fshy

Home / Storage

data.world

data.worldData marketplacestorage/data-worldJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
100 GB total storage on the free Community plan, but with a 3 GB limit per dataset or project — and their own docs are stricter still: 'Dataset ingested to data.world: 1 GB'; 'Size of a file in a dataset: 1 GB'; 'Number of files in a dataset: 250'; 'Project: 1 GB'.
Verdict
fails: quotathe free allowance is too small to matter
Cost
free tierpaid plans from USD 120/TB-month
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
noneno named constraint binds
Evidence
reported3 sources; a third party said so
Freshness
stale on 2026-11-05checked 2026-10-21 (inherited); stale on 2026-11-05
Free tier100 GB total storage on the free Community plan, but with a 3 GB limit per dataset or project — and their own docs are stricter still: 'Dataset ingested to data.world: 1 GB'; 'Size of a file in a dataset: 1 GB'; 'Number of files in a dataset: 250'; 'Project: 1 GB'. The 100 GB aggregate is therefore unreachable in practice because each unit can only be 1 GB.
unit GB; metered on stored-bytes
PriceCommunity free (100 GB aggregate, 1-3 GB per unit). Professional Community plan $12/month for 20 private projects — ~$120/TB/month against a 100 GB pool, though the per-unit 1 GB cap makes the pool theoretical.
Identityemail email
EgressFree but rate-shaped: 'Number of burst streams API calls: 5 in the first second … then 1 per second'; streamed records capped at 1 MiB; streamed request 1 GB.
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfacerest rest
ToolingA real developer API (developer.data.world) plus SQL over datasets, so it is programmatically clean. The API surface is the best part of the product and the quota is the worst.
Composes with20 private projects/datasets × 3 GB, or the 100 GB aggregate if per-unit limits were the only constraint. In practice 1 GB per dataset × 100 units is the ceiling, so sharding to 500 GB means 500 units — three times the published unit count.
ReliabilityOwnership change in progress (ServiceNow). The docs' 1 GB ingest limit contradicts the marketing 3 GB figure — believe the docs.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
  • price-per-tb USD 120 TB / month
Evidence 3
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-21docs.data.world/en/99147-data-size-limit-and-timeout-specifiopened: 'Dataset ingested to data.world: 1 GB'; 'Project: 1 GB'; 'Size of a file in a dataset: 1 GB'; 'Number of files in a dataset: 250'; rate limiting table.
2026-10-21data.world/product/community/opened: '20 private projects/datasets', '20 live tables', '3GB limit per dataset or project', '100GB total storage size'; and the banner 'ServiceNow to acquire data.world'.
2026-10-21data.world/product/community/same page: the free tier is framed around 'Open Data' access, i.e. read-side value, not storage.
More fields 2
dead end{"failure_class": "quota","why": "100 GB total storage on the free Community plan, but with a 3 GB limit per dataset or project — and their own docs are stricter still: 'Dataset ingested to data.world: 1 GB'; 'Size of a file in a dataset: 1 GB'; 'Number of files in a dataset: 250'; 'Project: 1 GB'. The 100 GB aggregate is therefore unreachable in practice because each unit can only be 1 GB.","retry_when": null,"first_recorded": "2026-10-21"}
price verbatimCommunity free (100 GB aggregate, 1-3 GB per unit). Professional Community plan $12/month for 20 private projects — ~$120/TB/month against a 100 GB pool, though the per-unit 1 GB cap makes the pool theoretical.
Unknown values 4
  • per object cap notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • per object cap stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: the field may be stated in a source that was not read