ASCS Cloud (AS Computer Solutions - Cloud Networks)
- Free allowance
- Quoted from the plan card: 'Free', 'renew every 30 days', '1 vCPU', '512MB RAM', '16GB SSD Storage', 'Console Access', 'Public IPv6 Alberta Address', 'Onoway, AB', and 'No formal uptime agreement.' The served markup still reads 'i5 3470 Free Tier OUT OF STOCK' and 'Currently out of stock until...
- Verdict
- caveatusable, with a named limit or an unprobed read path
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- emailno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gateda stock window the vendor sets: the served markup marks the free plan out of stock until 2026-10-29 and the page's script re-enables the order button after that time, but the vendor's public catalog (updated 2026-11-01T02:02:30.000Z)...
- Evidence
- documented26 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-04checked 2026-11-03 (live); stale on 2026-12-04
| Free tier | Quoted from the plan card: 'Free', 'renew every 30 days', '1 vCPU', '512MB RAM', '16GB SSD Storage', 'Console Access', 'Public IPv6 Alberta Address', 'Onoway, AB', and 'No formal uptime agreement.' The served markup still reads 'i5 3470 Free Tier OUT OF STOCK' and 'Currently out of stock until Thursday, October 29.', and the page's own script re-enables the order button as 'Claim Free Server' and hides that notice once the clock passes 1793270400000 ms (2026-10-29). unit none; metered on wall-clock; the free plan is a container, not a KVM VM; the vendor calls it 'Container-based isolation' |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Binding | write-gated the free plan is gated by a stock window the vendor sets and has moved (a markup comment reads 2026-10-21, the notice and the script read 2026-10-29); after 2026-10-29 the page's script offers 'Claim Free Server', but the vendor's public catalog (updated 2026-11-01T02:02:30.000Z) lists the plan as out_of_stock and the page's catalog script re-disables the button of such a plan; whether the server accepts a free order is behind a sign-in |
| Identity | email The register form asks for a full name, an email, a password and a Terms checkbox, with Google and Discord sign-in offered as alternatives; an order placed while signed out is sent to that sign-in page. The page's checkout script handles a free order with no payment step ('The free instance is never charged.') and sends it to card payment only when the +$4/mo Shared IPv4 (NAT) add-on is chosen. No phone and no document appears on any page read. |
| Egress | not stated for the free tier: the plan card lists no traffic volume and no bandwidth figure free allowance: unstated |
| Per-object cap | not applicable: the unit is a container, not an object |
| Retention | 'Free tier — renew every 30 days to confirm active use.' What happens to an unrenewed container is not stated on the page. (30 days) |
| Interface | ssh, cli 'Console Access' on every plan; the blog announcement adds 'Management: Web-Based Console Access + Direct SSH'. Full root access is stated for the micro instances generally. |
| Tooling | any SSH client; the vendor's panel; a one-click app catalogue including Docker, Tailscale, WG-Easy and Uptime Kuma |
| Composes with | a small always-on IPv6 container with a console, a renew-every-30-days clock and no card, which suits a monitor or a low-traffic IPv6 service rather than anything needing inbound IPv4 |
| Reliability | the vendor's home page states '99.8%+' uptime for its services, and the free plan card states 'No formal uptime agreement.'; the free plan has been out of stock for stretches the vendor… |
| Notes | The vendor's blog announcement and its live plan card disagree on the free shape: the blog says 2 vCPU and 2 GB, the card says 1 vCPU and 512 MB. The card is the page served at the point of sale, so the record uses the card and the disagreement is written down rather than resolved. The free plan is gated by a stock window the vendor sets and has moved (a markup comment reads 2026-10-21, the notice and script read 2026-10-29); the page's script re-opens the order button after 2026-10-29. The checkout script handles a free order with no payment step unless the paid shared IPv4 add-on is chosen. The vendor's public catalog (updated 2026-11-01T02:02:30.000Z) lists the plan as out_of_stock after that time, and the page's catalog script disables the button of such a plan. Not established: the traffic allowance, and whether the server's order endpoint accepts a free order, which is behind a sign-in. |
| Evidence note | documented the shape, the price of zero and the stock window are quoted from the vendor's plan page, its inline script and its public catalog response (stockStatus out_of_stock, updated 2026-11-01T02:02:30.000Z), read on 2026-11-03; the traffic allowance is not published, and whether the server accepts a free order is behind a sign-in, so nothing was measured |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 26
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | quoted: 'i5 3470 Free Tier OUT OF STOCK', 'Currently out of stock until Thursday, October 29.', and the card 'Free / renew every 30 days / 1 vCPU / 512MB RAM / 16GB SSD Storage / Console Access / Public IPv6 Alberta Address / Onoway, AB' |
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the served markup: the free plan's order button carries id='freeMicroBtn' with the disabled attribute and the text 'Out of Stock', and a restock constant reads 1793270400000 // 2026-10-29 |
