is not stated in the call body; the page says the exact amount is subject to the systems participating in each cut-off. A number here would be invented, so it is null. The eligibility sentence comes from the Regular Access page, whose terms the benchmark call shares; the benchmark call's own information-for-applicants PDF was not opened, so the precise benchmark eligibility wording is one step removed and is the thing to check if a reconciler wants this rung raised.
- extras:
  - facets.class: national-hpc
  - facets.free_tier_kind: exploratory / benchmark allocation
  - facets.shape.gpu_class: system-dependent (LUMI MI250X, JUPITER GH200, Leonardo A100)
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-22: 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months', quoted
  - [1] 2026-10-22: deadline model multiple cut-off with monthly dates from 1 Jan 2026 to 31 Dec 2033, quoted
  - [1] 2026-10-22: 'a first-come-first-serve principle will be applied and proposals will be awarded according to the available monthly quota of resources', quoted
  - [2] 2026-10-22: Regular Access meta description: 'Researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities, and industry established or located in an EU Member State or in a country associated with Horizon 2020 can apply'…
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark-access_en
  - [2] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-access-mode_en

## EuroHPC JU Regular Access (LUMI, Leonardo, MareNostrum 5, JUPITER)

- `storage/eurohpc-ju-regular-access` | fails-identity | evidence documented | binding none | category academic
- identity a placeholder: card and phone unknown | verified 2026-11-04T01:24:13.492Z (live) | stale on 2026-12-05
- url https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-access-mode_en
- free tier: LUMI-O object storage: 150 TB default quota per project, expandable up to 2.1 PB, retained for the project lifetime, billing rate 0.25x. | unit: TB | metered on: stored-bytes | read on: 2026-10-21 | source: [1] | note: Access to EuroHPC systems is free of charge.
- per-object cap: not stated | source: [1] | note: not stated
- retention: LUMI-O object storage is retained for the project lifetime. | source: [1] | note: not stated
- egress: Free for allocation holders within the facility; object storage endpoints (LUMI-O S3) are internet-reachable. | metered: no
- identity: institution | detail: Applicants must be researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities or industry established or located in an EU Member State, a Participating State or a third country associated to the Digital Europe Programme or to Horizon Europe.
- interface: s3-compatible, rclone
- limits:
  - retention-clamped: allocations are granted for one (1) year [2]
- limits note: Geography is the hard gate: eligibility is limited to entities 'established or located in an EU Member State or in a Participating State or in a third country associated to the Digital Europe Programme or to Horizon Europe'. The published country list runs to ~45 states (incl. Turkiye, Tunisia, Ukraine, Georgia, Armenia, Israel, UK) and excludes everyone else. Allocations are one year; ~4 months from cut-off to access.
- binding note: the default object storage quota reaches the stored-volume need; the gate is eligibility (identity), not quota: applicants must be established or located in an eligible state
- interface detail: s3
- tooling: LUMI-O is S3-compatible (rclone 's3'); other sites expose Lustre/POSIX plus Globus.
- composes with: Storage comes attached to a compute award, so a storage-heavy proposal can be packaged inside a modest compute request. One-year allocations with successive cut-offs allow re-application.
- reliability: Well-run; the constraint is purely eligibility and the compute-justification burden.
- notes: Node-hours plus an associated storage quota set by the hosting entity (LUMI-O alone defaults to 150 TB per LUMI project). Not a standalone storage call.
- evidence note: Documented from vendor pages re-read on 2026-11-04: https://docs.lumi-supercomputer.eu/storage/ (LUMI-O 150 TB, project lifetime), https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-access-policy-and-faq_en (free of charge; eligibility) and https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-access-mode_en (one-year allocations).
- extras:
  - dead_end.failure_class: quota
  - dead_end.why: Node-hours plus an associated storage quota set by the hosting entity (LUMI-O alone defaults to 150 TB per LUMI project). Not a standalone storage call.
  - dead_end.first_recorded: 2026-10-21
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-21: eligible-country list; 'Researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities, and industry established or located in an EU Member State or in a Participating State...'
  - [2] 2026-10-21: 'The allocations are granted for one (1) year'; cut-offs 30 Mar 2026 / 4 Sep 2026; tracks Scientific / Industry / Public Administration
  - [3] 2026-11-03: LUMI-O object storage: 150 TB quota, expandable up to 2.1 PB, retained for the project lifetime, billing rate 0.25x | capture: sha256:ac3a527daab5ffd4d026df2c871220b561ca9791e1af6d05cb07fd14ac2d1820 | quote: | Object storage | 150 TB | 500M (500k/bucket) | Yes, up to 2.1 PB | project lifetime | 0.25x |
  - [1] 2026-11-03: access is free of charge | capture: sha256:66f092ce08ed3b985915f89112d99be28f920e3c88c1927615f543809a73e361 | quote: Currently access is free of charge.
  - [2] 2026-11-03: regular access allocations are granted for one year | capture: sha256:b910e1d7be4ff424cb4a401d0ad780c2a7538defa772dc2775bfc040bdd53a57 | quote: Type of access: The allocations are granted for one (1) year.
  - [1] 2026-11-03: access is for researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities and industry established or located in eligible states | capture: sha256:66f092ce08ed3b985915f89112d99be28f920e3c88c1927615f543809a73e361 | quote: Researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities, and industry established or located in an EU Member State or in a Participating State or in a third country associated to the Digital Europe Programme or to Horizon Europe
  - [2] 2026-11-03: allocations are granted for one year | capture: sha256:b910e1d7be4ff424cb4a401d0ad780c2a7538defa772dc2775bfc040bdd53a57 | quote: Type of access: The allocations are granted for one (1) year.
  - [1] 2026-11-04: access is for researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities and industry in eligible states | capture: sha256:66f092ce08ed3b985915f89112d99be28f920e3c88c1927615f543809a73e361 | quote: Researchers from academia, research institutes, public authorities, and industry established or located in an EU Member State or in a Participating State or in a third country associated to the Digital Europe Programme or to Horizon Europe
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-access-policy-and-faq_en
  - [2] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-regular-access-mode_en
  - [3] https://docs.lumi-supercomputer.eu/storage/

