fshy

Home / Compute

IndiaAI Compute Portal

compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfGPU cloudcompute/indiaai-compute-portalJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Empanelled AI cloud services at a subsidy of 'maximum up to 40%', borne by the IndiaAI mission, on a published average of 'approximately Rs 65 per GPU per hour' across 38,231 onboarded GPUs from 14 service providers.
Verdict
fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
Cost
free tier
Identity
institutioncard unknown, phone required
Binding limit
write-gatedRegistration requires a name, an 'institute / organization email address' and a mobile number, both verified with an OTP, and then an eligibility ID by category: a Google Scholar ID with h-index, ORCID ID or Scopus Author ID for...
Evidence
documented21 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
Free tierEmpanelled AI cloud services at a subsidy of 'maximum up to 40%', borne by the IndiaAI mission, on a published average of 'approximately Rs 65 per GPU per hour' across 38,231 onboarded GPUs from 14 service providers. Requests of 5,000 GPU hours or fewer, with 50 GPUs or fewer, and with no subsidy sought, skip the PMEC committee and are approved by an institutional verifier or a MeitY Startup Hub CoE.
unit hours; metered on wall-clock; recurring-subsidy
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • write-gated (binding) Registration requires a name, an 'institute / organization email address' and a mobile number, both verified with an OTP, and then an eligibility ID by category: a Google Scholar ID with h-index, ORCID ID or Scopus Author ID for researchers (h-index of 5 or more), an APAAR ID for UG/PG students, DPIIT recognition for startups, or an Udhyam ID for MSMEs; early-stage startups (3.6) need 4 years of founder experience and an endorsement by the CEO of IndiaAI or a JS rank officer and above. source
Identityinstitution institution: registration needs 'their name, institute / organization email address and mobile number', so a mobile number is collected alongside an institutional email. The student path adds 'Apaar ID' plus 'Endorsement by appointed academic faculty verifier and endorser or IndiaAI CEO'; the startup paths require 'Valid DPIIT startup recognition certificate along with DPIIT ID' and 'Certificate of Incorporation'. No card, hold, debit or prepaid statement appears in any evidence row: unknown.
Egressnot stated
Interfaceunknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
Toolingnot stated
Composes withThe 40% is a discount on an empanelled provider's list price, so it composes with the provider's own trial rather than replacing it: the same GPU appears at E2E Networks, NxtGen and Yotta, and a user can price the undiscounted lane directly with those vendors while the subsidy is unavailable.
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
NotesIndian nationality is not required: the policy never states a nationality test. A company is not required on the 3.6 early-stage-startup path, which names only four years of founder experience and an endorsement, no incorporation document. An Indian institutional email is required, as stated at 4.1, and it is what actually stops a foreign individual, because APAAR IDs are issued by Indian institutions and the CoE endorsement chain runs through MeitY. Section 3.6 is therefore the only lane that a foreign individual might argue into, and it is decided by a discretionary endorsement rather than a document, so the verdict stays fails-identity and the open question is whether IndiaAI accepts a non-Indian organisation email at registration.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 21
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-22compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdf'A subsidy maximum up to 40% will be provided to the eligible end users which will be borne by IndiaAI mission', quoted from section 5.2
2026-10-22compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdf'To access the IndiaAI compute platform users would be required to register on the IndiaAI compute portal with their name, institute / organization email address and mobile number', quoted from 4.1
2026-10-22compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdf'This category applies to startups & MSMEs who are DPIIT registered and have either generated revenue or raised funds', requiring 'Valid DPIIT startup recognition certificate along with DPIIT ID' and 'Certificate of Incorporation', quoted from 3.4
2026-10-22compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfstudent path requires 'Apaar ID' plus 'Endorsement by appointed academic faculty verifier and endorser or IndiaAI CEO', quoted from 3.3
2026-10-22compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdf'This category applies to pre-revenue / funding startups' gated on 'Founder(s) / permanent staff with experience of 4 years' and 'Endorsement by CEO IndiaAI / JS rank officer and above', quoted from 3.6
2026-10-22www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=2245063&lang=2&reg'38,231 GPUs have been onboarded from 14 empaneled service providers'; 'The average rate is approximately Rs 65 per GPU per hour, except for select high-end GPUs', quoted, Press Information Bureau
2026-10-22compute.indiaai.gov.in/enduserspublished counter reads 'Total Subsidy Allocated: INR 11,89,44,82,338', read from the portal page
2026-10-22indiaai.gov.in/hub/indiaai-compute-capacityallocation ledger row 13: Sarvam AI Axonwise Pvt Ltd, 4096 H100 SXM via Yotta, subsidy INR 98,68,62,256.12 on a bill of materials of INR 2,46,71,55,640.32, project 2025-06-01 to 2025-12-01, read from the table
2026-10-22indiaai.gov.in/hub/indiaai-compute-capacityledger rows show the subsidy equals 40.0% of the bill of materials: Keenheads 44,656 on 111,640; CloudMojo 352,848 on 882,120; Sarvam 98,68,62,256 on 2,46,71,55,640, derived by division from the published table
2026-11-03static.pib.gov.in/WriteReadData/specificdocs/documents/2025/the on-demand L1 bid for one H100 SXM is INR 170.00 per hour against a list price of INR 480.00; the annexure lists no RTX 4090
2026-11-03static.pib.gov.in/WriteReadData/specificdocs/documents/2025/A100 80GB 1x on-demand L1 bid INR 151.00 per hour, list INR 226.00
2026-11-03static.pib.gov.in/WriteReadData/specificdocs/documents/2025/A100 40GB 1x on-demand L1 bid INR 136.00 per hour, list INR 170.00
2026-11-03static.pib.gov.in/WriteReadData/specificdocs/documents/2025/H100 PCIe 1x on-demand L1 bid INR 252.00 per hour, list INR 378.00
2026-11-03static.pib.gov.in/WriteReadData/specificdocs/documents/2025/L4 1x on-demand L1 bid INR 50.00 per hour, list INR 221.08
2026-11-03static.pib.gov.in/WriteReadData/specificdocs/documents/2025/L40S 1x on-demand L1 bid INR 75.00 per hour, list INR 355.55
2026-11-03compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfregistration needs a name, an institute or organization email address and a mobile number
2026-11-03compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfregistration needs a name, an institute / organization email address and a mobile number
2026-11-03compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfresearchers register with a Google Scholar, ORCID or Scopus Author ID, no APAAR ID or company
2026-11-03compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfstartups use DPIIT recognition and MSMEs an Udhyam ID
2026-11-03compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfthe researcher category in 3.1 is gated on an h-index of 5 or more
2026-11-03compute.indiaai.gov.in/files/end-user-policy.pdfcategory 3.1 admits independent researchers as well as faculty
More fields 1
facets{"class": "government-credit","free_tier_kind": "recurring-subsidy","shape": {"vcpu": null,"ram_gib": null,"gpu_class": "A100 40GB, A100 80GB, H100 SXM, H100 NVL, H200 SXM, L40S, L4","gpu_count": 50}}
Unknown values 7
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • egress terms: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • interface: the access interface was not established
  • per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
  • tooling: a source was read and is silent on this field