fshy

Home / Data APIs

CryptoCompare (CoinDesk Data)

developers.coindesk.com/pricingCrypto market data API (prices, OHLCV, reference rates, order books)data-apis/cryptocompare-coindesk-dataJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Personal plan for non-commercial projects with capped lifetime calls (cap not stated), by contact request; the free API tier was retired on 21 May 2026 and accounts without a subscription lost access
Verdict
triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
Cost
free tier
Identity
emailno card, no phone
Binding limit
volume-quotacapped lifetime calls on the Personal plan, cap not stated
Evidence
documented7 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
Free tierPersonal plan for non-commercial projects with capped lifetime calls (cap not stated), by contact request; the free API tier was retired on 21 May 2026 and accounts without a subscription lost access
unit requests; metered on request-count; Start-Up and Enterprise plans are contact-only with no published price. A call to the legacy keyless endpoint answered HTTP 401.
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • volume-quota (binding) capped lifetime calls on the Personal plan, cap not stated source
Bulk path: Enterprise delivery to Amazon S3, Azure Blob or Google BigQuery only. Storage terms: unverified, the licence agreement page was not read.
Bindingvolume-quota A lifetime call cap on the only free-looking plan binds first, and its size is unpublished.
Identityemail The Personal plan button leads to a Contact form, not a self-serve sign-up; what the form asks is unverified: behind a contact request.
Egressnot metered in bytes; the lifetime call cap bounds a Personal account
Per-object capnot stated
Interfacerest GET https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/... (legacy) and https://data-api.coindesk.com/... with the key as api_key or an Authorization or x-api-key header
Toolingcurl or any HTTP client
Composes withNo self-serve free key remains; CoinPaprika, CoinLore and CoinGecko give crypto prices with a key-free or email-only free route.
ReliabilityA keyless call answered HTTP 401 asking for an API key; accounts without a subscription stopped returning data after 21 May 2026.
NotesFree tier retired 21 May 2026; only a capped-lifetime Personal plan by contact remains listed. Bulk path: Enterprise only. Storage terms: unverified.
Evidence notedocumented The retirement notice and the plan card are first-party and disagree on whether a free Personal plan is still issued; a keyless probe answered 401.
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 7
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-11-02data.coindesk.com/blogs/changes-to-coindesk-data-indices-apithe free API tier was retired as of 21 May 2026
2026-11-02data.coindesk.com/blogs/changes-to-coindesk-data-indices-apian account with no API subscription stops returning data
2026-11-02developers.coindesk.com/pricingthe Personal plan is non-commercial with capped lifetime calls
2026-11-02developers.coindesk.com/pricingPersonal history depth
2026-11-02developers.coindesk.com/pricingEnterprise delivers to cloud storage
2026-11-03probe: https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/price?fsym=BTC&tsyms=USDpart of the text of Reliability, above
2026-11-03probe: https://min-api.cryptocompare.com/data/price?fsym=BTC&tsyms=USDthe 401 asks for an API key
More fields 2
bulk pathEnterprise delivery to S3, Azure Blob or BigQuery
history depth365 days daily, 7 days hourly, 1 hour minute on Personal
Unknown values 1
  • retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer