AkashML (Akash Chat API)
- Free allowance
- Trial credits are granted when a payment method is verified during onboarding; the amount is not stated on the current documentation pages.
- Verdict
- triala time-boxed or one-time trial, not a recurring allowance
- Cost
- not stated
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- volume-quotatrial credit of unstated size that expires; HTTP 402 is returned when credits run out; unverified: behind a sign-up
- Evidence
- documented15 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | Trial credits are granted when a payment method is verified during onboarding; the amount is not stated on the current documentation pages. A launch post of 22 November 2025 stated 'New accounts receive $100 in AI token credits'. Trial credits expire; purchased credits do not. unit none; metered on unstated |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
|
| Binding | volume-quota the trial credit balance is the only free resource and it expires; once spent, every request needs purchased credit |
| Identity | card an email address (or a Google or GitHub sign-in) is verified at signup, and a payment method must be verified during onboarding before trial credits are granted; payments run through Stripe |
| Egress | not published |
| Interface | rest |
| Tooling | OpenAI-compatible REST at https://api.akashml.com/v1 and an Anthropic-compatible Messages endpoint at https://api.akashml.com/anthropic; any SDK with a custom base URL |
| Composes with | a drop-in base URL for OpenAI and Anthropic clients once a payment method is on file; the documentation carries a Claude Code guide that points the Messages endpoint at open models |
| Reliability | no reliability event recorded |
| Notes | chat.akash.network is a browser chat front end whose API Access entry points at akashml.com, where the API is served. Its terms allow use without an account, with rate limiting and IP-based access controls; no numeric limit is published. Its models page lists two text models and one image generation model (AkashGen). |
| Evidence note | documented documentation pages only; the size of the current trial credit sits behind the signed-in dashboard and is unverified |
Evidence 15
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | the quick start places adding a payment method before trial credits are received |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | signup is an account verified by email |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | trial credits expire and purchased credits do not |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | each API key can carry a requests-per-minute cap; no platform-wide figure is stated |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | a request over a cap returns 429 |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | an empty balance returns 402 |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | the API is OpenAI-compatible with an Anthropic-compatible Messages endpoint |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/platform/settings | payment methods are card payments processed by Stripe |
| 2026-10-28 | akash.network/blog/akashml-managed-ai-inference-on-the-decen | a launch post of 22 November 2025 stated USD 100 in credits for new accounts; the current documentation does not repeat the amount |
| 2026-10-28 | chat.akash.network/ | the AkashChat web app links its API Access entry to akashml.com |
| 2026-10-28 | akashml.com/docs/platform/models | the catalogue prices per 1M tokens; the cheapest listed text row is openai/gpt-oss-20b at USD 0.02 input and USD 0.10 output |
| 2026-11-04 | chat.akash.network/terms/ | the browser chat can be used without an account, subject to rate limiting |
| 2026-11-04 | chat.akash.network/terms/ | anonymous browser chat use is limited by IP address |
| 2026-11-04 | chat.akash.network/models | the chat models page lists two text models and the AkashGen image generation model |
| 2026-11-04 | akashml.com/docs/getting-started/introduction | trial credits are granted after onboarding; their size is not on the public pages |
Unknown values 3
- egress metered: egress metering was not published
- per object cap stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer
- retention stated: the field does not apply to this kind of offer