- Free allowance
- Free plan, quoted: 'Free Plan Available', 'Shared environment', 'Single node', 'Free plan with 2 vCPUs, 2 GB RAM, and 8 GB storage (no credit card required)', 'Backups (once per day)'.
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- emailno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- per-object-cap8 GB of storage fails first; 2 vCPU and 2 GB RAM are enough for a small ingest and query loop but not for a parallel scan over the full 8 GB.
- Evidence
- documented4 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | Free plan, quoted: 'Free Plan Available', 'Shared environment', 'Single node', 'Free plan with 2 vCPUs, 2 GB RAM, and 8 GB storage (no credit card required)', 'Backups (once per day)'. unit GiB; metered on wall-clock; perpetual-free |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - per-object-cap (binding) 8 GB of storage fails first; 2 vCPU and 2 GB RAM are enough for a small ingest and query loop but not for a parallel scan over the full 8 GB. source
|
|---|
| Identity | email no card: the pricing page states 'Free plan with 2 vCPUs, 2 GB RAM, and 8 GB storage (no credit card required)'. No hold exists because no payment method is taken on the free plan. The signup fields are not quoted, so the email requirement is inferred rather than read, and debit and prepaid acceptance are not stated. |
|---|
| Egress | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | rest, cli REST API, the croud command-line client, a SQL console in the cloud console, and standard database drivers |
|---|
| Tooling | croud, the CrateDB Cloud command-line client; the Cloud REST API; standard database client libraries and drivers; SQL console in the cloud console |
|---|
| Composes with | CrateDB is distributed SQL with a Postgres wire protocol, so it accepts ordinary Postgres clients; 8 GB with a daily backup is the only free tier that states a backup schedule at all. |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Notes | The page lists the free plan inside the Shared card whose headline capacity is 'Up to 8 shared vCPUs and 12 GB RAM' and 'Up to 1 TB storage', which is the paid shared ceiling, not the free one; the parenthetical sentence is the free plan. Whether the free cluster suspends after inactivity is not stated. No probe was run. |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | - has-free-tier 1
- per-object-cap 8 GB
|
|---|