# OpenSSF Alpha-Omega

> alpha-omega.dev | Compute; 1 record: free tier, limits, identity cost and evidence.

HTML https://fshy.ajam.dev/p/alpha-omega/ | JSON https://fshy.ajam.dev/api/v1/entity/alpha-omega.json | how to read a record: https://fshy.ajam.dev/llms-full.txt

## OpenSSF Alpha-Omega

- `compute/openssf-alpha-omega` | fails-identity | evidence documented | binding write-gated | category GPU cloud
- needs card no, phone no, ID no, institution yes | verified 2026-10-22 (live) | stale on 2026-11-22
- url https://alpha-omega.dev/
- free tier: 'With an annual budget of over $7M, Alpha-Omega works in partnership with maintainers, security researchers, and the global open source community', backed by Anthropic, AWS, Citi, GitHub, Google, Google DeepMind, Microsoft and OpenAI. Engagements are listed per organisation: Eclipse Foundation, FreeBSD Foundation, Homebrew, Node.js, OpenSSL, OpenRefactory, Prossimo, Python Software Foundation, Rust Foundation. | unit: none | metered on: wall-clock | read on: 2026-10-22 | source: [1] | note: cash-grant
- per-object cap: not applicable | source: [1]
- retention: not applicable | source: [1]
- egress: not stated | metered: no | source: [1]
- identity: institution
- interface: unknown
- limits:
  - write-gated (binding): Every published engagement is a named foundation or project entity that can hold a contract and pay staff; no individual application route is published at all. [1]
- limits note: Every published engagement is a named foundation or project entity that can hold a contract and pay staff; no individual application route is published at all.
- binding note: the same as limits note
- interface detail: inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed
- tooling: not stated
- composes with: This is the budget that pays for the security work a solo contributor can instead be paid for patch by patch through the Google Patch Rewards tiers, so the two records describe the same work at two different contracting scales.
- reliability: no reliability event recorded
- notes: The largest number, USD 7M a year, sits behind the tightest gate: an organisation of record. The route that actually exists for one person is the per-patch programme that Alpha-Omega's predecessor pointed to, recorded separately. The site's only entry point is a leadership and membership contact.
- extras:
  - facets.class: grant-institutional
  - facets.free_tier_kind: cash-grant
- evidence:
  - [1] 2026-10-22: quoted the USD 7M annual budget and the funder list
  - [2] 2026-10-22: quoted 'funding security staff at organizations like the Rust Foundation and the Eclipse Foundation' and the nine named engagements, all organisations rather than individuals
  - [3] 2026-10-22: reported 'an average grant size of just under $350,000', with grants to the Node.js, Rust Foundation, jQuery, Eclipse Foundation and Python Software Foundation entities [date precision: year, 2022]
- sources:
  - [1] https://alpha-omega.dev/
  - [2] https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ossf/alpha-omega/main/README.md
  - [3] https://openssf.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/OpenSSF-Alpha-Omega-Annual-Report-2022.pdf