## eu ai factories — playground access

- `storage/eu-ai-factories-playground-access` | fails-quota | evidence reported | binding none | category rejected-provider
- identity a placeholder: card and phone unknown | verified 2026-10-21 (inherited) | stale on 2026-11-05
- url https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/playground-access-ai-factories_en
- free tier: Free, FIFO, no competitive selection, access within 2 working days — the closest thing in Europe to a self-serve allocation. But it is aimed at 'Industry users' (SMEs/startups) and opens a… | unit: none | metered on: none | read on: 2026-10-21 | source: [1]
- per-object cap: not recorded | source: [1] | note: not recorded
- retention: not recorded | source: [1]
- egress: not recorded | metered: no
- identity: email
- interface: unknown
- tooling: not recorded
- composes with: the same as tooling
- reliability: the same as the free tier
- notes: the same as the free tier
- extras:
  - dead_end.failure_class: quota
  - dead_end.why: Free, FIFO, no competitive selection, access within 2 working days — the closest thing in Europe to a self-serve allocation. But it is aimed at 'Industry users' (SMEs/startups) and opens a…
  - dead_end.first_recorded: 2026-10-21
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-21: Free, FIFO, no competitive selection, access within 2 working days — the closest thing in Europe to a self-serve allocation. But it is aimed at 'Industry users' (SMEs/startups) and opens a…
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/playground-access-ai-factories_en

