fshy

Home / Compute

Coder

coder.com/pricingDev environmentcompute/coderJSONcomparereport an errorprovider JSON

Free allowance
Free Community plan, installed from open source: unlimited self-hosted workspaces and up to 5 active Coder Agents, with no period: "Provision unlimited self-hosted workspaces on the infrastructure you already own."
Verdict
self-hosted, last resortverdict qualifies-with-caveat: usable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path. Self-hosted options are listed last, because this site is for users who have no hardware.
Cost
free tier
Identity
email?placeholder, not evidence; card unknown, phone unknown
Binding limit
write-gatedthe free product is self-hosted open source: a user supplies the machines, so there is no hosted capacity to rent
Evidence
documented6 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
Freshness
stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
Free tierfree Community plan, installed from open source: unlimited self-hosted workspaces and up to 5 active Coder Agents, with no period: "Provision unlimited self-hosted workspaces on the infrastructure you already own."
unit unlimited; metered on none
Pricenone stated
Limits
  • request-rate up to 5 active Coder Agents on Community, unlimited on AI Premium source
  • write-gated (binding) the free product is self-hosted open source: a user supplies the machines, so there is no hosted capacity to rent source
not stated
Identityemail (placeholder) not published
Egressnot published: the pricing page comparison table lists no egress or bandwidth item; traffic is that of the machines the user rents or runs
Per-object capnot stated
Retentionnot stated
Interfacecli, rest, ssh web UI, the coder CLI (including coder ssh) and a REST API of the server the user installs and runs
Toolingthe user installs and runs the open-source Coder Community server on a rented or free machine, and it provisions the workspaces on rented or free machines as well
Reliabilityno reliability event recorded
Evidence notedocumented the pricing page was read on 2026-10-22 and compares a free open-source Community column against two paid ones. The free product is software for a user's own hardware, not hosted…
Parsed numbers
  • has-free-tier 1
Evidence 6
datesourcewhat it proved
2026-10-02coder.com/pricingnot published
2026-10-22coder.com/pricing'Provision unlimited self-hosted workspaces on the infrastructure you already own' and the plan table's 'Community (install open source)' column with 'Up to 5 Active Coder Agents' and 'Unlimited workspaces', quoted
2026-10-30coder.com/pricingthe free Community plan provisions unlimited self-hosted workspaces, with no period stated
2026-10-30coder.com/pricingCommunity allows up to 5 active Coder Agents
2026-11-03coder.com/pricingthe platform is operated through a web UI, a CLI and a REST API
2026-11-03coder.com/docs/reference/clithe CLI has an ssh command that opens a shell in a workspace
More fields 5
keep rate basisno field in the source
billing modelunclassified
session cap{"wall_clock_min": null,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "workspaces are a user's own; the page states no clock and Community has no agent cap on workspaces"}
free tier kindallowance
ps{"gib": null,"price": "a user's own storage","durability": "a user's own infrastructure","on_stop": true,"on_destroy": false,"retention": "as long as the host exists"}
Unknown values 7
  • chaining: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • egress metered: egress metering was not published
  • limits note: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • per object cap stated: a source was read and is silent on this field
  • reliability note: nothing of this kind was observed
  • retention notes: the field may be stated in a source that was not read
  • retention stated: a source was read and is silent on this field