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/blog/learn-ipv6-networking-on-real-hard | quoted: '2 vCPUs (Intel Xeon L5630 allocation)', '2GB DDR3 RAM', '16GB SSD Storage', 'Dedicated Public IPv6 Alberta Address', 'Web-Based Console Access + Direct SSH', 'Pricing: $0 Free Tier (30-day active-use renewal)' - note this announcement states a larger shape than the live plan card |
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/about/ | quoted: 'ASCS Cloud (also known as AS Computer Solutions - Cloud Networks) is a technology and hosting provider based in Onoway, Alberta' |
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/contact/ | an email address behind Cloudflare obfuscation, a Discord invite and the location 'Onoway, Alberta, Canada'; no legal entity number is shown |
| 2026-10-24 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/blog/learn-ipv6-networking-on-real-hard | quoted: '2 vCPUs (Intel Xeon L5630 allocation)', '2GB DDR3 RAM', '16GB SSD Storage', 'Dedicated Public IPv6 Alberta Address', 'Web-Based Console Access + Direct SSH', 'Pricing: $0 Free Tier (30-day active-use renewal)' — note this announcement states a larger shape than the live plan card |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the page's script carries a restock time of 1793270400000 ms (2026-10-29) for the free plan |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | after the restock time the page's script enables the free plan's button as 'Claim Free Server' |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | an earlier stock window ended 2026-10-21 and was replaced by the 2026-10-29 one |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | a card is asked for only when the paid shared IPv4 add-on is chosen with the free plan |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the checkout script's free-order branch states the free instance is never charged |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/login/ | registration takes a name, an email and a password, and no phone field |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/login/ | Google and Discord sign-in are offered on the same page |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/ | the vendor publishes a 99.8%+ uptime figure |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the free plan renews every 30 days to confirm active use |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the free card lists 1 vCPU, 512MB RAM and 16GB SSD and no traffic figure |
| 2026-10-30 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/login/ | an account needs a name, an email and a password; no phone or card field |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/api/catalog | the vendor's public catalog lists the free i5 3470 micro plan as out_of_stock after the 2026-10-29 restock time |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the served markup still shows the out-of-stock notice on 2026-11-03 |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/js/catalog-pricing.js?v=5 | the page's catalog script treats a plan whose stockStatus is out_of_stock as blocked |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/js/catalog-pricing.js?v=5 | a blocked card's button is disabled and relabelled 'Out of stock' |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the free card's data-plan equals the catalog plan name, so the catalog script manages it |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the page loads the catalog script for the micro-instances service |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the page still carries the 2026-10-29 restock constant and still names the unpublished server-side setting |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/api/catalog | the catalog response was last updated 2026-11-01, after the restock time |
| 2026-11-03 | cloud.ascsonoway.com/vps-micro/ | the free plan card lists 512MB RAM |
More fields 11
| shape | {"vcpu": 1,"ram_gib": 0.5,"disk_gib": 16,"gpu_class": null,"gpu_count": null} |
|---|---|
| billing model | free |
| term | 30-day renewal |
| m10h usd | 0.0 |
| m24h usd | 0.0 |
| price arithmetic | no price: the plan card reads 'Free' with 'renew every 30 days' |
| free tier kind | renewable-free |
| network out | {"allow_outbound": true,"allow_inbound_listen": true,"ports": "public IPv6 only on the free plan; no IPv4 is listed","static_ip": true,"ipv6": true,"per_session_bytes": null} |
| session cap | {"wall_clock_min": 43200,"idle_reap_s": null,"restart_required": false,"note": "30-day free period, renewed by hand to confirm active use"} |
| stock state | {"as_read": "2026-11-03","state": "served markup out of stock; the page's script re-opens the order button after 2026-10-29, but the vendor's public catalog (updated 2026-11-01T02:02:30.000Z) lists the plan as out_of_stock and the page's catalog script disables the button of such a plan","restock_stated": "2026-10-29","restock_epoch_ms": 1793270400000,"earlier_window_end": "2026-10-21"} |
| shape conflict | the blog announcement of 2026-08-18 states 2 vCPU and 2 GB; the live plan card states 1 vCPU and 512 MB; the vendor's public catalog describes the i5 3470 free plan as 1 vCPU, 256MB RAM, 16GB SSD |
Unknown values 1
- egress metered: egress metering was not published