## eurohpc benchmark access (as a storage route)

- `storage/eurohpc-benchmark-access` | fails-quota | evidence reported | binding none | category rejected-provider
- identity a placeholder: card and phone unknown | verified 2026-10-21 (inherited) | stale on 2026-11-05
- url https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark-access_en
- free tier: Explicitly a short pre-allocation test: 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months.' No storage allocation and no renewal path beyond… | unit: none | metered on: none | read on: 2026-10-21 | source: [1]
- per-object cap: not recorded | source: [1] | note: not recorded
- retention: not recorded | source: [1]
- egress: not recorded | metered: no
- identity: email
- interface: unknown
- tooling: not recorded
- composes with: the same as tooling
- reliability: the same as the free tier
- notes: the same as the free tier
- extras:
  - dead_end.failure_class: quota
  - dead_end.why: Explicitly a short pre-allocation test: 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months.' No storage allocation and no renewal path beyond…
  - dead_end.first_recorded: 2026-10-21
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-21: Explicitly a short pre-allocation test: 'Users receive a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months.' No storage allocation and no renewal path beyond…
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark-access_en

## eurohpc ju benchmark access as a storage route

- `storage/eurohpc-ju-benchmark-access-as-a-storage-route` | fails-quota | evidence reported | binding none | category rejected-provider
- identity a placeholder: card and phone unknown | verified 2026-10-21 (inherited) | stale on 2026-11-05
- url https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark-access_en
- free tier: Benchmark access gives 'a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months' for code-scaling tests. No storage allocation is described at all. Regular/Extreme… | unit: none | metered on: none | read on: 2026-10-21 | source: [1]
- per-object cap: not recorded | source: [1] | note: not recorded
- retention: not recorded | source: [1]
- egress: not recorded | metered: no
- identity: email
- interface: unknown
- tooling: not recorded
- composes with: the same as tooling
- reliability: the same as the free tier
- notes: the same as the free tier
- extras:
  - dead_end.failure_class: quota
  - dead_end.why: Benchmark access gives 'a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months' for code-scaling tests. No storage allocation is described at all. Regular/Extreme…
  - dead_end.first_recorded: 2026-10-21
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-21: Benchmark access gives 'a limited number of node hours; the maximum allocation period is three months' for code-scaling tests. No storage allocation is described at all. Regular/Extreme…
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/eurohpc-ju-call-proposals-benchmark-access_en

## PRACE

- `compute/prace` | dead | evidence documented | binding none | category national HPC allocation
- needs card no, phone no, ID no, institution no | verified 2026-10-22 (live) | stale on 2026-11-22
- url https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-access-policy-and-faq_en
- free tier: PRACE no longer runs its own access calls; at the end of 2022 the EuroHPC JU took over management of the peer-review and support process, and the PRACE site now serves an archive of calls that closed in 2023. | unit: none | metered on: wall-clock | read on: 2026-10-22 | source: [1] | note: none
- per-object cap: not applicable | source: [1]
- retention: not applicable | source: [1]
- egress: not stated | metered: no | source: [1]
- identity: anonymous
- interface: unknown
- limits note: There is nothing left to apply for: the programme's allocation function moved into the EuroHPC JU, so the successor question is answered by the EuroHPC rows rather than by a PRACE row.
- binding note: the same as limits note
- interface detail: inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
- tooling: not stated
- composes with: PRACE's review machinery is the same machinery now operating the EuroHPC calls, so its successor is the EuroHPC Benchmark, Development, Regular and Extreme Scale set recorded elsewhere in this record.
- reliability: no reliability event recorded
- notes: The answer is that the successor is not a separate brand: it is the EuroHPC JU, which absorbed PRACE's peer-review process at the end of 2022. No quota is recorded because there is no live call. Identity cost is recorded as 'none' rather than a normal vocabulary value, because a withdrawn programme has no applicant and no identity to produce; recording 'institution' here would imply a door that no longer exists.
- extras:
  - facets.class: national-hpc
  - facets.free_tier_kind: none
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-22: 'At the end of 2022, the EuroHPC JU, as owner of an increasing number of world-class European supercomputers, took over from PRACE the management of this peer-review and support process', quoted
  - [2] 2026-10-22: PRACE's Regular Access page lists its last open call as the 2023-07-07 cut-off and files every later item under 'Closed Calls'
- sources:
  - [1] https://www.eurohpc-ju.europa.eu/supercomputers/supercomputers-access-policy-and-faq_en
  - [2] https://prace-ri.eu/prace-archive/legacy-hpc-access/eurohpc-access/eurohpc-ju-regular-access-mode/
