- Free allowance
- A rolling award available year-round, usually three to six months, renewable, open to researchers from universities, industry and government agencies with no DOE sponsorship required, and also the documented route to the ALCF AI Testbed accelerators (Groq, Graphcore, SambaNova, Cerebras) via the...
- Verdict
- fails: identitythe identity required is not reachable without it
- Cost
- free tier
- Identity
- institutionno card, no phone
- Binding limit
- write-gatedThe DD award itself waives the institutional user agreement that INCITE, ALCC and OLCF DD all require, but the account application still asks for an employer and every non-US citizen must obtain DOE foreign-national authorisation...
- Evidence
- documented5 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-11-22checked 2026-10-22 (live); stale on 2026-11-22
| Free tier | A rolling award available year-round, usually three to six months, renewable, open to researchers from universities, industry and government agencies with no DOE sponsorship required, and also the documented route to the ALCF AI Testbed accelerators (Groq, Graphcore, SambaNova, Cerebras) via the same allocation request form. unit none; metered on wall-clock; exploratory / startup allocation |
|---|
| Price | none stated |
|---|
| Limits | - write-gated (binding) The DD award itself waives the institutional user agreement that INCITE, ALCC and OLCF DD all require, but the account application still asks for an employer and every non-US citizen must obtain DOE foreign-national authorisation through an ANL-593 request with passport and CV, so a person with no employer and no affiliation has nothing to put in the required field and no sponsor for the request. source
|
|---|
| Identity | institution not published |
|---|
| Egress | not stated |
|---|
| Interface | unknown inferred from the tooling the provider documents; not probed |
|---|
| Tooling | not stated |
|---|
| Composes with | The AI Testbed variants are the unusual part: one rolling form reaches Groq, Graphcore, Cerebras and SambaNova, accelerator classes no cloud free tier offers. |
|---|
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
|---|
| Notes | This is the single most valuable structural finding in the DOE stack: ALCF DD is the only tier found anywhere where the institutional user agreement is explicitly waived, which removes the signature that blocks INCITE and OLCF DD. What remains is an employer field and a DOE foreign-national authorisation (ANL-593) under DOE Order 142.3, which is a process rather than a contract. ALCF publishes no node-hour range ('Award size: Small', 'The size of the award varies'), so the 20,000 node-hour figure belongs to OLCF and must not be carried across. The AI Testbed accelerators (Groq, Graphcore, Cerebras, SambaNova) are reached through the same rolling form and are the only route found to non-NVIDIA accelerator classes. |
|---|
| Parsed numbers | - has-free-tier 1
- write-gated 593 request
|
|---|